** The reading room is CLOSED as of March 12. You can reach staff for assistance at firstname.lastname@example.org. **
Spring and Fall Terms
By appointment: Intersession, Summer Term, Winter Term and all other hours
Phone: (410) 455-2353
The university publications collection includes campus catalogs, newsletters, annual reports, brochures, The Retriever Weekly (the student newspaper), and student publications as well as scientific and technical reports published by the research organizations within UMBC. These items are searchable through the Special Collections Search. Search tip: enter UPUB in the Call Number field to limit your results to the university publications. Additional publications may not yet be cataloged, so please contact the Archivist for additional assistance.
Browse the University Publications
Faculty and staff authored publications are not a part of the university publications but they are actively collected by the Special Collections department. Please use the Library Catalog (catalogusmai) to access these publications. To limit your search to the faculty and staff publications, select "UMBC Faculty/Staff Publications" from the Named Collections drop-down menu.
A selection of University Publications are available in the Digital Collections
These publications are considered to have high research value because of the breadth of the information that they contain. They are a good starting point for most research projects, although you may need to use more specialized materials for detailed questions.
Donations to the University Archives are encouraged from UMBC departments, staff, student groups, and alumni. All donations must be approved in advance by the Archivist and should meet the requirements outlined in the University Archives collection guideline. Please contact Lindsey Loeper for additional information.