(for materials after 1982, see Membership Services, Branch Organization Committee, 7-II C)
A. Miscellaneous 1940-82
B. Office of Branch Activities 1958-82
C. Correspondence regarding publication of Branch abstracts 1935-51
II. Branches
Dates given are for establishment of Branch as affiliated with Society; some antecedent dates are also given. Files generally contain lists of officers, histories, programs and announcements, newsletters and some correspondence.
A. Alaska 1983
B. Allegheny 1948
C. Arizona/Southern Nevada 1961 (began as Arizona Branch; name change in 2007)
D. Central New York 1921-2000
E. Connecticut Valley (Leo Rettger Society) (began as New Haven Branch of SAB) 1917
F. Eastern New York 1935
G. Eastern Pennsylvania 1920
H. Florida 1953 (began as South Florida Branch; name change 1984)
I. [DELETED]
J. Hawaii 1965 (Part of Northern California-Hawaii Branch 1935)
K. Illinois (The Illinois Society for Microbiology) 1935
L. Indiana 1935
M. Intermountain 1947
N. Kentucky-Tennessee 1940
O. Maryland 1936 (began as Md. Soc. of Bacteriologists 1931)
P. Michigan 1936
Q. Missouri 1938
R. Missouri Valley 1938
S. Theobald Smith Society, New Jersey 1941
T. Rio Grande (began as New Mexico Branch) 1966
U. New York City 1917
V. North Carolina 1947
W. North Central 1935
X. Northeast 1948
Y. Northern California 1935
Z. Northwest 1945
AA. Ohio 1937
AB. Puerto Rico (Puerto Rico Society of Microbiologists) 1957
AC. Rocky Mountain 1951
AD. South Carolina 1966
AE. South Central 1966
AF. Southeastern 1947
AG. Southern California 1936
AH. Texas 1941
AI. Virginia 1942
AJ. Washington, DC 1917
AK. Western New York 1971
III. Former Branches of ASM / SAB (No Longer Associated with ASM)
A. Mexico (1953, 1960)
B. Rio de Janeiro (1948-1979)
C. West Germany (1974)
(for materials after 1982, see Membership Services, Branch Organization Committee, 7-II C)
A. Miscellaneous
1. Reports of the Director of Local Branches to Council,1940, 1941, 1946, 1947
2. Correspondence of Grant L. Stahly, Director of Local Branches, 1946-47
3. Correspondence of J.H. Richardson, Director of Local Branches, 1949-53
4. Correspondence of J.H. Richardson concerning "probable branches," 1950-53
5. "Local Branch Newsletter: Leaves from Local Branches," 1953-54
6. Correspondence of Donald E. Shay, Secretary of ASM, 1967-72
7. Lists of branch officers covering years 1940, 1947-55, maintained by Director of Local Branches; list for 1979/80
8. List of founding dates, n.d.; History of branches and divisions by Donald E. Shay, 1985
9. Branch surveys, 1967, 1970, 1984, 1985
10. "Report on Education and Career Activities of Local Branches," 1965
11. Membership summaries, 1953-55, 1960
12. DELETED
13. Maps of boundaries, n.d., 1953, 1953;
14. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News (lists of officers), 1947-1985
15. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1935-1986
B. Records of the Office of Branch Activities, ASM Headquarters (includes earlier records of Ray Sarber, Executive Secretary)
1. DELETED
2. Correspondence, general, 1958-83
3. Correspondence concerning branch rebate program, 1962-77
4. Branch rebate program summaries,1963-78
5. Correspondence concerning branch boundaries, 1959-65
6. Correspondence concerning branch boundaries, 1973-82
7. DELETED
8. Correspondence concerning proposals for new branches, 1966-73
9. Correspondence concerning tax-exempt status of branches 1953-83
10. Correspondence concerning survey of branches by Donald D. Stieritz, Chairman, Committee on Branch Activities, 1982-83
