Skip to Main Content

Maryland Traditions Archives

In 2000, state folklorists rebranded the state of Maryland's folklife program as "Maryland Traditions." Maryland Traditions identifies, documents, supports, and presents traditional arts. Activities include grants to organizations and individuals, festivals and other events, direct outreach to artists, and archival activities to support community-based living cultural traditions handed down by example or word of mouth.

 

Awards

Tradition bearers in Maryland have received two sets of awards that recognize contributions to folk and traditional arts. The ALTA/Heritage Awards are sponsored by Maryland Traditions, the state folklife program. The National Heritage Fellowships are sponsored by the National Endowment for the Arts

Founded in 2007 as the ALTA Awards (Achievement in Living Traditions and Arts), they were re-branded in 2016 as the Heritage Awards. Given annually, these awards recognize outstanding contributions to the vitality of Maryland folklife in three categories: Person/People, Place, and Tradition. 

The ALTA Awards were created to commemorate Dr. Alta Schrock (1911-2001). Schrock founded the Spruce Forest Artisan Village, Penn Alps Restaurant and Craft Shop, and more than a dozen community groups in western Maryland, setting a standard for what it means to support living cultural traditions. In addition to award recipients, the awards honor her legacy.

The National Heritage Fellowships are the highest honor in the folk and traditional arts in the United States. Since the first class of recipients were recognized by the National Endowment for the Arts in 1983, many Marylanders have received the award.

Materials related to these awards are located in Collection 116 and Collection 120 of the Maryland Traditions Archive.

 

Folklife Apprenticeships

Maryland Traditions has administered the Folklife Apprenticeship since 2003. This grant program supports traditional arts education by funding a master artist and and apprentice artist to work together for up to a year. During the grant period, the master artist passes down their knowledge to the apprentice artist. Materials related to these apprenticeships can be found in Collection 120: Maryland Traditions records, Collection 309: Edwin Remsberg collection, and Collection 332: Human Being Productions collection.

ALTA Award Recipients, 2007-2015

Year

Category

Recipient

2007

Person

Anna Holmes of North Brentwood (Prince George’s County) was a beloved educator, quilter, family historian and community activist.

2007

Place

Penn Alps & Spruce Forest Artisan Village in Grantsville (Garrett County) continues to safeguard Appalachian culture.

2007

Tradition

The National Outdoor Show promotes the traditions of Dorchester County’s marshes since 1938 and is the home of the International Muskrat Skinning Contest.

2008

Person

The United Methodist Women of Smith Island (Somerset County) have perpetuated stories, songs and everyday lifeways for generations.

2008

Place

J. Patrick's, once located in Baltimore City's Locust Point, was the region's main hub for celebrating Irish music and culture.

2008

Tradition

The Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival fills the Howard County Fairground with sheep breeders, cooks, textile artists and every aspect of sheep fancying.

2009

Person

George Wunderlich of Hagerstown (Washington County) is an acclaimed builder of mid-1800s Wunder banjos and a leading public cultural historian of the instrument and its roots.

2009

Place

Blob’s Park & Bavarian Bier Garten in Jessup (Anne Arundel County) was opened by Max Blob in 1933 and was the home for great polka music and German fare.

2009

Tradition

Swan Meadow School of Oakland (Garrett County) teaches students the musical, culinary, literary and storytelling traditions of the Amish and Mennonite communities of Western Maryland.

2010

Person

The descendants of Nathaniel “Uncle Nace” Hopkins hold the annual Emancipation Day celebrations in Trappe (Talbot County) since 1867.

2010

Place

Globe Poster opened in Baltimore in 1927 to produce show posters for vaudeville acts, carnivals, burlesque and movie theaters.

2010

Tradition

Jousting is one of the oldest rural traditions of the Mid-Atlantic Region and is the Official State Sport.

2011

Person

Rich Smoker is a master decoy carver who lives in Marion (Somerset County).

2011

Place

Patterson Bowling Center Duckpin Bowling Lanes (Baltimore City) is the oldest duckpin bowling alley in the world.

2011

Tradition

The Singing & Praying Bands of Maryland (Eastern and Western Shore) are an African-American devotional/musical tradition that is unique to Delmarva.

2012

Person

The Carroll County Ramblers are a family bluegrass group based in Taneytown (Carroll County).

2012

Place

Sparrows Point Steel Mill and its Communities (Baltimore County), a now-closed steel mill that shaped the lives of hundreds of thousands of steelworkers and community members.

2012

Tradition

J. Gruber’s Hagers-town Town and Country Almanack (Washington County) is the oldest almanac in the U.S. that is still produced by heirs of the original founder.

2013

Person

Wallace M. Yater is a master blacksmith living in Boonsboro (Washington County).

2013

Place

Piscataway Homelands: People Culture and Traditions of Prince George’s, Charles and St. Mary’s Counties.

2013

Tradition

The Oyster Fritters of the Sharptown Firemen’s Carnival (Wicomico County) are an enduring community tradition of the Eastern Shore.

2014

Person

Bernard “Lefty” Kreh (Baltimore County) is a master fly fisherman, guide, journalist, photographer and author.

2014

Place

Bending Water Park and Indian Water Trails (Somerset County) comprise indigenous landscapes and waterways significant to the history and culture of the Accohannock Indian Tribe of the Lower Eastern Shore.

2014

Tradition

The Painted Screens of Baltimore is one of the most iconic and well-known living traditions unique to the city.

2015

Person

Captain Kermit "Robert Lee" Travers (Dorchester County) is reputedly the only surviving African-American skipjack captain active within the Chesapeake Bay Region.

2015

Place

St. Nicholas Greek Orthodox Church (Baltimore) is the main anchor for Greek culture in East Baltimore and is considered the most traditional, conducting services in both Greek and English.

2015

Tradition

The Marbles Game of the Greater Cumberland Region (Allegany County) is a source of deep community pride. With tournaments dating back nearly a century, games are taught in public schools and local players have won nine National Marbles Championships.

Heritage Awards Recipients, 2016-Present

2016

Person/People

Chum Ngek (Montgomery County) is a master of traditional Cambodian music and is the musical backbone of Cambodian communities in Maryland and beyond.

2016

Place

Trimper's Rides and Amusements of Ocean City is the oldest family-owned amusement park in the nation, having opened its doors in 1893.

2016

Tradition

Maple syrup making is a generational tradition in Western Maryland and is carried forward today by families like the Steyers of Garrett County and the Shinholts of Allegany County.

