Size: 5.5 Linear Feet
I. Publications
A. General 1919--
B. Publications Board 1941--
C. Managing Editor/Director of Publications/Publications Office 1959--
II. Journals
A. Journal of Bacteriology (1916) and Abstracts of Bacteriology (1917-1925)
B. Bacteriological Proceedings (Abstracts of Annual Meeting)
C. Bacteriological Reviews (1937)/Microbiological Reviews (1977)/Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews (1997)
D. Applied Microbiology (1953)/Applied and Environmental Microbiology (1976)
E. Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy (1961, 1972)
F. Journal of Virology (1967)
G. International Journal of Systematic Bacteriology (1972)
H. Infection and Immunity (1970)
I. Cumitech (irregular series) (1974)
J. Journal of Clinical Microbiology (1975)
K. Molecular and Cellular Biology (1981)
L. SAB Newsletter (1935)/Bacteriological News (1958)/ASM News (1963)
III. Monographs
A. General 1936--
B. Manual of Microbiological Methods 1954-78
A. General
1. Agreements with Williams & Wilkins Co., publishers, 1919-1938; correspondence concerning Williams & Wilkins v. U.S. Government (library photocopying), 1972; misc. publication services agreements, 1972-78; 2nd class mailing permits. 1974
2. Financial statements of SAB journals submitted by Williams & Wilkins Co., 1940-1960
3. Correspondence file of J. M. Sherman, Secretary of SAB, 1926-35 – includes leaders to/from H.J. Conn and material on the Committee on Bacteriological Technic
4. Correspondence file of Barnett Cohen on relation of Journal of Bacteriology to Williams & Wilkins, 1948-50; includes letters by J.M. Sherman
5. Correspondence file of J. Roger Porter, Chairman, Ad Hoc Committee On Future Plans of the Society: Publications 1955-59
6. Correspondence file and memoranda of E.M. Foster, Secretary of SAB, on the AD hoc Committee on Future Plans of the Society: Publications, 1957 , 1959
7. Miscellaneous material concerning publications from the Council and CPC minutes, 1970-85
8. Proposals to Council regarding ASM member subscription rates and dues, 1970, 1980
9. Manuscript pf “The Cost of Journal Publication,” 1959
10. Handbook for ASM Copy Editors, 1st-3rd eds., 1973-96
11. Clippings from the SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1938-79
B. Board of Publications (1941)
1. Minutes, 1958-79
2. Minutes, Agenda packs, 1980-1997
3. Annual reports to Council and CPC, 1958-1960
4. Annual reports to Council and CPC, 1981-87
5. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, including published minutes 1941-85
6. Correspondence file of J. Roger Porter, Chairman of the Board of Publications, 1952-61
7. Correspondence of J. Roger Porter related to Council and CPC, 1954-61
8. Correspondence of L. Leon Campbell, Chairman of the Board of Publications, concerning Bacteriological Proceedings, 1970
9. Correspondence of E. M. Foster, 6 folders, 1956-61 – includes general correspondence on publications and survey of publishers in an effort to find an alternative to Williams & Wilkins
C. Managing Editor/Director of publications/Publications office
1. Reports to Council and CPC of the Managing Editor/Director of Publications, 1970-86, 1989-96
2. Correspondence of E. M. Foster, Secretary of ASM, on establishment of an ASM Editorial Office and appointment of Robert Day as Managing Editor, 1959-61 -- includes letters of Charles M. Evans, President, and J. Roger Porter
3. Journal files from office of Director of Publications. Arranged by journal, these files may contain correspondence, editorial board minutes, information on founding of the journal. See also files on individual journals, 4-II.
See also Journal Files, 4-IC Folder 3
A. Journal of Bacteriology (1916) and Abstracts of Bacteriology (1917-1925) General
1) Annual reports of C.-E. A. Winslow, Editor, 1918-1944
2) Annual reports of J. Roger Porter, Editor, 1952-61
3) Summary of annual reports, 1943-50, sent by Henry W. Scherp, Secretary, to J. Roger Porter, Editor, 1952
4) Annual reports, 1961, 1976, 1989
5) Annual reports published in the ASM News, 1935-81
History and clippings
6) Clippings from SAB News Letter/ASM News, 1937-82
7) Manuscript history of Abstracts of Bacteriology (1917-1925)
8) Correspondence of Barnett Cohen with I. L. Baldwin enclosing letter of R. S. Breed on founding of the Journal of Bacteriology, 1944.