11. Correspondence concerning student chapters, 1971-82
12. Constitutions of student chapters, ca, 1975-82
13. Text of talk given by Ray Sarber (?) to Clemson University Student Chapter, n.d.
C. Correspondence Concerning Whether SAB Should Publish Branch Abstracts
1. Correspondence of Grant L. Stahly, Director of Branches, on publication of branch abstracts, 1947-49
2. Correspondence of James H. Richardson, Director of Local Branches, on publication of branch abstracts, 1949-51
3. Letter of Ira L. Baldwin, Secretary of SAB, on publication of branch abstracts, 1935
4. Correspondence of Leland W. Parr, Secretary of SAB, on publication of branch abstracts, 1947-48
5. Correspondence of John E. Blair, Secretary of SAB, on publication of branch abstracts, 1949-50
6. Correspondence of Henry W. Scherp, Secretary of SAB, on publication of branch abstracts, 1951
A. Alaska (1983)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1983
2. Correspondence of office of Branch Activities with Branch, 1971-1983 -- includes information on founding of the branch
3. Announcements, 1985
4. Newsletter, 1990--
B. Allegheny (1948) (West Virginia, western Pennsylvania)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1948-80
2. Program, 1984; Regional meeting announcement, 1985; membership list, 1972; historical information compiled by L.S. McClung, Archivist of SAB, 1957
3. Lists of officers, 1952-1980
4. Correspondence of Grant L. Stahly and J.H. Richardson, Directors of Local Branches, 1946-54 -- includes material on founding of the branch
5. Correspondence of Leland W. Parr, Secretary, on the founding of the branch, 1948
6. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1972-84
7. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1948-71
8. Newsletter, 1970-73, 1992--
C. Arizona/Southern Nevada (1961) (began as Arizona Branch; name change in 2007)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1961, 1980, 1984
2. Lists of officers, 1977-1981
3. Letter of E.M. Foster, Secretary of ASM, to F.E. Nelson regarding the establishment of the branch, 1961
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1970-80
5. Programs and announcements, 1977-87
7. Newsletter, 1961, 1982-
D. Central New York (1921-2000) (Before 1971 included Western New York)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1961-71
2. Membership lists, from file of Branch Secretary, 1939-70
3. Correspondence of the Branch Secretary -- mostly reports of activities submitted for publication to SAB/ ASM, 1939-71
4. Lists of registrants at meetings, from file of branch Secretary, 1961-68
5. Correspondence of Director of Local Branches, 1944-54 -- includes programs and announcements
6. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1970-81
7. Programs and announcements, annotated copies retained by Branch Secretary, 1936-60
8. Programs and announcements, annotated copies retained by Branch Secretary, 1961-76
9. Lists of officers, 1952-58
10. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1935-73; history published in ASM News, 1974; clippings from Abstracts of Bacteriology, 1922-23
11. Newsletter, 1968 (vol. 1, no.1)
E. Connecticut Valley (Leo Rettger Society) (1917) (began as New Haven Branch of SAB) (Connecticut, Rhode Island, parts of Massachusetts)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1970, 1977, 1994
2. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches (H. O. Halvorson, Grant L. Stahly, H.L. Richardson), 1941-54; forms submitted to the Director of Local Branches concerning officers and membership, 1952-58 -- includes reports of the secretary of the branch, programs, and Constitution, ca. 1947-48
3. Correspondence file of ASM Headquarters, 1964-84
4. Correspondence of L. S. McClung, ASM Archivist, with branch, 1973-76 -- includes copies of secretary's report and correspondence, 1923, concerning the founding of the branch
5. Minutes of meeting, 1962, 1972; programs and announcements, 1973-85; membership list, 1979
6. Clippings from SAB News Letter/ ASM News, 1935-85
7. Newsletter, 1970-94 -- includes programs
F. Eastern New York (1935)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1961-77; membership directory, n.d., 1983
2. Correspondence of Director of Local Branches (H. O.Halvorson), 1941-43 -- includes programs, 1941-43
3. Correspondence of Director of Local Branches, 1943-52 -- includes programs, 1943-52; forms submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1953-58
