Skip to main content

Center for the History of Microbiology/ASM Archives (CHOMA)

Education and Training Board

(see also L. Joe Berry Papers)

I.     Antecedent Committees

A. Teaching (1941-1950) and earlier committees 1912-1950

B. Curricula 1951-1953

C. Education 1956-72

D. Materials for Visual Instruction in Microbiology 1942-71

II.    Board Records

A. Founding and general 1969-71

B. Minutes and reports 1971--

C. Director of Education and Professional Recognition 1975--

III.  Standing Committees

A. Continuing Education 1972--

B. Educational Materials 1974-91

C. Pre-College (formerly Elementary and Secondary Education) 1972--

D. Public Service and Adult Education 1972-87

E. Undergraduate and Graduate Education 1972--

F. Latin American Professorship Program (LAPP) 1964-93

G. Role of Microbiology in Health-Related Disciplines 1972-78

H. Minority Education Task Force (and standing committee) 1994--

I. International Microbiology Education 1996

J. Distance Education 1995--

K. General (Annual) Meeting Planning (1987-91)

IV.   ad hoc Committees

A. Continuing Education Activities 1977

B. Teleconferencing 1984-86

C. Status of Departments of Microbiology 1988

I. Antecedent Committees

A. Teaching   (1941-50) and earlier committees (see also minutes of 1922 meeting   [1-IVA, folder 5] for report of Committee on Bacteriological Education, which   includes survey results)

1) Report, 1950 --   includes history of committee since its founding in 1941

2) Bound reprint   of Samuel C. Prescott, 1912: "The Teaching of Microbiology in Colleges   of United States and Canada." Science 35:362-366 (Progress report   of Committee on Education formed in 1910); copy of "Bacteriology as a   Non-Technical Course for Public Schools," by H.W.Hill Science   30:625-8

3) Correspondence   of Elizabeth F. Genung and program of Round Table on Problems of Teaching   Bacteriology organized by Genung, 1927; text of papers presented by Genung,   Robert E. Buchanan, and William W. Browne

4) Correspondence   of Elizabeth F. Genung, Chairman of Committee on Teaching, on proposed Round   Table for 1944 Annual meeting, 1944; text of paper presented by C. A. Perry

5) Correspondence   of Barnett Cohen with Stanley Hartsell on teaching of bacteriology, 1939-41

6) Survey of   Teaching of Bacteriology and related correspondence of John E. Blair,   Secretary of SAB, 1949-50

7) List of books   related to bacteriology, ca 1946, ca. 1948; list of institutions teaching   bacteriology, 1949

8) Clippings from SAB NewsLetter, 1940-50

B. Curricula

1) Reports, 1951-53

2) File of L.S. McClung including reports on attempt to develop a program of certification of curricula, 1952-53, and related correspondence with Charles A. Evans, Chairman, 1953

3) Compilation of courses offered in bacteriology/microbiology by colleges and universities,   1950-52

4) Correspondence   of L.S. McClung with departments in colleges and universities concerning   degree requirements in bacteriology/microbiology, 1951

C. Education

1) Reports to   Council, 1959-71

1.1) Minutes,   1967, 1971

2) Career   brochures prepared by Education Committee and its precursors and by Board of   Education and Training, 1947-85

3) Correspondence   of L.S. McClung, Chairman, regarding replicas of Leeuwenhoek microscope,   1961-1962

4) Memoranda of L.   S. McClung, Chairman, 1958-59

5) Memoranda of L.   S. McClung, 1959-60

6) Memoranda of L.   S. McClung, 1958-60

7) Memoranda of L.   S. McClung and H. J. Blumenthal, Chairmen, received by E. M. Foster and P.   Gerhardt, Secretaries of SAB/ASM, 1958-62

8) Memoranda of H.   J. Blumenthal and William G. Walter, Chairmen, received by L. S. McClung,   1961-67

9) Correspondence   of L. S. McClung with E. M. Foster, 1958-60

10) Correspondence   of L. S. McClung on special issue of American Biology Teacher (June   1960) sponsored by SAB. Includes copy of journal. Original photographs are in   photo collection: Buildings/Laboratories section.