2017

Person/People

Joan Gaither (Anne Arundel County) creates story quilts that bring Maryland history to life, with a focus on the stories of the state's African-American communities.

2017

Place

The Baltimore American Indian Center (Baltimore City) provides native communities with weekly culture classes, annual pow wows, a full-fledged community museum, a multipurpose meeting space and more.

2017

Tradition

The Skipjack Race and Festival of Deal Island (Somerset County) commemorates the skipjack, the traditional oystering and crabbing vessel of the Chesapeake Bay.

2018

Person/People

The Sensational Royal Lights (Dorchester County) are the generational gospel quartet of the Elliott family, whose music and ministry are rooted in African-American devotional traditions.

2018

Place

Curtis’ Coney Island Famous Weiners (Allegany County) is a century-old restaurant and community gathering space run by generations of the Giatras family in downtown Cumberland.

2018

Tradition

Stuffed ham (St. Mary’s County) is a regional culinary practice marking holidays, family gatherings, and community events in southern Maryland for hundreds of years.

2019

Person/People

Jay Armsworthy (St. Mary’s County) is the bluegrass musician, promoter, organizer, and radio host whose efforts are known throughout and beyond his home place of southern Maryland.

2019

Place

The Arch Social Club (Baltimore City) has been a central location for generations of African American community and culture in the city since 1912.

2019

Tradition

The bomba and plena percussion and dance traditions of Puerto Rico are upheld in Maryland through the work of the cultural arts organization Cultura Plenera (Howard County).

2020

Person/People

Rock Howland of Carroll County is a master of Appalachian flatfooting, a mountain dance style that has emerged from a blend of Scots-Irish, African American, and Indigenous solo dance traditions over the past 150 years.

2020

Place

The region now known as Dorchester County is the ancestral home of the Nause-Waiwash Band of Indians, descendants of the Nanticoke Indians who have made their home on the Eastern Shore for centuries. 

2020

Tradition

The Blackstorytelling tradition (no space) is influenced on state and national levels by activities in Baltimore City, where organizations such as the National Association of Black Storytellers and the Griots’ Circle of Maryland steward and participate in African and African American oral traditions.

2021 Person/People

Phil Wiggins of Montgomery County is a master harmonica player in the tradition of the Piedmont blues, a delicate, lyrical style of blues originating in Black communities in the eastern United States in the 1920s and 1930s. Phil has taught thousands to both play and value the Piedmont blues and is the recipient of many awards, including the National Endowment for the Arts’ National Heritage Fellowship, the nation’s highest honor in the folk and traditional arts.

2021 Place The historic Dentzel carousel has been a fixture in Montgomery County’s Glen Echo Park since 1921. Crafted by the Dentzel Carousel Company, the amusement has for 100 years served as the site of community gathering, including a 1960 civil rights protest to open the park to Black visitors. The desegregation effort was ultimately successful, and the carousel has remained the centerpiece of the park and a cherished attraction for all guests.
2021 Tradition Arabbing is the name for the Baltimore City tradition of selling fruits and vegetables by horse-drawn cart. Those practicing the tradition, known as arabbers, alert their customers to the availability of fresh food through unique hollers. For 150 years, arabbing has been recognized as a tradition primarily upheld by and for Baltimore’s Black communities, as well as an entrepreneurial economic system serving neighborhoods across the city.
2022 Person/People Shelley Ensor (Baltimore County) is a singer, musician, and choral director revered within the central Maryland gospel music tradition. Part of a long family lineage in this worship-based tradition, Shelley has sung, performed, and directed gospel music regionally for churches and other institutions in Carroll and Baltimore counties, Baltimore City, and internationally.
2022 Person/People Husband and wife duo Meki and JoAnn Toalepai (Anne Arundel County) are entertainers, event producers, and cultural ambassadors for Pacific Islander (PI) culture. The pair created spaces in which PI people and others continue to learn about and participate in traditional PI music and dance. These spaces include the multigenerational, family-run ensemble Meki's Tamure Polynesian Arts Group, founded in 1969, and the Pacific Fun Day Festival, founded in 1985.
2022 Tradition The Waterfowl Festival (Talbot County) is an annual cultural event in Easton that celebrates and educates the public about waterfowling culture and conservation traditions on the Eastern Shore. Founded in 1971, the Festival is among the oldest and largest continuous events of its type, featuring decoy carving, sporting art, and the World Waterfowl Calling Contest.
2023 Person/People Michael Friend (Montgomery County) is a performer and respected percussionist in a variety of African-American, West African, and Latin American percussion traditions. Since he founded the Soul In Motion Players in 1984, Michael has led the ensemble in presenting African dance and drum performances around the world.
2023 Person/People Linda Goss (Baltimore City) is a sixth-generation storyteller, educator, poet, and author. A 2019 NEA National Heritage Fellow and acclaimed performer, Mama Linda co-founded the National Association of Black Storytellers in 1983 to support the history, heritage, and culture of African Americans.
2023 Person/People Gertie Hurley (Prince George’s County) has been making dolls for over 80 years. Nationally recognized in the tradition of Black doll-making, Gertie uses her dolls and the children’s books she writes featuring them as teaching aids to promote personal and community health and wellness.
2023 Person/People Pianist and fiddler Donna Long (Baltimore County) is a pillar of Irish traditional music in Maryland and around the world. A former member of the internationally-acclaimed ensemble Cherish the Ladies, she is featured on numerous recordings and her piano arrangements are included in the performance curriculum at Ireland’s University of Limerick.
2023 Place Located on the site of a former segregated school, the Kennard African American Cultural Heritage Center (Queen Anne’s County) now combines a community center and museum, chronicling local African American life and culture through its African American History Museum. A space for community gathering, the Center also offers education, scholarships, and mentoring for Queen Anne’s County residents of all ages.
2023 Tradition Created in the 1840s, the Baltimore Album Quilts (Baltimore City) tradition continues to thrive in an ever-increasing local and international community of quilters. Taking designs appliqued onto cloth squares, quilters piece together quilts that document the cultural stories of their everyday lives.
2024 Person/People Donald Owens has been a steward of Baltimore City’s African-American community theater tradition since the 1970s, particularly through his work with the Arena Players, the oldest, continually-operating, historically Black community theater in the country. As the Players’ artistic director since 2007, Owens passes down the tradition through community-grounded acting, directing, writing, and teaching.
2024 Person/People Angel Rivera of Frederick is a master of the Puerto Rican percussion and dance traditions of bomba and plena, as well as the tradition of distilling pitorro, or moonshine rum. Rivera founded the first and only bomba and plena ensemble in the region and the only pitorro distillery in the continental United States. For more than forty years, Angel’s work has strengthened the sense of community in Maryland’s Puerto Rican diaspora.
2024 Place The Pocomoke Indian Nation continues their centuries-long relationship with the lands and waters of the Pocomoke Homelands, located on the Lower Eastern Shore in Somerset, Wicomico, and Worcester counties. Referenced by English explorer John Smith in 1608 and in 17th and 18th century treaties with the English Maryland Colony, tribal members continue to live on their homelands, where they practice land and water stewardship and educate the public about their tribal history and culture.
2024 Tradition Founded in 1972, Carroll County’s Deer Creek Fiddlers’ Convention is a supportive space in which musicians, dancers, singers, and songwriters from diverse traditional music backgrounds can connect, learn from one another, and compete. Prizes are awarded for performance on various instruments and in genres including old-time, bluegrass, folk, blues, and Celtic music.
2024 Tradition The Emerald Isle Club of Baltimore County was formed by Irish immigrants in 1956 to keep Irish traditions alive. Through monthly ceilis, or dances, and other events, the club offers all Marylanders opportunities to experience Irish music, dance, language, literature, and other aspects of Irish culture.
2024 Tradition On Frostburg Derby Day, children race small, homemade derby cars down Main Street in Allegany County while families and local business sponsors cheer them on. Organized by the Frostburg Elks since 1977, the tradition grew from the soapbox derby craze of the 1930s and 1940s. In some families, derby racing cars have achieved the status of family heirlooms, with as many as three generations of drivers having used the same car. 

