Skip to Main Content

History of UMBC

This guide contains information about the available resources for conducting research on the history of UMBC's origins, people, departments, and traditions.


This guide contains the following sections:

  • University System of Maryland
  • Government documents and archives
  • Other USM University Archives (at left)
  • State records management

University System of Maryland

In 1988, the University of Maryland merged with the State University and College System of Maryland to create the University of Maryland System; this name was changed to the University System of Maryland (USM) in 1997. At present, 12 institutions are a part of USM and there are 2 affiliates:

  • Bowie State University
  • Coppin State University
  • Frostburg State University
  • Salisbury University
  • Towson University
  • University of Baltimore
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • University of Maryland, College Park
  • University of Maryland Eastern Shore
  • University of Maryland University College
  • University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
  • Morgan State University (affiliate)
  • St. Mary's College of Maryland (affiliate)

A timeline mapping the history of USM from 1807 is available on their website:

Please note: Prior to the establishment of the USM in 1988, the head of UMBC was called the Chancellor and the head of the University of Maryland  was called the President. After 1988, the UMBC leader is now referred to as the President, and the head of the USM is Chancellor. Please be aware of this change when you are reviewing documents produced prior to 1988.

Government documents and archives

Because UMBC is a public, state university, it is often necessary to consult State documents and resources when conducting historical research. Links to influential documents or important locations are available below.