11) Correspondence   of L. S. McClung on revision of the June, 1960 issue of American Biology   Teacher (Aug. 1968), 1967-68; includes copy of issue

12) File of L. S.   McClung including correspondence, drafts, memoranda, etc. related to career   brochure "Microbiology in Your Future," 1959-61

13) File of L. S.   McClung including proposal to the National Science Foundation and related   correspondence concerning career brochure, 1959-61

14) Correspondence   of L.S. McClung on undergraduate scholarships in microbiology 1962-63

15) Miscellaneous   correspondence of L. S. McClung, l958-66

16) Correspondence   file of E. M. Foster, 1957-59

17) Correspondence   file of E. M. Foster on special issue of American Biology Teacher and   other matters, 1960-61

18) Minutes of   Round Table on Microbiological Training of High School Teachers, 1958.

19) Lists of   colleges and universities granting degrees in bacteriology or microbiology,   1956-1970

20) Miscellaneous   programs and lists prepared by Education Committee, 1958-64 -- includes   bibliography of articles on teaching of bacteriology in elementary and high   schools, 1959

21) Bacteriology   teaching aid lists, 1959

22) Proposal to   NSF for Summer Institute, University of Michigan, 1963 and Program; selection   lists for Summer Institute, University of Colorado, 1961; Science Fair   ribbons, 1960; list of winners of Science Fair, Boulder, CO, 1961

23) Certificates   awarded to students for science projects, n.d.(l950s)

24) Clippings from   SAB News Letter/ASM News, 1952-ca. 1972 -- includes clippings on   education in general

D. Materials for   Visual Instruction in Microbiology

1) Report of Harry   E. Morton, Chairman, 1944, with lists and abstracts of films; report, 1952;   survey form sent to members of SAB on use of motion pictures in   teaching,1942; correspondence of L. S. McClung with Morton, 1955-56; text of   sound track to film #179, "Lecture on the Spirochetes," 1964

2) Reports to   Council, 1965-71

3) Lists of   photographs and micrographs; lists and abstracts of films, 1944-71; list of   films owned by Archives, arranged by location on video master tapes (also on   WP Inventories disc, as "films.lst"), 1993

4) Abstracts of   films, ca. 1961

5) Clippings from SAB News Letter/ ASM News, 1942-71 --includes reports and lists of films and   photographs

 

II. Board Records

A. Founding and General

1) Ad Hoc Joint   Training and Education Committee, Ira L. Baldwin, Chairman: list of members,   report to Council, 1969; final report, 1970 -- this joint committee of ASM   and AAM recommended the formation of the Board of Education and Training

2) Ad Hoc Joint   Training and Education Committee: correspondence, memoranda, and reports   retained by L.S. McClung, member of the committee, 1969-71

3) Correspondence   of Robert E. Hungate, President, with L. Joe Berry on establishment of BET,   1971

B. Board Records

1) Minutes,   1971-88; Minutes, agendas, 1990-

2) Reports to   Council, 1972-88, 1992-93, 1995

3) Budget   materials, 1983-88

4) Committee   listings, 1974-86, 1997

5)   "Educational Directory" and "Addendum," 1973

6) Miscellaneous   brochures and announcements, 1976-85, 1997

7) Clippings from ASM   News, 1972-85

8) Newsletter,   "Focus on Microbiology Education," 1995-

9) Strategic   Planning materials, 1987-96

10) Grant   Proposals: "Microbial Outreach Program," 1996 (to Foundation for   Microbiology); "Teaching Matters: Improving Microbiology Education in   the U.S.," 1996 (to NSF)

C. Director, Education and Professional Recognition

1) Reports toCouncil, 1975-88

2) Index to Articles About Education in ASM News, 1990-

3) Miscellaneous Brochures

4) Postdoctoral Research Associates Program, 1995, 1997

5) ASM Fellowship Programs: Annual report, 1994, 1995; Strategic Planning materials,1996

6)   "Strategies for Teaching the Life Sciences to Undergraduates,"   conference sponsored by Coalition for Educations in the Life Sciences (CELS),   1993, 1995. Tapes of 1991 summit are in cassette box: Miscellaneous

7)   "Orientation Handbook for Volunteers in Science Education," 6th   edition, 1995

 

III. Standing Committees

A. Committee on Continuing Education
  (Committee transferred to Meetings Board in 1997. Records will remain here)

l) Brochures and   announcements of continuing education programs, l975-85; certificates from   Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, 1982, 1988