 

National Heritage Fellowships, Maryland Recipients

Year

Recipient

Tradition

Location

1983

Lem Ward

Decoy Carver/Painter

Crisfield, MD

1986

Ola Belle Reed

Appalachian Banjo Picker/Singer

Rising Sun, MD

1986

Khatna Peou

Cambodian Court Dancer/Choreographer

Silver Spring, MD

1998

Harilaos Papapostolou

Greek Byzantine Chanter

Potomac, MD

1998

Apsara Ensemble

Cambodian Traditional Dancers and Musicians

Fort Washington, MD

2001

Joe Wilson*

Folklorist, Advocate and Presenter

Silver Spring, MD / Trade, TN

2001

Hazel Dickens

Appalachian Singer-Songwriter

Baltimore/DC/WV

2004

Chum Ngek*

Cambodian Musician and Teacher

Gaithersburg, MD

2005

Chuck Brown

African-American Musical Innovator (Go-Go)

Brandywine, MD

2007

Roland Freeman*

Photo Documentarian, Author, and Curator

Baltimore and Washington, DC

2009

Mike Seeger*

Musician, Cultural Scholar, and Advocate

Baltimore & Silver Spring / Lexington, VA

2011

Warner Williams

Piedmont Blues Songster

Gaithersburg, MD

2012

Mike Auldridge

Dobro guitar player

Silver Spring, MD

2014

The Holmes Brothers

Blues, Gospel and R&B

Rosedale, MD/Saluda, VA

2014

Singing and Praying Bands of Maryland and Delaware

African-American Sacred Music

 

2016

A. Michael "Mike" Vlahovich

Shipwright and Maritime Culture Advocate

St. Michaels, MD/Tacoma, Washington

2016

Billy McComiskey

Button Accordion, Irish music

Parkville, MD

2017

Phil Wiggins

Piedmont blues harmonica

Takoma Park, MD

2019

Mama Linda Goss

Storytelling

Baltimore

2019

Rich Smoker

Decoy carving

Marion Station, MD

* Bess Lomax Hawes Award recipient. The Bess Lomax Hawes Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to the preservation and awareness of cultural heritage.

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2003-2004

Year

Master Artist

Apprentice Artist

Tradition

2003-2004

Frank Bittner (Dorchester County)

Jaime Morgan

Wood graining or faux finishing

2003-2004

Ahmad Bochani (Baltimore City)

Jennifer Acfaa

Persian radief classical music on semiur (hammered dulcimer)

2003-2004

Dolores Herget (Baltimore City)

Jennifer Crouse

Baltimore screen painting

2003-2004

Thomasa Lipka (Baltimore City)

Anna Lipka

Baltimore screen painting

2003-2004

Baile McNight (Prince George's County)

Jason Jabar Smith

West African drumming; carving, rigging, and maintenance of the tema, djembe, and bata drums

2003-2004

Robert Mitchell (Montgomery County)

Erik Abbott

Scottish Highland bag piping

2003-2004

Santo Navaattis (Baltimore County)

Barbara Preston

Italian “Memory” mosaic techniques and skills to create sixteen glass mosaics for Our Lady of Angels Chapel in Catonsville

2003-2004

Chum Ngek (Montgomery County)

Joanna Pecore

Cambodian ceremonial pin peat musical repertoire

2003-2004

Ronald Rue (Dorchester County)

Steven Foxwell

Duck decoy carving in the Dorchester County style

2003-2004

Grace Wang (Montgomery County)

Katy Griffin

Kunqu Chinese Theatre

 

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2004-2005

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2004-2005

Antonios Nicolaidis

Antonios Minadakis

Greek nissiotika skopoi (island music) on voice and lyre

2004-2005

Carls Grubbs

David Lowe

Jazz bass

2004-2005

Christopher Pulido

Maria Lopez

Dances from Veracruz and Michoacan, Mexico

2004-2005

D. Brendan Mulvihill

Vince Burns

Irish fiddle

2004-2005

Kwame Brew

Ababio Gyebi

Ghanian atumpan talking drums

2004-2005

Mark Walker

Victor Walker

Rosella Punch and Judy Show

2004-2005

Natarajan Ganesan (Ganesh Kumar)

Ayyappan Venkatraman

South Indian percussion

2004-2005

Peter Krug

Bill Moore

Krug-style railing and scroll metalsmithing

2004-2005

Rhonda Aaron

Trish Hayden

South Dorchester County women’s marsh culture, include trapping, wildlife preparation, and foodways

2004-2005

Wayne Lawson

Gregory von Rigler

Eastern Shore storytelling

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2005-2006

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2005-2006

Ahmad Borhani (Baltimore County)

