Skip to Main Content
UMBC
Albin O. Kuhn Library & Gallery

How to Cite and Manage Sources

Quick Links

Setting the Default Bibliographic Style

1.  Click on the grey gear and select Preferences

     function

2.  From the toolbar at the top, select Export
3.  Under Default output format, select the bibliographic style you want and then select OK
4.  If the style you want it not listed, proceed below

Adding Additional Bibliographic Style

1.  Click on the grey gear and select Preferences

     function

2.  From the toolbar at the top, select Cite
3.  Select Get additional styles
4.  Find the style you want (either scroll through the list of search) and click on it
5.  Click install

Creating Bibliographies

  • From the middle column of your Zotero library, highlight the items in a collection that you would like to be in your bibliography
  • Right click and select
  • Select Copy to Clipboard
  • Open a Word document or text document
  • Click Paste
  •      
  • Open a Word document
  • Click Add-Ins on the toolbar
  •   Click the first Zotero button (Zotero Insert Citation) 
  • ****If this is the first citation you have added to the document, the Document Preference window will open. Select a citation style and click OK******
  • A red box will appear, type the author, title, etc. to find citation
  • Select citation from the generated list and hit enter
  • Click Zotero Insert Bibliography from your Zotero Word document toolbar and a complete bibliography will be generated at the bottom of the document

  • Select items in the middle column of your Zotero library and drag them into any text field
  • Zotero will automatically create a formatted bibliography for you.
  • To copy citations instead of references, hold down shift button at the start of the drag
  • To configure your Quick Copy preferences, click the Actions menu function and select Preferences
  • Within the Preferences pop-up window, select Export. From this tab you can do the following:

a)Set the default export format

b)Set up site-specific export settings

c)Choose whether you want Zotero to include HTML markup when copying