Research Guides: History of UMBC: Departmental records

Quick Links

UMBC Digital Collections

Subject Guide

Lindsey Loeper

Email Me

Contact:

410-455-6290

Contact Us

Special Collections Reading Room Hours

Spring and Fall Terms

Monday	12 pm - 4 pm
Tuesday	12 pm - 4 pm
Wednesday	12 pm - 4 pm
Thursday	12 pm - 7 pm
Friday	by appointment
Saturday	closed
Sunday	closed

By appointment: Intersession, Summer Term, Winter Term and all other hours

Contact:

Phone: (410) 455-2353

E-mail: speccoll@umbc.edu

University Archives storage

Can I donate materials to the University Archives?

Donations to the University Archives are encouraged from UMBC departments, staff, student groups, and alumni. All donations must be approved in advance by the Archivist and should meet the requirements outlined in the University Archives collection guideline. Please contact Lindsey Loeper for additional information.

Overview

The University Archives collects departmental records that document the history of our campus. Faculty paper collections, which cover the careers of individuals who played key roles in the history of UMBC and/or their field, are also collected on a limited basis. The University Archives collecting policy is available online and a faculty papers collecting policy is in development. Contact the Archivist with questions about these collections.

Please note that that majority of the University Archives records and papers are unprocessed. Unprocessed collections are still open for research with permission and prior review by the Archivist. You may browse the catalog records for processed and unprocessed records or review our completed finding aids. These items are searchable through the Special Collections Search. Search tip: enter "Coll" in the Call Number field and "University Archives" in the title field to limit your results to the university records and papers.

Finding Aids

Institutional Advancement records
The records contain news clippings, press releases and subject files from the Office of Institutional Advancement. Also included are records from the Office of Arts Management. The collection is organized into five series: I. News clippings. II. Press releases. III. Faculty files. IV. Subject files. V. Office of Arts Management. VI Department files. This collection will be updated as additional materials are transferred from the Office of Institutional Advancement.
Albin O. Kuhn papers
Coverage: Index Only
Finding aid. Albin O. Kuhn's papers document his employment in the University System of Maryland including his involvement with the College Park and Baltimore campuses as professor and administrator and the development of the Baltimore County campus where he served as the first chancellor. The collection is available to researchers in the Special Collections department during working hours or by appointment.
President's Office records, University Archives.
Coverage: Index Only
The President's Office records is the first campus record collection processed in the UMBC University Archives. The records contain documents relating to all aspects of campus including the development of academic programs, growth of the faculty and staff, events and issues affecting the student body, and the relationship between other University System of Maryland colleges and the Board of Regents with UMBC's administration. This collection will be updated as additional materials are transferred from the President's Office.
UMBC historic documents
Coverage: Index Only
The UMBC historic documents collection (1955-1990) features records relating to the establishment and early years of UMBC.
University Senates records, University Archives
Coverage: Index Only
The University Senates records (1966-2006) contain the papers of UMBC’s representative governing bodies, including the University Assembly, University Senate, Faculty Senate, Student Government Association (SGA), Undergraduate Council, Professional Associate Staff Senate (PASS), and Classified Staff Senate (CSS). The bulk of papers include meeting minutes, reports, information regarding proposals and policy changes, agendas, motions, election records, and budgets.
Stabler family papers, 1893-1973, bulk 1941-1973
Coverage: Index Only
This collection documents the activities of the Stabler family primarily from 1941 to 1973. The Stabler family previously owned the land that is now the UMBC campus. Personal histories including correspondence, photographs, newspaper clippins related to the construction of Spring Grove and UMBC, official family documents, and certificates provide a brief biographical sketch of the members of the Hayes/Stabler family. Ephemera and books are also included.

History of UMBC

Quick Links

Subject Guide

Contact Us

Special Collections Reading Room Hours

Contact:

University Archives storage

Can I donate materials to the University Archives?

Overview

Finding Aids

Search & Find

Using the Library

Research Help

About AOK

Special Collections & Gallery