Amir Baradaran

Persian folk and classical santur (hammered dulcimer) technique

2005-2006

Billy McComiskey (Baltimore City)

Sean McComiskey

East Galway Irish musical repertoire

2005-2006

Baile McKnight (Prince George's County)

Menes Yahudah

Iron and blacksmithing techniques and tools in making djembe, dundun, and other West African instruments

2005-2006

Rich Smoker (Somerset County)

Harry Jackson

Gunning rig decoy carving

2005-2006

A. Michael Vlahovich (Talbot County)

Anthony Vlahovich

Ship caulking

2005-2006

Grace Wang (Montgomery County)

Katy Griffin

Kung Qu Opera

2005-2006

Gary Yoder (Garrett County)

Hazel Wright

Smooth style duck carving

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2006-2007

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2006-2007

Ahmad Borhani (Baltimore County)

Naveed Krabbe

Persian folk and classical santur (hammered dulcimer) technique

2006-2007

Nilimma Devi (Montgomery County)

Neelima Charya

Kuchipudi Indian classical dance

2006-2007

Naser Khorasani (Montgomery County)

Steve Bloom

Persian daf (frame drum)

2006-2007

Prem Mahat (Baltimore City)

Yaman Shrestha

Nepalese sarangi (bowed lute)

2006-2007

Baile McKnight (Prince George's County)

Dorothy Holley

Drum carving and rigging

2006-2007

Pazhayannur (P.K.) Swaminathan (Montgomery County)

Rajina Swaminathan

Bharatanatyam dance accompaniment on mrudangam (two-headed South Indian drum)

2006-2007

Daniel Van Allen (Baltimore City)

Andrew Byrne

Furniture restoration craftsmanship

2006-2007

Phillip Wiggins (Montgomery County)

Charles Hill, Jr.

Piedmont Blues-style harmonica

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2007-2008

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2007-2008

John Childers (Garrett County)

Alfred Wright

Milling techniques

2007-2008

Anuradha Nehru (Montgomery County)

Lavanya Thamire

Kuchipudi Indian classical dance technique and pedagogy

2007-2008

Harold Ruark (Dorchester County)

Jack Sammons

Wooden boat building

2007-2008

Stephen Sullivan (Dorchester County)

Jason Sckupakus

Eastern Shore martin houses

2007-2008

James Cooper (Baltimore City)

Leonard Wills

Maintenance and restoration of Arabber wagons

2007-2008

Tatiana Sarbinska (Montgomery County)

Elin Zurbrigg

Balkan vocal technique

2007-2008

Patrick Egan (Baltimore City)

Laura Byrne

Irish ballad singing, ornamentation, and style

2007-2008

Carl Grubbs (Baltimore County)

Lafayette Gilchrist

Emergent structures and forms of jazz improvisation

2007-2008

Shobha Subramanian (Prince Georges County)

Ashwin Subramanian

Indian classical naltuvangam verbal recitation and cymbal accompaniment

2007-2008

Martha Hopkins (Baltimore City)

Kerry Stagmer

Baltimore’s silver chasing and repousse silversmithing

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2008-2009

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2008-2009

Junious Lee Brickhouse (Montgomery County)

Desmond Howard

Baltimore regional-style house dancing

2008-2009

Daryl Davis (Montgomery County)

Douglas Cooke

Boogie-woogie, rockabilly, country, and blues-style piano

2008-2009

Cheick Hamala Diabate (Prince Georges County)

Greg Adams

Ngoni (West African banjo precursor) technique

2008-2009

Valeri Georgiev (Montgomery County)

Jeff Suzda

Bulgarian melodies and ornamentation, and musical history

2008-2009

Tom Lagana (Dorchester County)

Joseph Lagana

Taxidermy art of mounting and preserving birds and mammals

2008-2009

Mary Ada Marshall (Somerset County)

Kristen Manzo

Making Smith Island layer cake

2008-2009

John Oktavec (Anne Arundel County)

Monica Brocre

Baltimore painted screens

2008-2009

Lalitha Swaminathan (Montgomery County)

Anjna Swaminathan

Vocal foundations of South Indian Carnatic violin

2008-2009

Pazhayannur Swaminathan (Montgomery County)

Ajay Ravichandran

Mrdangam (two-headed South Indian drum) technique

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2009-2010

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2009-2010

Samia Ahmad (Montgomery County)

Irum Ahmad (Montgomery County)

Vocal roots of the Indian violin

2009-2010

Ali Analouei (Montgomery County)

Giti Abrishami (Montgomery County)

Persian tombak and daf (frame drums) technique

2009-2010

Burton DeBusk (Cecil County)

Hugh Campbell (Cecil County)

Songs of Appalachian communities who migrated to Cecil Country during the Depression

2009-2010

Kevin Enoch (Prince Georges County)

Pete Ross (Baltimore City)

Banjo engraving and pearl inlay technique

2009-2010

Lafayette Gilchrist (Baltimore City)

Ethan Simon (Howard County)

Baltimore jazz repertoire

2009-2010

Robert Giron (Montgomery County)

Beverly Giron (Montgomery County)

Guatemalan marimba two-hand technique and repertoire

2009-2010

Donna Long (Baltimore City)

Mathew Mulqueen (Baltimore City)

Irish piano

2009-2010

Ronald McGlaughlin (Dorchester County)

Frank Antes (Wicomico County)

Techniques of dovetail wooden boat design and construction

2009-2010

Gustavo Nieto (Montgomery County)

Edwin Lozano (Montgomery County)

Colombian Vallenato musical repertoire and technique

2009-2010

Jay Young (Harford County)

Tony Shore (Baltimore City)

Fox hunting

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2010-2011

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2010-2011

Wendell Brooks (Somerset County)

Terrell Taylor (Somerset County)

African-American gospel quartet singing

2010-2011

Louis Campbell (Baltimore City)

Jason Warwick (Baltimore City)

Lumbee (American Indian) regalia-making

2010-2011

Shanthi Chandrasekar (Montgomery County)

Aishwariya Chandrasekar (Montgomery County)

Indian Kolem painting

2010-2011

Robert Cicero, Sr. (Anne Arundel County)

Szymon Kaniowski (Baltimore City)

Wood type letterpress type-setting and printing

2010-2011

Kathy Holter (Frederick County)

Carrie Holter (Frederick County)

Tailoring

2010-2011

Ann Jones (Garrett County)

Frances Nicholson (Garrett County)

Overshot coverlet weaving

2010-2011

Bill Kirchen (Calvert County)