9) Materials gathered by J. Roger Porter for report on the history of the Journal of Bacteriology, ca. 1953 -- includes correspondence of Porter with Barnett Cohen, Archivist, 1952
10) Materials gathered by J. Roger Porter for his paper on the history of the journal published in ASM News, 1974 -- includes manuscript version and letter of reminiscence from Paul F. Clark, 1974
1915-1926
11) Correspondence of C.-E. A. Winslow on the founding of the journal, November l915-June 1916 -- includes letters to/from A. Parker Hitchens, Secretary of SAB, and others
12) Correspondence of C.-E. A. Winslow, July 1916-December 1916 -- includes letters to/from A. Parker Hitchens and others
13) Correspondence of C.-E. A. Winslow with A. Parker Hitchens and others, 1917; some material deals with local branches as well
14) Correspondence of C.-E. A. Winslow with Williams & Wilkins Co., publishers, 1916-1917
15) Correspondence of A. Parker Hitchens, Secretary of SAB, with Williams L Wilkins Co., 1917-22 -- includes accounts and agreements for JB and Abstracts of Bacteriology.
16) Correspondence of Archibald Ward, Abstract editor for comparative pathology for Abstracts of Bacteriology, 1917
17) Financial summary, Journal of Bacteriology and Abstracts of Bacteriology, 1926
18) Miscellaneous early records, 1917-1921 -- includes list of subscribers, 1917?, drive for more members/subscribers, 1921, and announcement of discontinuation of Abstracts of Bacteriology, 1925
1926-1944
See also correspondence of Barnett Cohen and J.M. Sherman (editor), 1944-52 in Cohen file, 13-IIAZ
19) Correspondence of C.-E. A. Winslow with Williams & Wilkins Co. and others, 1929-44
20) Correspondence of C.-E. A Winslow with Ira Baldwin, Secretary-Treasurer, Arthur T. Henrici, E.G. Hastings and others, 1934-42 -- includes material on annual meeting, l939 (40th anniversary), and correspondence on appointment of Barnett Cohen as editor of Bacteriological Reviews
21) Resolution on the retirement of C.-E. A. Winslow as Editor and reply, 1944
22) Correspondence of I. L. Baldwin, Secretary of SAB, concerning contracts with Williams & Wilkins Co., 1935
23) Correspondence of William B. Sarles, Secretary of SAB, with C.-E. A. Winslow and others, 1942
24) Correspondence of Henry W. Scherp, Secretary of SAB, 1950
25) Correspondence of John E. Blair, Secretary of SAB, with James M. Sherman. Editor, Walter Nungester, President, Barnett Cohen, Vice-president, and others, 1949-50
26) Financial statements submitted by Williams & Wilkins, Co., 1934-49
1944-1961
27) Correspondence of James M. Sherman, Editor, 1948-49
28) Correspondence of Perry Wilson with James M. Sherman, 1946-50
29) Mimeographed correspondence of J. Roger Porter, Editor, with Editorial Board, 1951-61 -- includes minutes and summaries of meetings of the Editorial Board and annual reports
30) J. Roger Porter's questionnaire on journal policy sent to Editorial Board and summary of responses, 1951
31) Correspondence of J. Roger Porter with Williams & Wilkins Co., 1951-61
32) Correspondence of J. Roger Porter with J. M. Sherman, past Editor, 1950-56 -- includes biographical information on A. Parker Hitchens
33) Correspondence of J. Roger Porter with Henry Scherp, Secretary-treasurer of SAB, 1951-53
34) Correspondence of J. Roger Porter with John Hays Bailey, Secretary-treasurer of SAB, 1951, 1953-56 -- includes material on tax status of SAB
35) Correspondence of J. Roger Porter with E.M. Foster, Secretary of SAB, 1957-58
36) Correspondence of J. Roger Porter on necrologies to be published, 1952-58 -- includes material on O.T. Avery, F. C. Harrison, E. G. Hastings, Leo F. Rettger, F.G. Novy, J M. Sherman, C.-E. A. Winslow
37) Correspondence of J. Roger Porter, 1950-53
38) Correspondence of J. Roger Porter, 1954-61
39) Correspondence of J. Roger Porter on change of format and cost estimates, 1952-53
40) Correspondence of J. Roger Porter with Robert S. Breed and Robert E. Buchanan concerning taxonomy and journals, 1951-60
41) "Instruction Manual for Office Routine," ca. 1958; brochures for authors, 1954-61
42) Correspondence of John E. Blair, Secretary of SAB, 1950
43) Correspondence of John Hays Bailey, Secretary of SAB, 1954-56
44) Correspondence of E.M. Foster on obtaining an NSF grant to reduce the backlog of accepted but unpublished papers in the Journal, 1960-61
