Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Maryland Traditions Archives

Field Research Materials in the Maryland Folklife Archive

The Maryland Folklife Archive contains a large number of field research materials in a variety of physical and digital formats, including field notes and reports, audio and video recordings, photos, contact sheets, and slides. Field research has been conducted by state folklorists and contract folklorists since 1967.

Fieldwork in Collection 116

Collection 116: Maryland Folklife Program contains some 880 field research items, featuring field notes and reports, audio and video recordings, photos, contact sheets, and slides. Highlights include:

Dates

Research

Researcher/Source

Collection Location

1967-1970

Folk Medicines and Folk Beliefs

Students of George Carey

Coll 116, series II.B

1970s-1990s

Baltimore Arabber Street Sellers

Roland L. Freeman

Coll 116, Box 3, Folders 1-2

1974

Black Craftsmen Survey

Gladys-Marie Fry

Coll 116, box 1, folder 52

1974

Maryland Folklife Survey

George Carey

Coll 116, box 2, folders 3-9

1974-1975

Women's Craft Survey

Gerri Johnson

Coll 116, box 1, folder 53

1975

Baltimore City Ethnic Folklife Survey

Millie Rahn

Coll 116, box 1, folder 55, & Coll116_AV0011 through Coll116_AV0016

1975

The Folk Way Film Footage

Maryland Center for Public Broadcasting

Coll116_AV0115 through Coll116-AV0204

1975-1980

Maryland Folklife Festivals: Documentation

Multiple field researchers

Coll 116, subseries I.C

1975-1980

Maryland Folklife Festivals: Preparatory Fieldwork

Multiple field researchers

Coll 116, subseries I.A

1983-1984

Swan Meadow School, Garrett County

Charles Camp

Coll116_AV0247 through Coll116_AV0249

1984-1995

Baltimore City Markets

Jane Strausbaugh

Coll 116, box 9-10, & Coll116_AV0010, Coll116_AV0012, Coll116_AV0014 through Coll116_AV0017, Coll116_AV0217 through Coll 116_AV0232, Coll116_AV0236 through Coll116_AV0243

1987-1991

Eastern and Western Shore Praying and Singing Bands

Charles Camp

Coll116_AV0244 through Coll116_AV0246

 

Note: State-sponsored folklife research in Maryland derives from research first conducted at the federal level. In 1971-72, fourteen researchers hired by the Smithsonian Institute in Washington, DC, conducted field research with 135 Maryland-based tradition bearers of water, metal, horse, craft, and music traditions. This fieldwork laid the groundwork to feature the state in the 1972 Smithsonian Folklife Festival, and can be accessed in the Smithsonian's Ralph Rinzler Archives.

Fieldwork in Collection 120

Collection 120: Maryland Traditions contains many field research items, primarily in digital formats. This collection is currently undergoing processing. Select highlights include:

Dates

Research

Researcher/Source

Collection Location

2000s

Musical Heritage of West Baltimore

Harold Anderson

Coll 120

2001-2003

Eastern Shore Folklife Survey

Kelly Feltault

Coll 120

2002

Carroll County Traditional Arts Survey

Catherine Hiebert Kerst

Coll 120

2002

Washington County Traditional Arts Survey

Steve Warrick

Coll 120

2002-2004

Southern Maryland Folklife Project

Carrie Nobel Kline and Michael Kline

Coll 120

2005-present

Western Maryland Folklife

Kara Rogers-Thomas

Coll 120

2006

Maryland Traditions Irish Project

Peter Brice and Sean McComiskey

Coll 120

2006-2010

Montgomery County Traditions Project

Mark Puryear and Jason Morris

Coll 120

2007-present

ALTA/Heritage Award Field Research Materials

Multiple field researchers

Coll 120

2008-2009

Arts of Praise: African American Faith Performance in Prince George's County

Harold Anderson

Coll 120

2011-present

Maryland Traditions Folklife Festivals

Multiple field researchers

Coll 120

2013-present

Sandy Spring Folklife Survey

Emily Hilliard

Coll 120