Marcy Marxer (Montgomery County)

Honky-tonk electric guitar

2010-2011

Rebecca Marshall (Kent County)

Marc Van Pelt (Kent County)

Gearing net (net making) for Chesapeake Bay watermen

2010-2011

Herman Orrell (Talbot County)

Linda Kautz (Kent County)

Making Maryland beaten biscuits

2010-2011

Paul Piker (Baltimore County)

Keith Kuhn (Harford County)

Creating Christmas Train gardens, with an emphasis on kinetic techniques

2010-2011

Newell Quinton (Wicomico County)

Allen Quinton (Wicomico County)

Wicomico County African-American scrapple making

2010-2011

David Reed (Cecil County)

Samuel Hopkins (Cecil County)

Clawhammer (mountain frailing) and three-finger style banjo technique

2010-2011

Andrew Shaw (St. Mary's County)

Darwin Weigel (Calvert County)

Spar-carving (carving wooden poles for sailing ships)

2010-2011

Carla Tomaszewski (St. Mary's County)

Alysa Younger (Charles County)

Pisanki (Polish egg decorating)

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2011-2012

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2011-2012

Ernie Bradley (Washington County)

Ryan Cramer (Washington County)

Bluegrass banjo

2011-2012

Laura Byrne (Baltimore City)

Patrick Armstrong (Montgomery County)

Irish flute

2011-2012

Mimi Dietrich (Baltimore County)

Emily Pelton (Baltimore City)

Baltimore album quilting

2011-2012

Lesole Maine (Montgomery County)

Thakbasadi Sato (Montgomery County)

Botswanian Tswana dance

2011-2012

Masady Mani (Montgomery County)

Vathana Saraci Say (Montgomery County)

Khmer/Cambodian classical dance

2011-2012

Norvus Miller, Jr. (Prince Georges County)

Norvus Miller III (Prince Georges County)

Gospel (United House of Prayer) shout band trombone

2011-2012

Patrick Plunkett (Montgomery County)

Jason Wright (Montgomery County)

Stone cutting and stone carving

2011-2012

Roberto Rivera (Frederick County)

Julian Rivera (Frederick County)

Building Puerto Rican cuatros (10-string guitar)

2011-2012

Albert “Diz” Russell (Prince Georges County)

Clark Walker (Prince Georges County)

African-American doo-wop rhythm and blues quartet singing

2011-2012

Eileen Torres (Anne Arundel County)

Socorro Reyes (Montgomery County)

Salsa dancing

2011-2012

Bing Xia (Montgomery County)

Rujia Teng (Montgomery County)

Guzheng (21-string plucked Chinese zither)

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2012-2013

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2012-2013

Richard Baskwill (Baltimore County)

Bradley Martin (Harford County)

Welsh choral singing

2012-2013

Rose Duke (Baltimore City)

Wayne Werner (Harford County)

Hand engraving of precious metals

2012-2013

E. Jay Hendrickson (Frederick County)

Shawn Hendrickson (Frederick County)

Bladesmithing Damascus steel

2012-2013

Amadou Kouyate (Baltimore City)

Jumoke Ajanku (Baltimore City)

Manding kora (West African lute-harp) playing

2012-2013

Anila Kumari (Montgomery County)

Mrinalini Pillai (Montgomery County)

Kuchipudi classical Indian dance

2012-2013

Edward “Eddie” Rich (Baltimore City)

Leroy “Linky” Miller (Baltimore City)

Rhythm and Blues doo-wop harmony singing

2012-2013

Warren Saunders (Dorchester County)

Roger Webster (Wicomico County)

Carving and painting working duck decoys

2012-2013

L. Hedgecock Smith (Wicomico County)

Sara Smoker (Wicomico County)

Clock making and antique clock restoration/repair

2012-2013

Sam-Ouen Tes (Prince Georges County)

Bonavy Chhim (Prince Georges County)

Khmer classical court dance

2012-2013

A. Michael Vlahovich (Talbot County)

John Rafter (Worchester County)

Skipjack boat restoration

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2013-2014

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2013-2014

Bernie Garlitz (Allegany County)

Ryan Garlitz (Allegany County)

German-American “Frostburg Bologna” foodways

2013-2014

Linda Goss (Baltimore City)

Diane Macklin (Baltimore City)

African-American storytelling

2013-2014 Melvin Hickman (Dorchester) Rhonda Aaron (Dorchester) Eel pot weaving

2013-2014

Rock Howland (Frederick County)

Slim Harrison (Frederick County)

American clog dancing

2013-2014

Raymond Loomis (Baltimore County)

Steve Cole (Baltimore City)

Linotype typesetting and printing

2013-2014

Billy McComiskey (Baltimore County)

Peter Brice (Anne Arundel County)

Irish button accordion

2013-2014

Rico Newman (Prince Georges County)

Lisa Thomas (Charles County)

Piscataway American Indian finger weaving

2013-2014

Melvin “Mel” Price (Talbot County)

Arthur “Arty Hill” Renkwitz (Baltimore City)

Pre-honky-tonk Eastern Shore country music

2013-2014

Liliana Robeson (Washington County)

Brithney Giselle Paniagua (Washington County)

Columbian-style cumbia dance

2013-2014

Richard Semper (Baltimore City)

Jordan Banidele (Baltimore city)

Trinidadian steel drum

2013-2014

John Shun-Chieh Wang (Montgomery County)

Mei Yu Green (Anne Arundel County)

Chinese seal engraving

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2014-2015

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2014-2015

Tebabu Assefa (Montgomery County)

Betel Degene (Montgomery County)

Ethiopian coffee ceremony

2014-2015

Frank Bittner (Dorchester County)

Tracy Murry (Caroline County)

Wood graining

2014-2015

Bob Bowes (St. Mary's County)

James M. Bowes, Sr. (St. Mary's County)

Preparation of Maryland stuffed ham

2014-2015

Aurelia Vargas Garcia, Rosa Vazquez Castro, and Maria Guadalupe Lopez (Baltimore City)

Griselda Torres, Alejandra Martinez, and Alexandra Gonzalez (Baltimore County)

Mexican piñata making

2014-2015

David Glorioso (Baltimore City)

Asbury Hopewell (Baltimore City)

Pigeon fancying and racing

2014-2015

Matthew Harris (Cecil County)

Jacob Selmer (Carol County)

Architectural blacksmithing

2014-2015

Wendell Holmes (Baltimore County)

Brooks Long (Baltimore City)

Southern roots-style Rhythm and Blues

2014-2015

Spyridon Koliavasilis (Montgomery County)

Nicholas Gerakis (Montgomery County)

Greek mainland-style laouto (lute)

2014-2015

Elaine Pressman (Allegany County)

Carlene McDowell (Allegany County)

Plaited/braided rag rug making

2014-2015

Crystal “Cryz” Proctor (Charles County)

Lori Ann McMahon (Charles County)

Piscataway-Conoy American Indian beadwork

2014-2015

Bohusiav “Bob” Rychlik (Carol County)

Rasto Brezny (Montgomery County)

Slovakian fujara (flute)

2014-2015

Phil Wiggins (Montgomery County)

Junious Brickhouse (Prince Georges County)

Cross-harp style of country blues harmonica

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2015-2016

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2015-2016

Christopher Clayton (“DJ Karizma”) (Baltimore City)

Baronhawk Poitier Williams (Prince Georges County)

Baltimore club music – song craft (DJ’ing) and performance technique

2015-2016

Tyrome Elliott (Baltimore County)

Ryan Elliott (Baltimore City)

Quartet-style African-American gospel

2015-2016

Kuribachew “Kuri” Gebretsadik*(Montgomery County)

Eyerusalem Kidane*(Montgomery County)

Ethiopian dance*

* withdrew from grant program

2015-2016

Dennis Klima (Wicomico County)

Chris Lubas (Montgomery County)

Polish dances from the Beskid Slask region

2015-2016 Frances Mann Riale (Cecil County) Angela Porcella (Baltimore city) County and old time music on upright bass

2015-2016

Lise Lorentzen (Harford County)

Michele Fiore Wimmers (Harford County)

Rosemaling (Norwegian decorative painting)

2015-2016

Prem Raja Mahat (Baltimore City)

Roshan Pratap Rana (Montgomery County)

Nepalese murali (mountain flute)

2015-2016

George Pappas (Allegany County)

Lauren Pappas (Allegany County)

Hand-dipped Easter chocolate

2015-2016

Joung Sook Park Chae (Montgomery County)

Joseph Cho (Montgomery County)

Korean drumming (Jangoo and Buk drums)

2015-2016

Leslie Trageser and Noreen “Freddy” Herbert (Baltimore County)

Jeffery Smith (Baltimore City)

Sour beef and dumplings

2015-2016

Chu Shan Zhu (Montgomery County)

Sean Tan and Alexander Butman (Montgomery County)

Chinese Opera (sword-fight and dance techniques)

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2016-2017

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2016-2017

Ted Williams Daniels (Somerset County)

Ryan Bauer (Somerset County)

Oysterman skills

2016-2017

Dale “Simon” Dean (Calvert County)

Mitchell Lake (Calvert County)

Wild oyster harvesting techniques

2016-2017

Gary Bartz (Baltimore City)

Todd Marcus (Baltimore City)

Jazz performance techniques

2016-2017

Joung Sook Park Chae (Montgomery County)

Hyun Seub “Simon” Kim (Montgomery County)

Korean drumming

2016-2017

Phil Langley (St. Mary's County)

Joseph Martin (St. Mary's County)

Waterman skills

2016-2017

Walter Michael (Carroll County)

Robert Caswell (Carroll County)

Scottish, Irish, southern Appalachian, and New England hammered dulcimer dance music

2016-2017

Xueling Qin (Montgomery County)

Sarah Xiaoxian Xie (Montgomery County)

Beijing (Peking) Opera techniques

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2017-2018

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2017-2018

Dominic “Shodekeh” Bouma (Baltimore City)

Ian Hesford (Baltimore City)

Tuvan Xoomei (throat singing) and folk music

2017-2018

Rogelio Ernesto Gatell Coto*(Prince Georges County)

Steve Bloom*(Montgomery County)

Cuban arará (ceremonial) song cycle and bata drumming

* withdrew from grant program

2017-2018

Linda Goss (Baltimore City)

David Fakunle (Anne Arundel County)

African-American storytelling

2017-2018

Andrea Hoag (Prince Georges County)

Christopher Ousley (Prince Georges County)

Swedish fiddling

2017-2018

Mohammadreza Kazemifar (Montgomery County)

Ali Analouei (Montgomery County)

Persian music and vocal repertory

2017-2018

Chum Ngek (Montgomery County)

Suteera Nagavajara (Montgomery County)

Cambodian pin peat classical and ceremonial music

2017-2018

Anna Pasqualucci (Anne Arundel County)

Lisa Marie Penn (Worchester County)

Screen painting

2017-2018

Rich Smoker (Somerset County)

Kenny Glasgow (Somerset County)

Wildfowl decoy carving, weighting, and painting

2017-2018

Sebastian Wang (Montgomery County)

Sanghyuk Park (Howard County)

Korean samulnori (percussion) on drum and gong

2017-2018

Menes Yahudah*(Baltimore City)

Earsey Toney, Jr.*(Baltimore City)

West African djembe and dundun (percussion) orchestra

* withdrew from grant program

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2018-2019

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2018-2019

Ruben Dario Corona (Baltimore City)

Oliver Trinidad Corona (Baltimore City)

Dominican-style barbering

2018-2019

Joseph M. Kavanagh (Baltimore County)

Patrick H. Kavanagh (Baltimore County)

Localized annealing (pre-treating metal for bending work)

2018-2019

Jenny Harris (Baltimore City)

Donna Vincent Roa (Montgomery County)

A capella barbershop singing

2018-2019

James McMartin and James Beggins (Talbot County)

Mark Wiest (Talbot County)

Furniture making

2018-2019

Brenden Mulvihill (Montgomery County)

Emily Martin (Montgomery County)

Irish fiddle

2018-2019

Carolyn Rapkievian (Montgomery County)

Kristine Antanesian (Montgomery County)

Armenian dance from Anatolia region

2018-2019

Meki Toalepai (Baltimore County)

Meki Toalepai, Jr. (Baltimore County)

Tahitian drumming

2018-2019

John VanAlstine (Anne Arundel County)

Brian Middledorf (Calvert County)

Building and rigging crab pots

2018-2019

Leonard Wills (Baltimore City)

Ahmaud Chase (Baltimore City)

Arabber’s wagon restoration

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2019-2020

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2019-2020

Nuri Auger (Baltimore City)

Stacy Stube (Baltimore City)

Indonesian kebaya (garment) making

2019-2020

Rosie Bowen (Baltimore County)

Adriana Bowen Herrara (Baltimore County)

Lumbee chicken and pastry making

2019-2020

Trisha Gupta (Montgomery County)

Bonnie Gardner (Prince George's County)

Rajasthani woodblock design and fabric printing

2019-2020

Lauren Kingsland (Montgomery County)

Cathy Fink (Montgomery County)

Story quilt making

2019-2020

Donna Long (Baltimore City)

Mikela Murphy (Baltimore City)

Irish fiddling

2019-2020

Lisa Null (Montgomery County)

Peter Brice (Anne Arundel County)

British and Irish singing

2019-2020

Andrei Pidkivka (Montgomery County)

John Andrew Campion (Montgomery County)

Ukrainian sopilka (flute) playing

2019-2020

John B. Sotomayor (Prince George's County)

Crystal Rivera (Frederick County)

Puerto Rican bomba and plena percussion

2019-2020

Sylvia G. Stephens (Prince George's County)

Aya F. Majeed (Prince George's County)

Pieced quilt making

2019-2020

John VanAlstine (Anne Arundel County)

Carleigh Maness (Anne Arundel County)

Bill net and pound net making

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2020-2021

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition

2020-2021

Peter Arteaga (Montgomery County)

Pablo de Oliveira (Prince George’s County)

Cape Verdean music

2020-2021

Marquis Gasque (Anne Arundel County)

Torian Sanders (Baltimore City)

Baltimore Club music

2020-2021

Julia Gutiérrez-Rivera (Frederick County)

Xiomara Rivera (Frederick County)

Puerto Rican bomba and plena percussion and dance

2020-2021

Amadou Kouyate (Baltimore City)

Jacquelyn Clemmons (Baltimore City)

Manding (west African) music

2020-2021

Deepak Ram (Montgomery County

Nistha Raj (Montgomery County

Hindustani music

2020-2021

Gerald Rameau (Baltimore City)

Garry Aime (Baltimore City)

Haitian drumming

2020-2021

Rickie Simpkins (Prince George’s County)

Abigail Hobart (Prince George’s County)

Bluegrass fiddle

2020-2021

Rich Smoker (Somerset County)

Larry Beauchamp (Somerset County)

Decoy carving

2020-2021

Ralph Zotigh (Charles County)

Dennis Zotigh (Charles County)

Native American powwow singing

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2021-2022

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition
2021-2022 Samia Mahbub Ahmad (Montgomery County Abraar Rafi Ahmad (Montgomery County) Hindustani classical music
2021-2022 Karen Ashbrook (Montgomery County) Chao Tian (Prince George’s County) American hammered dulcimer music
2021-2022 Pablo de Oliveira (Prince George’s County) Ana Cecilia Rocha (Montgomery County) Brazilian cavaco music
2021-2022 Janice Greene (Baltimore County) Naomi Reid (Baltimore City) Black storytelling
2021-2022 Gwen Handler (Carroll County) Winnie Dreier (Baltimore County) Wool work
2021-2022 Gertie Hurley (Prince George’s County) Shannon Jordan (Prince George’s County) Black doll making
2021-2022 John Iampieri (Wicomico County) Michael Seipp (Baltimore City) Baltimore screen painting
2021-2022 Deborah Kinsey (Baltimore County) Brenda A. Lorick (Baltimore City) African American community quilt making
2021-2022 Randy Rosso (Montgomery County) Stephen Bloom (Montgomery County) Bata (Afro-Cuban) drumming
2021-2022 Darab Behnam Shabahang (Montgomery County) Mahvash Vatankhahi (Montgomery County) Persian classical vocal music
2021-2022 Kate Spanos (Prince George’s County) Becky Hill (Prince George’s County) Irish step dancing
2021-2022 Catherine Wooten (Howard County) Suzanne Coley (Baltimore County) Sharecropper-style quilting
2021-2022 Dede Wyland (Montgomery County) Jonathan Vocke (Baltimore City) Bluegrass and country vocals

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2022-2023

Year Master Arist Apprentice Artist Tradition
2022-2023 Kibibi Ajanku (Baltimore City) Jumoke Ajanku (Baltimore City West African indigo dyeing
2022-2023 Alla Borovskaia (Howard County) Milana Borovskaia (Howard County) North Caucasus wool felting
2022-2023 Nilajah Brown (Baltimore City) Efia Dalili (Baltimore County) African diasporic birthwork
2022-2023 Shanthi Chandrasekar (Montgomery County) Aishwariya Chandrasekar (Montgomery County) Tamil kolam (drawing)
2022-2023 Katherine Fahey (Baltimore City) Azaria Joseph (Baltimore City) Crankie folk puppetry
2022-2023 Linda Van Hart (Carroll County) Shannon Bernier (Frederick County) Baltimore-style botanical jewelry
2022-2023 Shanye Huang (Montgomery County) Etian Huang (Montgomery County) Chinese painted paper cutting
2022-2023 Jo Morrison (Carroll County) Lucy Duncan (Carroll County) Folk Harp
2022-2023 Luci Murphy (Montgomery County) Letitia VanSant (Baltimore City) Protest song leading
2022-2023 Darab Shabahang (Montgomery County) Reza Saidi (Montgomery County) Persian classical setar technique
2022-2023 Meki Toalepai, Sr. (Anne Arundel County) Meki Toalepai, Jr. (Anne Arundel County) Samoan fire dancing
2022-2023 Bryan Zamzow (Baltimore County) Derek Ross (Montgomery County) Folk music ear training
2022-2023 Iaroslava Zonova (Montgomery County) Ekaterina Denisova (Baltimore County) Russian drobi (folk dancing)

2022-2023 Arts Relief Folklife Apprenticeships

In 2022, the Maryland state legislature approved a nationally-unprecedented $40 million Arts Relief package addition to MSAC's annual budget to help the Maryland arts sector to begin to recover from the Covid pandemic. With part of the funding, Maryland Traditions opened the Folklife Apprenticeship for a special cycle to fund an additional 36 Apprenticeship teams during the 2022-2023 fiscal year.  

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition
2022-2023 Arts Relief Samia Ahmad (Montgomery) Abraar Ahmad (Montgomery) Hindustani classical music
2022-2023 Arts Relief Christina Allen (St. Mary’s) Abigail Greenwell (St. Mary’s) Kitchen Gardening
2022-2023 Arts Relief Kenneth Allen (Prince George’s) Woyneab Wondwossen (Prince George’s) Acoustic and electric Ethiopian music
2022-2023 Arts Relief Nuri Auger (Baltimore City) Gregory Hardy (Baltimore County) Indonesian kebaya (garment) making
2022-2023 Arts Relief Steve Bloom (Montgomery) Kevin Mott (Montgomery) Bata (Afro-Cuban) drumming
2022-2023 Arts Relief Kyna Clemons (Prince George's) Falani Spivey (Prince George's) African and African American quilting

2022-2023 Arts Relief

Anthony Coradetti (Baltimore City) Joshua Tracy (Baltimore County) Glassblowing
2022-2023 Arts Relief Antonio Edison (Baltimore City) Ari Edison (Baltimore City) Go-kart racing
2022-2023 Arts Relief Cathy Fink (Montgomery) Jess Myhre (Prince George's) American roots rhythm guitar
2022-2023 Arts Relief Lydia Martin Foy (Montgomery) Heather Pankl (Montgomery) Old time banjo
2022-2023 Arts Relief Marquis Gasque (Anne Arundel) Zachary Collins (Anne Arundel) Baltimore club music
2022-2023 Arts Relief Trisha Gupta (Montgomery) Daria Parsa (Howard) Printmaking
2022-2023 Arts Relief Gertie Hurley (Prince George’s) Domitria Vieira (Prince George’s) Tea Cake Cookie
2022-2023 Arts Relief Loretta Kelley (Montgomery) Jonathan Newton (Prince George's) Hardanger fiddle
2022-2023 Arts Relief Roxy King (Prince George's) Rebecca Hill (Prince George's) Tap dance
2022-2023 Arts Relief Kalin Kirilov (Baltimore County) Stanley Kirilov (Baltimore County) Bulgarian folk music
2022-2023 Arts Relief Spyridon Koliavasilis (Montgomery) Mark Sylvester (Montgomery) Mediterranean and Middle Eastern musics
2022-2023 Arts Relief Cathy Lamont (Montgomery) Leó Qualls (Baltimore County) Hungarian folk dance
2022-2023 Arts Relief Marcy Marxer (Montgomery) Erin Snedecor (Prince George's) Cello banjo
2022-2023 Arts Relief Omolara Williams McCallister (Baltimore City) Savannah Wade (Baltimore City) Brazilian Capoeira
2022-2023 Arts Relief Billy McComiskey (Baltimore County) Richard Osban (Baltimore City) Irish button accordion
2022-2023 Arts Relief Noah Mitchel (Baltimore City) Karen Gilat (Baltimore City) Yiddish folk song
2022-2023 Arts Relief Roman Mykyta (Anne Arundel) Caroline Anderson (Anne Arundel) Ukrainian folk-stage dance
2022-2023 Arts Relief Harry Orlove (Montgomery) Jake Fine (Carroll) Roots guitar
2022-2023 Arts Relief Leigh Pilzer (Montgomery) Gerson Lanza (Prince George’s) Tap dance music
2022-2023 Arts Relief Deepak Ram (Montgomery) Nistha Raj (Montgomery) Hindustani classical music
2022-2023 Arts Relief Rachel Rappaport (Baltimore City) Kara Harris (Baltimore City) Community cookbook compilation
2022-2023 Arts Relief Angel Rivera (Frederick) Crystal Rivera (Frederick) Pitorro (Puerto Rican rum) flavor infusing
2022-2023 Arts Relief Joel "Joelo" Cruz Sanchez (Prince George’s) Jose Lopez Vazquez (Anne Arundel) Puerto Rican plena percussion
2022-2023 Arts Relief Tatiana Sarbinska (Frederick) Amita Vempati (Baltimore City) Bulgarian folk song
2022-2023 Arts Relief Kittima Suksaichon (Prince George’s) Antiena Nguyen (Montgomery) Taksila Khim (Thai Hammered dulcimer)
2022-2023 Arts Relief Pansay Tayo (Baltimore City) Kali Merritt (Baltimore City) African birthwork
2022-2023 Arts Relief Colleen Tiefenthal (Cecil) Candy Wallace (Cecil) Rug hooking
2022-2023 Arts Relief Devon Wallace (Prince George’s) Adriana Lunamcgee (Montgomery) Hip Hop
2022-2023 Arts Relief Ryan Webb (Montgomery) Hikari Miller (Montgomery) Popping (Urban dance)
2022-2023 Arts Relief Phillip Wiggins (Montgomery) Dorothy Holley (Baltimore City) Blues harmonica

Folklife Apprenticeships, 2023-2024

Year Master Artist Apprentice Artist Tradition
2023-2024 Christina Allen (St. Mary's) Abigail Greenwell (St. Mary's) Kitchen gardening
2023-2024 Kalin Kirilov (Baltimore County) Yana Kirilova (Baltimore County) Bulgarian folk music
2023-2024 Samia Ahmad (Montgomery) Nora Ahsan (Montgomery) Hindustani classical music
2023-2024 Cathy Sonko (Washington) Oreoluwa Akinsanmi (Baltimore City) Yoruba masquerade costume design
2023-2024 Cathy Lamont (Montgomery) Leó Qualls (Baltimore County) Hungarian folk dance
2023-2024 Billy McComiskey (Baltimore County) Richard Osban (Baltimore City) Irish traditional music
2023-2024 Loretta Kelley (Montgomery) Laura Hummel (Carroll) Norwegian hardanger fiddle
2023-2024 Linda Goss (Baltimore City) Patricia Smart (Washington) Black storytelling
2023-2024 Hess Stinson (Queen Anne's) Elana Casey (Montgomery) Hoodoo healing
2023-2024 Kenneth Allen (Prince George's) Woyneab Wondwossen (Prince George's) Ethiopian k'rar
2023-2024 Paula Whaley (Baltimore City) Danyett Tucker (Baltimore County) Doll making
2023-2024 Yara Cordeiro (Montgomery) Michael Ronchon Jr. (Montgomery) Afro-Brazilian capoeira
2023-2024 Pansay Tayo (Baltimore City) Toshima Cook (Anne Arundel) African-centered birthwork practices
2023-2024 Ọmọlará McCallister (Baltimore City) Savannah Wade (Baltimore City) Afro-Brazilian capoeira
2023-2024 Pablo de Oliveira (Prince George's) Felipe de Almeida (Montgomery) Brazilian choro music