Skip to main content

Center for the History of Microbiology/ASM Archives (CHOMA)

Relations to Other Organizations

(see also Vertical Files, "Other Organizations," for non-ASM material)

I.   Major Files

A. American Institute of Biological Sciences 1946-80

B. American Type Culture Collection 1934-86

C. Bergey's Manual Trust 1935-86

D. Biological Abstracts 1934-50

E. Biological Stain Commission 1944-81

F. International Union of Microbiological Societies 1930-86

G. National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council 1937-85

H. UNESCO 1967-75

II.  Other Organizations A-Z

I.Major Files

A.    American Institute of Biological Sciences

1. Correspondence of Leland W. Parr, John E. Blair, Henry Scherp and John H. Bailey,Secretary-treasurers of SAB, 1946-53

2. Reports to ASM and American Academy of Microbiology, 1964-80

3. AIBS educational materials, 1959, n.d.

4. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1937-

B.    American Type Culture Collection (ATCC) (1925)

See also: Lore A. Rogers Presidential File; Archives of ATCC in UMBC Special Collections

1. Correspondence of the Secretary (I.L. Baldwin, W.B. Sarles, W.C. Frazier, L.W. Parr), 1935-50

2. Correspondence of the Secretary (John Hays Bailey), 1953-56)

3. Correspondence of the Secretary (E.M. Foster), 1958-61

4. Correspondence of the Secretary (Philipp Gerhardt), 1961-67

5. Correspondence of the Secretary (J.M. Joseph, B. Lago) 1983-85

6. Correspondence of Barnett Cohen, Archivist, 1946-51

7. Miscellaneous correspondence and memoranda, various provenances including R. E, Buchanan, H.J. Conn, W. H. Hammon, R.E. Hungate, 1934-59, 1971

8. Reports to CPC and Council of the Representative to ATCC, 1948, 1959-86

9. Advisory Committee to ATCC, file of L.S. McClung, 1966-70 -- includes correspondence and minutes

10. Advisory Committee to ATCC, file of L.S. McClung, 1962-73 -- includes correspondence and minutes

11. Published Annual Reports, 1962-79. See also bound reports for 1962-77 in book collection: QR64.5 A43

12. Catalogues and descriptive booklets, 1971-85

13. "The Packaging and Shipping of Living Cultures," 1966, 1970

14. Dedication of new building, 1964: invitation and brochure, history, tape of speeches by Robert E. Buchanan and C.B. van Niel

15. "Symposium on Stability in Dynamic Microbial Systems;" includes history of ATCC by R.E. Buchanan, 1966

16. Fiftieth anniversary, program and brochure, 1975

17. Workshop schedules, 1986-92

18. Announcements, ca. 1928-1973

19. Quarterly Newsletter, 1981-86

20. "Registry of Animal Cell Lines Certified by the Cell Culture Collection Committee," 1964; Supplements, 1965, 1967, 1968; "Viral and Rickettsial Registry," 1950

21. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1935-1980

C.    Bergey's Manual Trust (1938)

See also William C. Haynes Papers.

1. Reports of ASM Representative to Council, 1960-86

2. Letters received by P. Arne Hansen from Robert S. Breed, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, 1951-54

3. Correspondence of J. Roger Porter, 1956-59

4. Miscellaneous correspondence of L. S. McClung, contributor, 1953-67

5. Mimeographed reports of dinners and symposia at SAB Annual Meetings and outlines of classifications sent to contributors and friends of Bergey's Manual, 1949-57

6. History: memo of David Bergey to SAB Council regarding relations of SAB to Manual, 1935; letter of Robert S. Breed to Henry W. Scherp on the historical relations of SAB to Bergey's Manual, 1952; copy of letter of Robert E. Buchanan to R.G.E. Murray, 1970

7. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1940-76

D.    Biological Abstracts (and Committee on Biological Abstracts)

1. Correspondence of J. M. Sherman and Ira L. Baldwin, Secretary-treasurers of SAB, 1934-38

2. Correspondence of Ira L. Baldwin, 1939-40

3. Correspondence of Ira L. Baldwin, Secretary-treasurer, and E. G. Hastings, acting Secretary-treasurer, 1941

4. Correspondence of William B. Sarles, Secretary-treasurer of SAB, 1942-43

5. Correspondence of W.C. Frazier, Stuart Mudd, and Leland W. Parr, Secretary-treasurers of SAB, 1943-48

6. Correspondence of John E. Blair, Secretary-treasurer of SAB, 1949-50

7. Correspondence of E. M . Foster, Secretary of ASM, 1960

8. Correspondence of E. B. Fred, 1937-38

9. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1935-49, 1965, 1969

E.     Biological Stain Commission

1. Manuscript and mimeographed histories by H.J. Conn, 1949-ca. 1959

2. Copy of proposal for ASM representative discussed by ASM Council, 1981; bylaws, 1944; clippings and reprints

F.    International Union of Microbiological Societies (IUMS)

HISTORY AND GENERAL

1. Published histories by N.E. Gibbons and H. Seeliger, 1974, 1982, 1986

2. ASM Archives holdings, 1973

3. "History IUMS," file of Robert Watkins (deals with change to Union status), 1980-81

4. Statutes and organizational manuals, 1958-80

5. Reports to Council of ASM Representatives, 1967-86

6. Newsletters, 1963-70

7. Clippings including reports published in ASM News, 1951-76; publication brochure

8. Correspondence of John Hays Bailey, Secretary-treasurer of SAB, 1950-56

9. Correspondence of Robert Hungate, president of ASM, 1968-72 -- includes material on X International Congress

10. Correspondence of Morris F. Shaffer, president of ASM, 1970-72

11. Correspondence of Donald E. Shay, Secretary of ASM, 1970

12. Miscellaneous memoranda, mostly received by D. E. Shay, 1966-70

INTERNATIONAL CONGRESS FOR MICROBIOLOGY for Abstracts and Reports of Proceedings, see Book Collection

I. PARIS 1930

13. Program; typed anecdotes of Alice C. Evans, official delegate of SAB, n.d.; copies of correspondence of Robert E. Buchanan, official delegate of SAB, 1930-31

14. Correspondence of Sarah E. Branham, 1930-31

II. LONDON 1936

15. Preliminary program; banquet program: banquet guest list; general announcement; reception invitation and ticket; unidentified photograph; anecdotes by Alice C. Evans, n.d.; clippings

16. Correspondence of Donald E. Shay, Archivist, with those who attended the Congress, 1985

III. NEW YORK 1939

17. Final program; Congress handbook

18. Preliminary program; Prospectus of functions; announcement; opening ceremonies program; opening ceremonies invitation; banquet program; banquet seating list; Industrial microbiology excursions; proceedings of the nomenclature committee; forms, announcements,and tickets

19. Correspondence of Barnett Cohen, 1938-39; letter of Selman Waksman to E.B. Fred, 1938

20. Clippings

IV.  COPENHAGEN 1947

21. Preliminary programme, Final programme, List of members, clippings

V. RIO DE JANEIRO 1950

22. Printed matter: 1st Bulletin, announcements and memorabilia, clippings; letter of 0lympia de Fonseca to Margaret Pittman, official delegate of SAB

VI. ROME 1953

23. Preliminary program, map of Rome, souvenir volume, clippings

24. Correspondence of Gail Dack, SAB President, w/ National Science Foundation re travel grants, 1953

VII. STOCKHOLM 1958

25. 2nd Circular; List of members; Statutes of IAMS; forms; preliminary list of members: miscellaneous memorabilia; clippings

VIII. MONTREAL 1962

26. Program, list of members, Supplements 1 & 2

27. Banquet program; First circular; Opening meeting; Ladies' program; Congress Bulletin; Forms, announcements, and miscellaneous memorabilia; agenda for plenary session of IAMS; clippings

IX. MOSCOW 1966

28. Program; list of participants; proceedings of IAMS business meeting

29. Miscellaneous printed matter: Information letters 1-3, social program; program of symposium on botulism; report of Committee on Virus Nomenclature; announcements, forms anc memorabilia; clippings; ASM application to NIH for travel awards; mimeograph letter of William B. Sarles, President of ASM, to Norman E. Gibbons, Secretary-General of IAMS, on Russian political accusation of US at Congress, 1966

X. MEXICO CITY 1970

30. Circulars 1-3; Proceedings of IAMS business meeting; program of inaugural ceremony; banquet program; misc.

XI. FIRST INTERSECTIONAL CONGRESS, TOKYO, 1974 [equivalent to XI International Congress]

31. Printed matter including program and list of participants, 1st and 2nd circulars, program of opening ceremony, proceedings of IAMS General Assembly, Congress newspaper, clippings and miscellanea.