2) Workshop   materials, 1973-86, 1994-96. Complete list in first box (5-III A, Folder   2.1); also on WPInventories as betwkshp

3)   Audioconferences: tapes Inventory, 1991-1996 (also on tape inventory disc as betconf).   Tapes are stored with other audio materials; Handout materials, 1993-96;   Statistics, 1994-1995

4) Minutes,   1972-88, 1994-

5) Reports, 1973-88;   Policy & Procedure Manual, 1987

B. Committee on   Educational Materials

1) Brochures of   audiovisual programs, 1975-ca. 1983

2) Slide   Collection catalogs, 1975-79, 1983, 1985

3) Minutes,   1974-75, 1979-81, 1985-91

4) Reports,   1978-88; Policy & Procedure Manual, 1987

5) Microbial   Genetics Learning Series (Thomas I. Baker): proposal, slides, pamphlets,   1979-80

6) Focus Group   reports, College Educators, 1989

7)   "Audiovisual Study Units for the Medical Laboratory: Vol. IV: Clinical   Microbiology." In cooperation w/ Health and Education Resources. Slides,   audiotapes and workbook 1985

C. Committee on   Pre-College Education (originally Elementary and Secondary Education)

1) "Bringing   Life to Microbiology," ca. 1979; 1982

2) Bibliography,   "Juvenile Literature for Microbiology," 1966, ca. 1972

3)   "Elesec," vols. 1-2, 1981-82; "MicroScoop," vols. 1-2,   1987-88

4) Reports, 1972,   1979-88

5) Minutes, 1973,   1979, 1986, 1994-

D. Public Service and Adult Education 

1) Highlights in Microbiology," 1975-76, 1977-78, 1979-80 produced by the Committee on   Public Service and Adult Education

2) "ASM: What   It Is and What It Does " n.d.

3) Minutes,   1972-77, 1979, 1981-83, 1987

4) Reports,   1974-75, 1978-80, 1982-88

E. Committee on   Undergraduate and Graduate Education

1) Colleges and   Universities Granting Degrees in Microbiology 1960-94

2) Minutes, 1972,   1975, 1982-86, 1984; agenda/minutes, 1994-

3) Reports,   1972-73, 1976, 1979, 1982-88

4) Proposal to   make Sigma Alpha Omicron the national microbiology honor society, 1985

5) Materials on   Undergraduate Microbiology Conference, 1994, 1995, 1996

6) Core Curriculum   Review, 1985-91

7) Survey of   Baccalaureate and Professional Degree Programs, 1988

F. Latin American   Professorship Program (LAPP) For funding requests to Foundation for microbiology, 1988-93, see Foundation Lectures, 7-II Q, Folder 8

1) Papers of   Morris Shaffer, Chairman

1.1)   Correspondence and memoranda, 1964-75

1.2)   Correspondence and memoranda, 1976-82

1.3)   Correspondence and memoranda, 1982-87

1.4) LAPP Courses   for 1981

1.5) LAPP Courses   for 1982

1.6) LAPP Courses   for 1983

1.7) LAPP Courses   for 1984

1.8) LAPP Courses   for 1985

1.9) LAPP Courses   for 1986

2) Correspondence   of the Executive Secretary of AAM and ASM (A.F. Langlykke, Robert F. Acker),   1969-76 -- includes reports and minutes

3) Reports, 1971,   1979-86, 1991

4) Agendas,   Minutes, 1970-71, 1977-80, 1983, 1989, 1991

5) Program   summaries, course proposals and reports, 1986-93

6) Clippings from ASM   News, and miscellaneous, 1971-

7) Newsletter,   "La Espora," 1972-75

G. Role of   Microbiology in Health-Related Disciplines

1) Minutes,   reports, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1978

H. Minority   Education Task Force Committee (and permanent Committee)

1) Minutes, 1994;   Minutes, agenda, 1995—

I. International   Microbiology Education

1) Minutes, 1996—

J. Distance   Education

1) minutes,   agenda, 1995—

K. Annual Meeting   Planning (see also Division   W, in Part 10)

1) Correspondence,   1987-88; minutes, 1991

IV. ad hoc Committees

A.    Continuing Education Activities

1. Minutes, 1977

B.    Teleconferencing

1. Memoranda, 1984-85; materials on Project Share, 1985-86

C.    Status of Departments of Microbiology

1. Report, 1988