45) Correspondence of E. M. Foster, 1957-62
46) Correspondence of Barnett Cohen with J. Roger Porter and others, 1950-51 -- includes material on Annual Meeting, 1950
47) Instructions to authors, 1941, n.d.; brochure for advertisers, 1955
B. Bacteriological Proceedings
(Abstracts of the Annual Meeting of ASM)
1) Miscellaneous correspondence from files of H.W. Scherp, J. M. Sherman, and Barnett Cohen, 1947-52 (10 items)
2) Clippings from SAB NewsLetter/ASM News, 1949, 1965, 1972, and form, 1962
C. Bacteriological Reviews/Microbiological Reviews/Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews
(1937; name changes, 1977, 1997). See also correspondence of Barnett Cohen and J.M. Sherman, 1937-52, in Cohen file, 13-IIAZ
1) Annual reports to Council and CPC, 1937-52
2) Annual reports to Council and CPC, 1953-61
3) Annual reports as published in SAB News Letter/ASMNews, 1938-81
4) Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1937-78
5) Historical material, 1974
6) Correspondence of Barnett Cohen on acceptance of editorship, 1937 -- includes letters of J. M. Sherman and C.-E. A. Winslow
7) Correspondence of Barnett Cohen, Editor, with C.-E. A. Winslow, 1931-37 -- includes material on Journal ofBacteriology, of which Cohen was an Associate Editor to 1937; original proposal for Bacteriological Reviews is included in Winslow to Cohen, January 3, 1933
8) Correspondence of Barnett Cohen with C.-E. A. Winslow 1938-51 -- includes material on the Annual Meeting, 1950
9) Correspondence of Barnett Cohen with Williams & Wilkins Co., 1937-49
10) Correspondence of Barnett Cohen, correspondents A-K, 1937-51 -- includes Ira L. Baldwin, Louis Dienes, N. L. Hudson, W.C. Frazier, and Paul Hudson [see also correspondence with E.G. Hastings in Hastings presidential file, 13-IIY, folder 1]
11) Correspondence of Barnett Cohen, correspondents L-Z, 1937-50 -- includes Edwin H. Lenette, Otto Rahn, G.B. Reed, Thomas M. Rivers, A.B. Sabin, V.T. Schuhardt, J.E. Smadel, G.S. Wilson, and others
12) Correspondence of Barnett Cohen with the National Research Council on censorship during wartime, 1942-47
13) Correspondence of Barnett Cohen with Editorial Boards and lists of contributions, 1940-46
14) Correspondence of Barnett Cohen on policy matters, records retained by Perry Wilson, Cohen's successor as Editor, 1933-57
15) Correspondence of Barnett Cohen on his retirement as Editor 1951-52
16) Expense records of Barnett Cohen, 1937-41
17) Correspondence file of Ira L. Baldwin, Secretary, 1937-42
18) Correspondence of James M. Sherman, past Secretary, 1948
20) File sent to Perry Wilson, Editor, by Barnett Cohen, past Editor, 1951 -- includes correspondence of Cohen with contributors, 1947-51
21) Correspondence of Perry Wilson with Barnett Cohen, 1950-1952
22) Memoranda and correspondence of Perry Wilson, 1953-55
23) Correspondence file of J. Roger Porter, Chairman of the Publications Board, 1958-60 -- includes letters of Henrv W. Scherp, Editor
24) Correspondence file of Henry W. Scherp, Secretary of SAB, 1951-52
25) Correspondence files of John Hays Bailey, Secretarv of SAB. with Perry Wilson, Editor, and others, 1953-54
26) Minutes of Editorial Board Meeting, 1980, 1983
D. Applied Microbiology/ App1ied and Environmental Microbiology
(1953; name change, 1976) see also correspondence concerning relations to Society for Industrial Microbiology, 12-II
1) Annual Reports to Council and CPC, 1952-65; 1980; 1985; 1987; 1988
2) Correspondence of Wayne Umbreit, Chairman of the Committee on Special Publications Problems, 1951-52 -- includes correspondence on the founding of the journal and selection of H. Boyd Woodruff as first editor
3) Correspondence of J. Roger Porter, Chairman of the Publications Roard, with H. Boyd Woodruff, 1952-55
4) Correspondence of J. Roger Porter with H. Boyd Woodruff, 1956-61
5) Correspondence of Henry W. Scherp, Secretary of SAB, 1951-52
6) Correspondence of John Hays Bailey, Secretary of SAB, with H. Boyd Woodruff, 1953-54
7) Memoranda of H. Boyd Woodruff to the Editorial Board, 1953-57
8) Correspondence of Robert E. Hungate, President, on selection of Marvin P. Bryant as Editor-in-chief, 1971
9) Announcements, 1952-76
10) Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, including published annual reports, 1952-86.
E. Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy
(1961, 1972)
This journal succeeded the annual volume of the same name, begun in 1961, which published papers from ICAAC
1) Copy of correspondence file of George M. Savage, Editor, on the founding of the annual volume publication, 1960-62. Includes letters of Carter Harrison, publisher of Antibiotics and Chemotherapy, and commentary by Gladys Hobby, 1985
2) Memoranda of the Advisory Committee of the Board of Publications on the publication of the annual volume, 196l
3) Clippings from ASM News, 1970
4) Annual Reports, 1984, 1986, 1989
5) Minutes of Editors' meetings, 1986, 1987, 1989
F. Journal of Virology (1967)
1) Proposal for the Journal of Virology by H.H. Thornberry, Chairman of the Division of Virology, 1963
2) Correspondence file of Robert E. Hungate, 1969-71 -- includes letters of E.M. Foster, President, and criticism of the journal by E.H. Lennette
3) Correspondence of L.S. McClung, Archivist, on history of the Journal, 1974 -- includes letters of Robert Wagner, Editor, and H.H. Thornberry and published article by Wagner (ASM News, 40: 79-84, 1974)
4) Clippings from ASM News, including published annual reports 1966-83
5) Announcements, 1965, 1972
6) Annual Reports: 1980, 1986, 1989
G. International Journal of Systematic Bacteriology
1) Correspondence of Robert E. Hungate, Vice-President and President, on agreement of ASM to take over publication of the journal, 1970; publication agreements, 1970-73
2) Clippings from ASM News, l957-75
H. Infection and Immunity
(1970)
1) Clippings from ASM News including published annual reports, l969-8l; announcements, 1970-74
2) Annual Reports, 1984, 1986
I. Cumitech (irregular series)
(1974)
1) Complete set of issues, numbers 1-24, 1974-88; number 26, 1989; number 29, 1996 Supplements: 1A, 1982; 2A, 1987; 3A, 1990; 7A, 1987; 1B, 1997
2) Clippings from ASM News and announcements, l973-75
J. Journal of Clinical Microbiology
(1975)
1) Preliminary proposal, 1971
2) Clippings from ASM News and announcements, 1974-81
K. Molecular and Cellular Biology
(1981)
1) Report on market research for founding an ASM cell biology journal, Council meeting, 1980
2) Correspondence, clippings and announcements, 1980-81
3) Annual Report, 1989
L. SAB News Letter
(1935)/ Bacteriological News (1957)/ASM News (1963) See also records of the Executive Director, 1 VII
1) Correspondence file of Henry W. Scherp, Secretary of SAB, 1950
2) Miscellaneous Correspondence, 1970-85
3) Clippings from the SAB NewsLetter/ASM News, 1936-78
A. General
1. Correspondence file of Barnett Cohen, Chairman of Committee on Monographs, 1937-50
2. Correspondence of I.L. Baldwin, Secretary of SAB, on publication of The Leeuwenhoek Letter (1937), 1936-43 (See also Barnett Cohen Presidential File)
3. Correspondence file of I. L. Baldwin, Secretary of SAB, 1941 -- includes letters and memoranda of Robert E. Buchanan, Editor of Monographs
4. Correspondence and reports of the Committee on Monographs, 1958-60
5. Minutes and memoranda of the Books Subcommittee, 1977-80
6. Diamond Jubilee Chronicles (proposed 1974) --Correspondence file of L. S. McClung, Archivist, 1973-74
7. Correspondence of Manageing Editor (Day, Pollock), 1977-81
8. Publícations announcements for monographs, 1957-
9. "The History of Book Publishing in the ASM: Monograph Chronology," by Peter Hirtle, Archivist, 1985
10. Manual of Clinical Microbiology -- Instructions for Authors, 1966
11. Manual of Pure Culture Study -- Correspondence (H.J. Conn to John Hays Bailey) and royalty statements for 1953-1954, 1957
12. Reviews of ASM books, 1990-
13. Reports of the Books Division, 1992; 1995--
14. Clippings from the SAB News Letter/ASM News, 1935-81
15. Certificate of trademark registration for "ASM Press," 1995
16. Publication agreements (Int'l Code of Bact. Nomenclature; Microbiology 1978, Dictionary for Microbiology) 1973-78
B. Manual of Microbiological Methods (1957)
See earlier related material under Committee on Bacteriological Technic, 8-IC
1. Correspondence of J. Roger Porter, Chairman of the Publications Board, 1954-60 (the Manual was published by the Committee on Bacteriological Technic, Michael J. Pelczar, Chairman)
2. Correspondence of John Hays Bailey, Secretary of SAB, with H. J. Conn, former editor of the Manual, and others, 1953-59
3. Correspondence of E.M. Foster, Secretary of ASM, 1956-59
4. Manual of Methods of General Bacteriology (1981) [revision of Manual of Microbiological Methods] -- Correspondence of Philipp Gerhardt, Chairman of the Advisory Committee of the Publications Board and Editor-in-chief, 1967-76
5. Manual of Methods of General Bacteriology (1981), preface and proposed table of contents by Philipp Gerhardt, 1978