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1978-86
5. Programs and announcements, 1968, 1973-88 -- "A Brief History" included in 50th anniversary program, 1985
6. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1936-71
7. Newsletter (ASM Newsletter), 1968 (vol. 1)-1988
G. Eastern Pennsylvania (1920)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1976, 1980; membership list, 1947
2. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches (H. O. Halvorson), 1940-43 -- includes announcements and proceedings (abstracts )
3. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches, 1944-54 -- includes announcements and proceedings; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-59
4. Letter of Claude Brown to Stuart Mudd from file of John Hays Bailey, 1957; correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1969-82; request to CPC to consider boundary redefinition,1979
5. Correspondence of Donald E. Shay, Archivist, with Harry Morton, 1985-86
6. Speech of Donald E. Shay at 500th meeting celebration, December 14, 1987
7. "Microbiology in the Philadelphia Area, 1960-72," prepared for Annual Meeting of ASM, 1972
8. A History of the Eastern Pennsylvania Branch of the American Society for Microbiology. 1920 to 1987, edited by Linda A. Miller, Harry E. Morton, and James A. Poupard, 1987
9. Programs and announcements, 1975-88; ballots for officers, 1981-87
10. Texts of two symposia: "Free-Living Amoebas in Human Infections," by A. Julio Martinez, 1979; "Immunological and Serological Aspects of Clinical Parasitology," W. Ball & V. Iralu, 1981
11. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1935-71 (includes clippings on Central Pa. branch, 1935-37); clipping from Abstracts of Bacteriology, 1924
12. Newsletter, 1938-45, 1962-
13. "Topics in Clinical Microbiology" [instructional audiotapes]: I. General Techniques and Topics; II. Gram Positive Microorganisms; III. Gram Negative and Acid-Fast Microorganisms. n.d.
H. Florida (1953) (Originally South Florida: name change 1984; see 7 IIC, Folder 7)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1953, 1976, 1977, n.d.; Incorporation, 1980
2. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches (J.H. Richardson), 1953 -- includes original petition to establish branch; forms submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1954-59; ballot for Council to establish branch, 1953
3. Corresponence of ASM Headquarters, 1970-85
4. Announcements and programs, 1977-82; History of the South Florida Branch, 1980, 1988
5.Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1953-1971
6. Newsletter (Microcomm), 1969-88
I. [DELETED]
J. Hawaii (1965) (From 1935 to 1965 Hawaii was part of the North California and Hawaii Branch.)
1. Constitution and bylaws , n.d., ca. 1985
2. Announcements, programs, abstracts, 1976-86
3. Correspondence of the Office of Branch Activities, ASM Headquarters, 1965-81
4. Clippings from ASM News, 1966-74
5. Newsletter, 1984, 1985 (includes membership list)
K. Illinois (1935; but see folder 2: Urbana Bacteriology Society became branch in 1917) (The Illinois Society for Microbiology)
1. Membership directories, including Constitution and bylaws, 1936-85
2. Transcript of minutes of the Bacteriology Club of the University of Illinois, precursor organization, 1913-1924 (transcript prepared 1973)
3. Constitution and bylaws, 1936, 1951;
4. File of Director of Local Branches, 1941-55, including correspondence, minutes, reports of committees, programs, abstracts, Newsletters, and forms submitted to Director Local Branches, 1952-58
5. Correspondence of the Office of Branch Activities, ASM Headquarters, 1972-87
6. Programs and announcements, 1948-87
7. Pasteur Award programs and announcements, 1948-80
8. Announcements of elections and ballots, 1974-86
9. Procedure manual, 1985, 1987
10. Tanner Shaunessy Merit Award certificate, 1981; button for members to wear at SAB annual meeting, 1951
11. Clippings from SAB News Letter/ ASM News, 1935-71
12. News Letter, 1963-87 ( incomplete) (see folder 4 for earlier newsletters)
L. Indiana (1935) (previously the Indianapolis Branch)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1941-79; summary lists of officers covering 1936-74
2. Membership lists, 1948-64
3. Photocopies of correspondence of Frank G. Jones and others, 1925-29
4. Correspondence of Robert F. Ervin, President of the Indiana Branch, 1946-48 -- includes announcements and program, 1947-48
5. Correspondence of Director of Local Branches (H. O. Halvorson), 1940-42 -- includes some announcements
6. File of the Director of Local Branches, 1944-58 -- contains mostly announcements and newsletters received and information on membership, etc. submitted, 1952-58
7. Correspondence of L.S. McClung, branch member and officer, 1946-81
8. Correspondence of John Hays Bailey, Secretary SAB, on possible formation of a Wabash Valley Branch, 1954
9. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1958-83
10. Programs and announcements, 1940-80
11. Clippings from ASM News, 1935-71
12. Newsletter, 1945-
M. Intermountain Branch (1947) (Utah, parts of Nevada, parts of Idaho)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1970, 1980
2. Manuscript and published history of the branch by Paul S. Nicholes, 1978
3. Correspondence of Leland W. Parr, Secretary-treasurer of the SAB, on the formation of branch, 1947
4. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches, 1947-52; information forms submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-1959 -- includes programs, 1953-54, and issue of newsletter, 1952
5. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1970-83
6. Newsletter issue, 1976; abstracts, 1965, 1976
7. Clippings from SAB News Letter/ASM News, 1948-971
N. Kentucky-Tennessee (1940) (Previously the Kentucky Branch)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1940-54
2. Correspondence of H. O. Halvorson, Director of Local Branches, 1940-42 -- includes correspondence on the founding of the branch, original petition, program and announcement, 1940
3. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches, 1944-53; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1953-58 -- includes programs and announcements
4. Correspondence of Leland W. Parr, Secretary-treasurer of SAB, 1945
5. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1971-83
<
6. Miscellaneous programs and announcements, 1965-83, 1990
<
7. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1940-71
8. Newsletter (miscellaneous issues), 1967-84
O. Maryland (1936) (Founded in 1931 as the Maryland Society of Bacteriologists and became a local branch in 1936.)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1964-87
<
2. Minutes, 1931-46
3. Correspondence of the Secretary of the Branch, 1934-39 -- includes poems and satires on bacteriology
4. Correspondence of the Secretary of the Branch (Ruth M. Myers) with officers of SAB including Ira L. Baldwin, C.-E. A. Winslow, and H. O. Halvorson, 1940-41
5. Correspondence of the Secretary of the Branch (M. Kathleen Foley), 1944-46 -- includes abstracts and report of Committee to Study Proposed American Association of Professional Biologists)
6. Correspondence of Barnett Cohen, member and officer of the Branch, 1936-50 -- includes summary of officers, 1932-52
7. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches, 1944-54 -- includes some newsletters and programs; reports sent to Director of Local Branches, 1952-58
8. Miscellaneous correspondence, 1950-84 -- copy of letter of Theodore Carski, 1950; correspondence of Donald E. Shay, 1951, and on award of Barnett Cohen Award to L.S. McClung, 1984; and correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1950-84
9. Branch histories by Andrew G. Smith: 1975, 1996
10 List of presidents for 1931-84; list of awardees for 1954-81; list of members, 1974; officers and committees, 1982-84
11. Programs and announcements, 1951 -- includes questionnaire on accrediting microbiologists, 1951
12. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ ASM News, 1936-72
13. Newsletter, 1947-49, 1960-76; 1987 (newsletter issued irregularly)
P. Michigan (1936) (Preceded by the Bio-Club of Detroit (1917) and the Detroit Branch (1920); there was also a Lansing Branch--see folder 6)
1. Constitution and bylaws, ca. 1958-84
2. Correspondence of Director of Local Branches, 1944-55 -- includes programs and announcements; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-58
3. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1975-85; proposal to Council for branch rebates, 1973
4. Programs and announcements sent to H. O. Halvorson, director of Local Branches, 1941-42; program, 1937
5. Programs and announcements, 1955-63 (photocopies), 1974-85; The History of Bacteriology in Michigan, prepared for the 1957 Annual meeting of SAB
6. Clippings from SAB News Letter/ ASM News, 1935-74 -includes published history of branch by Fred L. Rights, 1974; clippings from Abstracts of Bacteriology, 1921, 1923, regarding meetings of Lansing and Detroit Branches
7. Newsletter, 1973-75, 1985-
Q. Missouri (1938) (Originally Eastern Missouri)
1. Constitution and bylaws, n.d., 1978
2. "Archives prepared in the Spring of 1975," 212 p., consisting of photocopied pages including history, correspondence, constitution, minutes, programs, abstracts, announcements, newsletters, membership list, etc. Covering the period 1938-75 (documents mostly post-1969)
3. Correspondence of Director of Local Branches, 1944-53 -- includes constitution, announcements; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1953-59
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1964-85
5. The History of Microbiology in the Eastern Missouri Branch..., prepared for the Annual meeting of SAB, 1959
6. "Pleading and Final Decision rendered in the case of the Missouri Branch vs Missouri Department of Revenue," 1988
7. Program, 1977
8. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1938-63
9. Newsletter, 1977-84
R. Missouri Valley (1938) (Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma) (Formerly included Western Missouri)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1963, 1970
2. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches (H. O. Halvorson), 1941-43; copy of autobiographical address given by M. P. Ravenel at 1941 meeting
3. Correspondence of Director of Local Branches, 1943-54 -- includes programs; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-58
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1964-73
5. The History of Microbiology in the Missouri Valley Branch. . ., prepared for the Annual meeting of ASM, 1962
6 .Programs and announcements, 1970-86
7. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1938-71
8. Newsletter, 1963-80
S. Theobald Smith Society, New Jersey (1941)
1. Constitution and bylaws and lists of members, 1951-68, n. d.
2. Correspondence of Director of Local Branches (H. O. Halvorson), 1940-43 -- includes "Review of Organization and Activities, Constitution, Officers and Committees, Directory of Members," 1941, and program, 1943
3. File of Director of Local Branches, 1944-54 -- includes programs, announcements, and newsletters; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-59
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1981-83
5. Histories : Theobald Smith Society. 1941-1951 (1951); The Theobald Smith Society. 1941-1964 (1964); Microbiology in New Jersey: Origins and Developments (1965)
6.Programs and announcements; abstracts; ballots for officers, 1964-86; award from NJ Science Teachers Association, 1960
7. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1941-1974 Newsletter, 1962-
T. Rio Grande (1966) (began as New Mexico Branch) (Previously a part of the Rocky Mountain Branch) (New Mexico, parts of Texas)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1967-81; copy of form for tax exemption submitted to IRS, 1971
2. Correspondence of ASM Headauarters, 1966-80
3. Programs and announcements, directory, abstracts, 1968-78
4. Clippings from ASM News, 1966-74 -- includes published branch history by Corale Brierley
5. Newsletter, 1967-91
U. New York City (1917, 1934)
1. Constitution, Bylaws and Directory, 1952-78; constitution and bylaws, 1961-ca. 1981
2. File of the Director of Local Branches, 1944-55 -- includes correspondence, directory of members, programs, newsletters, announcements, ballots for officers; forms submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-59
3. Correspondence of Char1es Thom, 1944-50
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters. 1971-85
5. Correspondence of Donald E. Shay, 1968-82
6. Programs and announcements, 1961-86
7. Postcard announcements of meetings, 1950, 1965-84
8.Publications: A History of Microbiology in New York City, ed. Merrill W. Chase (1975), which includes a history of the branch; Opportunities for Laboratory Visits (1963)
9. Ballots for officers and membership cards, 1964-85
10. Correspondence of Dorris Hutchison, 1958-59
11. Correspondence of Dorris Hutchison with Ray Sarber, 1962, 1967-68, 1983
12. File of Dorris Hutchison on legislation to license New York state clinical lab personnel, 1958-63
13. File of Dorris Hutchison on local committee reports for Annual Meetings of 1964-66
14. File of Dorris Hutchison on arrangements concerning 1965 Annual Meeting to be held in New York, 960. [Meeting was held in Atlantic City instead.]
15. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1935-71
16. Newsletter, series II (1960)- series VIII (1986) (for earlier issues, see folder 2)
V. North Carolina (1947)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1973, 1979, n.d.
2. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches, 1947-54 -- includes constitution and programs; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-58
3. Correspondence of Leland W. Parr, Secretary of SAB, 1947 -- includes original petition
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1960-83
5. Programs and announcements, 1976, 1980
6. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1948-71
7. Drafts of branch history by Robert Fulghum, 1995-96 and associated correspondence; copies of completed history, 1997
8. Newsletter, 1988-1996
W. North Central (1935) (Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin)
1. Constitution and bylaws, n.d., 1981 (?)
2. Records of founding of the branch: Letter from R.H. Walker to E.B. Fred inviting him to join, 1935; announcement in Science, 1935
3. Correspondence of Director of Local Branches (H.O. Halvorson), 1941-42
4. Correspondence of Director of Local Branches, 1944-55 -- includes program, announcement, abstracts; letter from O.B. Williams to John C. Carey (from files of L.W. Parr), 1945; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1953-58
5. Histories: "Bacteriology at the University of Wisconsin, 1885-1925," prepared by the Wisconsin Branch, 1925; "A History of Microbiology in the North Central United States," prepared for the Annual Meeting of the ASM, 1971; history published in ASM News, 1979
6. Programs and announcements, abstracts, 1935-80; minutes, 1982
7. "Introduction to Microbiology," manual for high school teachers prepared by the Education Committee, 1965
8. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1970-81
9. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1935-71
X. Northeast (1948) (parts of Massachusetts, Maine, parts of New Hampshire,Vermont)
1. Constitution and bylaws and directory of members, 1964-81
2. File of Director of Local Branches, 1947-54 -- includes programs; Forms submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-58
3. Correspondence of the Secretary of SAB/ASM (Leland W. Parr, E.M. Foster, Donald E. Shay), 1945-48, 1959, 1972; proposal submitted by branch to the ASM Council to establish an affirmative action plan regarding women
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1972-86
5. The History of Microbiology in the North-East Branch of the American Society for Microbiology (1970); history published in ASM News, 1975; memorandum concerning update of history, 1995
6. Programs and announcements, 1967-
7. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1949-71
8. Newsletters, 1966-
Y. Northern California (1935) (Northern California and Hawaii Branch, 1935 to 1965)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1969, 1978, 1984
2. List of officers, 1935-1993; early material relating to the Golden Gate Branch of the SAB (1925-28) and Pasteur Society of Central California (1928-42), 1925-53 [see manuscript history with papers from Round Table on History of Bacteriology, SAB Annual Meeting, 1953]; Branch History, 1995
3. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches (H. O. Halvorson, O.B. Williams, Grant Stahly, H.L. Richardson), 1943-58 -- includes forms on membership and officers submitted to the Director of Local Branches
4. Correspondence of the Office of Branch Activities, ASM Headquarters, 1970-83
5. Programs and announcements, 1965-93
6. Clippings from SAB News Letter/ ASM News, 1935-71
7. NCASM Newsletter, 1965- (incomplete) -- includes some programs
Z. Northwest (1945) (Washington, Oregon, Montana, parts of Idaho)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1985
2. Photocopies of minutes, 1945-58
3. File of Director of Local Branches, 1945-54 -- includes correspondence and announcements; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1953-58
4. Correspondence of Leland W. Parr, Secretary of SAB, 1945-47
5. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1972-83 -- includes draft initial Constitution, 1972
6. Correspondence of Donald E. Shay, Archivist, 1984-85
7. Programs and abstracts, 1971, 1973, 1983
8. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1945-71; clippings from Abstracts of Bacteriology, 1923, regarding Seattle and Oregon branches
AA. Ohio (1937)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1967-77
2. Correspondence of Director of Local Branches (H. O. Halvorson), 1941-43
3. File of Director of Local Branches, 1944-52 -- includes newsletters, programs, and abstracts; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-58
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1970-83; correspondence of Donald E. Shay, Secretary of ASM, 1971
5. Announcements, 1972, 1982
6. Seminar in Microbiology for High School Science Teachers (1967) (organized by branch)
7. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1937-71
8. Newsletter, 1966-82
AB. Puerto Rico (Sociedad de Microbiologos de Puerto Rico) (1957)
1. Constitution and bylaws, n.d., 1965-83
2. Form submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1958
3. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1969-83; correspondence of Donald E. Shay, Secretary, 1970, 1986
4. Text of speech given by Ray Sarber (?) to branch, "All You Wanted to Know About ASM -- and More!," n.d.
5. Student chapter: correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1983
6. Programs and announcements, abstracts, 1982-92; proclamation of Microbiology Week by governor, 1986
7. Clippings from ASM News, 1963-70
8. Newsletter, 1986-
9. "First 39 Years of the Puerto Rico Society of Microbiologists," 1996
AC. Rocky Mountain (1951) (Colorado, Wyoming) (Originally Colorado-Wyoming Branch. Precursor is Colorado Society of Bacteriologists)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1961-81
2. File of the Director of Local Branches, including correspondence, initial petition, programs and announcements, abstracts, 1951-53; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-58
3. Correspondence of the Secretary-Treasurer of SAB (I.L. Baldwin, Henry W. Scherp), 1939-40, 1951
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1970-83
5. Programs and announcements, 1970-74
6. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM, 1940, 1951-71
7. Newsletter, 1963-72, 1985
AD. South Carolina (1966)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1967, 1979; list of members, 1970
2. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1966-83
3. Programs and announcements, abstracts, 1969-83
4. Clippings from ASM News, 1967-71; branch history published in ASM News, 1975
5. Newsletter (The Objective), 1967-79, 1985-
AE. South Central (1947) (Louisiana, Arkansas, Mississippi)
1. Constitution and bylaws, n.d.; list of charter members, n.d.
2. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches, 1947-54 -- includes constitution, list of charter members, programs and announcements; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1953-59
3. Correspondence of Leland W. Parr, Secretary, 1947 -- includes original petititon for branch; call for first meeting, 1947
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1966-83
5. Histories by Lyman A. Magee: Two Decades of the South Central Branch (1967); history published in ASM News (1974) "History of the South Central Branch," (1977)
6. Programs and announcements, abstracts, award certificates, 1965-73; program/abstracts from Joint Meeting with Mid-South Biochemists and Microbiologists and Biochemists of East Texas, 1994
7. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1948-74
8. Newsletter, 1962-71
AF. Southeastern (1947) (Northern Florida, Georgia, Alabama)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1959-80; membership lists, 1969-71
2. Minutes, 1973-74; miscellaneous announcements, 1970-85; reprint of branch history published in ASM News, 1982
3. File of the Director of Local Branches, 1947-54 -- includes constitution, programs, abstracts (manuscript); forms submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-58
4. Correspondence of Leland W. Parr, Secretary of SAB, 1946-47
5. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1971-83
6. Programs and abstracts, 1953, 1965-84
7. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News,1948-75
8. Newsletters, 1963--
AG. Southern California (1936)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1969, n.d.
2. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches (O. B. Williams, Grant Stahly, J. H. Richardson), 1944-54; forms submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-58
3. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1970-86
4. Programs and announcements, 1961-
5. Printed histories, 1966, 1979, 1986, 1996
6. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1936-71
7. Newsletter (SC-ASM News), 1962-
AH. Texas (1941)
1. Constitution and bylaws, ca. 1967-85
2. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches (H.O. Halvorson), 1941-42 -- includes programs , 1941, 1942
3. File of the Director of Local Branches including correspondence, constitution and bylaws, programs, announcements, newsletters, 1946-54; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-59
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1972-85
5. Correspondence of the Archivist (L.S. McClung), 1966, 1981
6. Branch histories and histories of microbiology in Texas, 1956-81
7. Programs and announcements, 1956-85; certificates awarded by branch, n.d.
8. Newsletters, 1961-
AI. Virginia (1942)
1. Constitution and bylaws, 1956-66
2. Correspondence of the Director of Local Branches (H.O. Halvorson), 1940-42
3. File of the Director of Local Branches, 1944-54 -- includes correspondence, programs, abstracts, newsletter; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-58
4. Letter of Ralph Houlihan to Leland W. Parr,Secretary of SAB, 1946
5. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1966-83
6. Minutes, reports, 1988
7. Programs, Announcements, 1988-
8. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1942-71, 1986
9. Newsletter, 1976
AJ. Washington, DC (1917)
1. Constitution and bylaws, n.d., 1968, 1976; printed "Directory and Constitution," 1956-81; membership lists, 1951, n.d.; list of officers 1953-93, 1994
2. Letter from A. Parker Hitchens, Secretary-treasurer of SAB, to Council presenting application for establishment of branch, 2 May 1917
3. Bound ledger books containing minutes of meetings and accounts: 1917-22 (also on fiche), 1922-34, 1934-47; correspondence of the Archivist (McClung, Shay), 1982; photocopy of 1917-22 ledger
4. Correspondence of Sara E. Branham, Branch Secretary and President, 1940-61 -- includes material on local arrangements for 1937 Annual meeting of SAB, lists of members, and summary of officers for 1917-61
5. File of Director of Local Branches, 1944-57 -- includes postcard announcements; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1952-58
6. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1975-81
7. The Historv of Microbiologv in the Washington Branch of the American
8. File of E. M. Hildebrand, Branch Archivist, 1964-69
9. Announcements, 1979--
10. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1935-71; clipping from Abstracts of Bacteriology, 1924
11. Newsletter ("Microscoops"), 1964-
AK. Western New York (1971)
​1. Constitution and bylaws, 1981, 1982
2. Minutes, 1982; announcements, 1983; clipping from ASM News, 1971
3. Branch Histories: "A History of the Western New York Branch...to November, 1974;" history published in ASM News, 1975; "A History of the Western New York Branch of the ASM: The First Decade" (1982); "History of the Erwin Neter Award" (ca. 1982)
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1977-86
5. Newsletter, 1987-
A. Mexico (1953, 1960) (Branch approved by Council in 1953; begins functioning in 1960)
1. Letter to J. H. Richardson, Director of Local Branches, 1950; correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1960, 1978
2. Clippings from ASM News, 1954, 1963-64
B. Rio de Janiero (1948-1979)
1. Constitution and bylaws, ca. 1958
2. Correspondence of Director of Local Branches, 1948-55 -- includes original petition, constitution, program; reports submitted to Director of Local Branches, 1953-58
3. Correspondence of the Secretary of SAB/ASM (Leland W. Parr, John E. Blair, John Hays Bailey), 1948-55, 1970
4. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1978
5. Clippings from SAB Newsletter/ASM News, 1948-70
6. Newsletter (Noticias), 1963
C. West Germany (1974)
1. Constitution and bylaws, ca. 1980
2. Correspondence of ASM Headquarters, 1974-83