XII. MUNICH 1978

32. Program, 1st, 2nd circular, forms, clippings

XIII. BOSTON, 1982

33. Printed matter: Circulars 2,3; exhibits guide, Congress newspaper, clippings, misc.; Press Kit

34. Text of three speeches by Heinz Seeliger, President of IUMS

35. Copies of correspondence from file of Executive Director, 1979-81

XIV. MANCHESTER, 1986

36. Circulars 1-3, Congress newspaper, press clipping, misc.

37. File of Donald E. Shay, Archivist -- includes material on IUMS archives exhibit

SECTIONAL CONGRESSES FIRST INTERNATIONAL CONGRESS OF BACTERIOLOGY JERUSALEM 1973

38. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters (A.F. Langlykke, Helen Bishop), 1972-73

39. Minutes and memoranda of the Bacteriology Section Council, 1973

40. Printed matter including program, 2nd and 3rd Bulletin, clippings, misc.

FIRST INTERNATIONAL CONGRESS FOR VIROLOGY HELSINKI 1968 

41. Announcement; proposal to NIH for travel awards

INTERNATIONAL CONGRESS OF VIROLOGY, 2ND-6TH 1971-84

42. Miscellanea including report to CPC, 1975; clippings; announcement, 1971; and commemorative stamp, 1984

COMMITTEES

INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE OF SYSTEMATIC BACTERIOLOGY(formerly International Committee on Bacteriological Nomenclature) See also correspondence of E.G.D. Murray, 1927-29, under Miscellaneous Manuscript Collections; Presidential files of R.E. Buchanan and J. Howard Brown

43. Correspondence of and memoranda received by J. Howard Brown, 1930, 1937, 1939

44. Correspondence of and memoranda received by J. Howard Brown, 1942-47; 1949 memorandum

45. Proposed International Rules of Bacteriological Nomenclature, July 1939.

46. Program and Information; Abstracts /Trade Exhibition; printed matter: Nomenclature, 1949

47. Correspondence of John Hays Bailey, Secretary of SAB, 1953-56

48. Mimeographed memoranda of Robert E. Buchanan and drafts of International Code, 1957

49. Proposed revisions of International Code, 1966 (rpt, International Journal of Systematic Bacteriology 16:3, 341-69)

50. Clippings, 1937-72; published history of Bacteriological Code, 1986

G. National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council

1. Reports of representatives to ASM Council and CPC, 1960-83; list of ASM/NAS members, 1985

>2. Correspondence of John Hays Bailey, Secretary-treasurer of SAB, 1952-56

3. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, including reports to Council and CPC, 1937-74

H. United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) International Cell Research Organization (ICRO)

1. Global Impacts of Applied Microbiology (GIAM) conference, III, 1969: correspondence of Donald E. Shay, Secretary of ASM, 1969-71

2. GIAM III: file of A.S. Langlykke, Executive Director of ASM, 1969-71

3. GIAM IV: file of A.S. Langlykke, 1973

4. GIAM: miscellaneous clippings, 1967-68

5. UNESCO/ICRO: miscellaneous, 1967-75

II.Other Organizations A-Z

May contain reports of representatives to Council and CPC, correspondence, and/or Clippings.

Organizations included:

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • American Phytopathological Society
  • American Public Health Association
  • American Society of Agronomy
  • American Society of Medical Technologists
  • Animal Care Panel
  • Center for Research and Scientific Communication
  • Committee on Allied Health Education and Accreditation
  • Council of Scientific Society Presidents
  • Council on Environmental Quality
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology
  • Foundation for the Study of Life Cycles
  • Infectious Diseases Society of America
  • International Society of Chemotherapy
  • Intersociety Committee on Laboratory Services Related to Health
  • Latin American Microbiological Congress
  • National Certification Agency for Medical Laboratory Personnel
  • National Committee for Careers in the Medical Laboratory  
  • National Committee on Clinical Laboratory Standards
  • National Council on Health Laboratory Services
  • National Economic Council of Allied Health Professions
  • National Institutes of Health
  • National Referral Center for Science and Technology
  • National Safety Council
  • National Sanitation Foundation
  • National Science Fair
  • National Science Foundation
  • National Society for Medical Research
  • Office of Science and Technology - President's Science Advisor
  • Pensions for Professionals
  • Society for Industrial Microbiology
  • U.S. Civil Service Commission
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture