Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Maryland Traditions Archives

Related Collections

A list of materials and collections--many of them sister organizations of the Maryland Folklife Archive--with materials related to the records in Collection 116: Maryland Folklife Program.

 

1977 Neptune Plaza Concert Series Collection, AFC 1977/003, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

Includes a performance by Ola Belle Reed of Maryland.

 

Alex Kellam Collection, AFC 1077/008, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

Twenty-one 7-inch tapes of interviews, songs, and stories spoken and sung mostly by Alex Kellam, recorded primarily in Crisfield, Maryland, by George G. Carey and Carl Fleischhauer, 1977-78. The collection includes seventy pages of notes and transcriptions and fourteen pages of photocopied contact sheets of photographs of Crisfield, Kellam, and various watercraft. Kellam is a waterman, folk painter, storyteller, and insurance agent from Crisfield, Maryland. The collection includes approximately 445 photographs of Alex Kellam, Dot Kellam, decoy maker Lem Ward, landscapes, house types, copies of scrapbook photos, and copies of manuscript versions of Kellam's poems.

 

Annie Weir interview, 1978 October 7, conducted by Gerald E. Parsons and Margaret Parsons, AFC 1979/041, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

One tape containing an interview about rug hooking, religious experiences, and recipes with Annie Weir of Lonaconing, Maryland, recorded in Cumberland, Maryland, In October 1978 by Margaret B. and Gerald E. Parsons.

 

Dorothy Howard Recording Project, AFC 1951/006, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

Two tapes of songs, stories, recitations, toasts, interviews, and children's games, recorded in Frostburg, Lonaconing, Midland, and Old Town, Maryland, September through December 1949 by Dorothy Howard.

 

Draft of "Maryland Folklife Commission" bill with accompanying letter from George Simpson dated Aug 11 1970. Insert in Final Report of the Study Commission on Maryland Folklife with An Introductory Guide to Maryland Folklore and Folklife. Joseph L. Arnold Maryland Collection, Special Collections, University of Maryland, Baltimore County (Baltimore, MD).

An unusual archival inclusion, found inserted into a book. Due to the rules of the Maryland legislature, because this bill was never successfully voted out of committee, it is not included in the legislative Journal of the Proceedings. This is possibly the single copy of a proposed bill that would have established a Maryland Folklife Commission, Folklife "Hall of Records," and Maryland Folklife archivist.

 

George Carey Collection of Interviews and Narratives From Maryland and Virginia, AFC 1973/011, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

Six 10-inch tapes of field recordings of more than two hundred interviews, narratives, and oral histories with watermen and their family members recorded on the Eastern Shore of Maryland and Virginia in summer 1968 by George G. Carey. Interviews were recorded in Crisfield, Lawsonia, Cambridge, Marion, St. Stephens, Hopewell, and Fairmount, Maryland; and in Rhodes Point, Smith Island, Maryland, and Craddockville and Tangier Island, Virginia. Includes stories about oystering, fishing, crabbing, and sailing skipjacks on the Chesapeake Bay; family histories, local history, race relations; experiences and beliefs about weather; discussions about dialect and occupational words and expressions; stories about church and preachers, ghost stories, witch stories, omens, and supernatural experiences.

 

George Carey Collection of Narratives and Songs from the Eastern Shore of Maryland, AFC 1968/009, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

Four 10-inch tapes of field recordings of storytelling and interviews with watermen and others in Crisfield, Lawsonia, and Fairmount, on the eastern shore of Maryland; and in Rhodes Point, Ewell, and Tylerton harbor on Smith Island, Maryland. Includes stories about oystering, fishing, crabbing, and sailing skipjacks on the Chespeake Bay; local history; experiences and beliefs about weather; discussions about dialect and occupational words and expressions; stories about preachers, family histories, ghost stories, ghost ships, and supernatural experiences. Carey also recorded crab pickers at work and singing hymns at Tawes Crab Plant, Crisfield, Maryland. The collection includes 17 pages of notes.

 

Gerald E. Parsons, Jr. / Interview with Capt. and Mrs. Harry Jobes, AFC 1974/024, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

One 10-inch tape of an interview with Capt. Harry Jobes, decoy maker and waterfowling guide. Recorded in Aberdeen, Maryland, by Margaret B. and Gerald E. Parsons, June 18, 1974.

 

Gerald E. and Margaret Parsons / Maryland Waterman Interviews, AFC 1974/027, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

Two tapes containing narratives by Newton Downey and Bob Tucker recorded in Rock Hall, Maryland, by Margaret B. and Gerald E. Parsons, June 1974.

 

Gerald E. Parsons, Jr. Duplication Project, AFC 1975/037, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

One 10-inch tape of herblore and nursery rhymes recorded in Lonaconing, Maryland, and Keyser, West Virginia. Includes nursery rhymes by Mrs. E. R. Parsons, Keyser, West Virginia (age 90) and her great grandchildren; Herb-Lore from G. Crawford. Recorded by Gerald E. and Margaret Parsons, June 24, 1973. The collection includes three pages of fieldnotes.

 

Gerald E. Parsons and Edward Tittel Recordings of Wayson's Corners, Maryland, Tobacco Auction, AFC 1976/037, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

Two 5-inch tapes containing a tobacco auction conducted by Bob Cage from South Boston, Virginia, recorded in Wayson's Corners, Maryland, by Gerald E. Parsons and Edward Tittel, May 1976.

 

Gerald E. Parsons Interview with Robert Litzenberg, AFC 1984/032, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

Three 7-inch tapes of a discussion about railbird hunting, upland bird hunting, and waterfowling on the Upper Chesapeake, 1924-present, spoken by Robert Litzenberg. Recorded in Elkton, Maryland, by Gerald E. Parsons, September 18, 1981. The collection includes three color slides and eight pages of transcriptions.

 

Gerald E. Parsons and Zack Krieger Interview with Madison Mitchell, AFC 1978/026, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

One tape containing an interview with decoy maker Madison Mitchell. Recorded in Havre de Grace, Maryland, in May 1977 by Zack Krieger and Gerald E. Parsons.

 

Henry Glassie Collection of Ola Belle Reed and Family Recordings, AFC 1976/043, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

Eight tapes containing songs and banjo tunes by Ola Belle Reed and family of Rising Sun, Maryland, originally from the Lansing-Grassy Creek area of North Carolina, recorded in Oxford, Pennsylvania in 1966-1967 by Henry Glassie.

 

Jason T. Pate recording of Alex Campbell and Ola Belle Reed, AFC 1971/049, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

One tape containing two songs by Ola Belle Reed and Alex Campbell of Rising Sun, Maryland, originally from the Lansing-Grassy Creek area of North Carolina, recorded in Havre de Grace, Maryland, in 1950 by Jason Thomas Pate.

 

Maryland Folklife Festival, 1977, AFC 1979/064, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

Eleven 10-inch tapes containing interviews and religious music, recorded in western Maryland in July 1977 by Margaret B. and Gerald E. Parsons. Collected and donated by the Maryland Arts Council.

 

Ola Belle Reed Photograph Collection, AFC 1976/006, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

Sixty-four photographs of Country and Western singers active in southeastern Pennsylvania and northeastern Maryland in the late 1930s and early 1940s.

 

Series 2.1-2.4 and 6.2. Smithsonian Folklife Festival records: 1972 Festival of American Folklife. Ralph Rinzler Folklife Archives and Collections, Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage (Washington, DC).

Contains field research materials on Maryland tradition bearers created in 1971-72 for the 1972 Smithsonian Festival of American Folklife. This field research became the seed for several state-sponsored folklife field research projects beginning in 1974.

 

University of Maryland Folklore Archive Collection, AFC 1974/024, American Folklife Center, Library of Congress (Washington, DC).

Thirteen 10-inch tapes of student collections from the University of Maryland, under the supervision of George G. Carey, 1967-1970. Recorded in Maryland, Washington, DC, Pennsylvania, West Virginia. Includes urban folklore, Pennsylvania Dutch traditions, mining folklore, Rhodesian folk tales, ghost tales, children's rhymes, Irish folklore, rugby songs, songs by Flora Molton, Girl Scout songs, college songs, etc. The collection includes 2 1/2 linear inches of logs and notes.