Research Guides: ART 430: Typography III: Find Images &amp; Videos

Images and Videos

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library is an online resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
To use the full functionality of the Artstor Digital Library you must be logged in through the library website and have created a personal account.
-The basic/advanced search on the Artstor homepage searches the Artstor Digital Library and Public Collections [we have no institutional collections]
-You do not need a personal account to search but you do need it to save images.
-Your saved images will appear in Personal Collections, you will have to login to retrieve/view your images.
-Images saved for a class or presentation can be shared in Groups. Anybody with a personal account can create a Group (you will see UMBC examples when you click on Groups)
Additional Help
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes over 130,000 images.

AIGA Design Archives
The AIGA archives and special collections serve to identify, preserve, and make collections of enduring value available to the public. With more than 20,000 selections dating back to 1924, the AIGA Design Archives is a vital record of all disciplines of communication design.
Museums of Typography
This listing includes worldwide typography museums, many with digital collections. It is compiled by the TeX Users Group (TUG), a membership-based not-for-profit organization founded in 1980, for those who are interested in typography and font design.
British Library Images Online
Images Online is the Picture library of the British Library, the national library of the United Kingdom.
Google Arts and Culture
Google Arts & Culture is an online platform through which the public can view high-resolution images and videos of artworks and cultural artifacts from partner cultural organizations throughout the world.
J. Paul Getty Museum Collection Online
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Access to nearly 1.2 million images in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress
NYPL Digital Collections
Explore 895,772 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

There are a growing number of streaming media resources for art films. Here are a few of them. For more streaming video resources please check our Streaming Video Resources list.

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

UBU Web
Provides access to rare and difficult to obtain video and audio works from artists and poets.
Typostrate
Typography video channel on Vimeo.

Below is a list of streaming videos recommended by your professor.

Type: Off Book
Type is everywhere. Every print publication, website, movie, advertisement and public message involves the creation or selection of a fitting typeface. Online, a rich and artistic typographical culture exists, where typefaces are created and graphic design seeps in to every image. This PBS Off Book segment shares the many kinds of type available.
Upside Down, Left to Right: A Letterpress Film
A short film about letterpress and one of the few remaining movable-type printing workshops in the UK, situated at Plymouth University, featuring Paul Collier.
AIGA Artist Series by Hillman Curtis
From 2005-07 AIGA Medalist Hillman Curtis directed and edited the “Artist Series,” a collection of short videos about some of the most inspiring and talented designers working today.
Behind the Typeface: Cooper Black by Cheshire Isaacs
A mockumentary about the rise, fall, and redemption of one of the world's most famous typefaces. Images used with permission and/or public domain. Music used with permission.
PressPausePlay by David Dworksy and Victor Köhler
The digital revolution of the last decade has unleashed creativity and talent in an unprecedented way, with unlimited opportunities. But does democratized culture mean better art or is true talent instead drowned out? This is the question addressed by PressPausePlay, a documentary film containing interviews with some of the world's most influential creators of the digital era.

To Inform and Delight: The Work of Milton Glaser by Wendy Keys
Call Number: UMDVD 5755
Publication Date: 2008
Best known for co-founding New York Magazine and creating the enduring I (heart) NY campaign, the full breadth of Glaser's remarkable artistic output is revealed in this documentary portrait.
Linotype: The Film by Douglas Wilson
Call Number: UMDVD 7133
Publication Date: 2012
Linotype: The Film is a feature-length documentary centered around the Linotype type casting machine. Called the "Eighth Wonder of the World" by Thomas Edison, it revolutionized printing and society. The film tells the charming and emotional story of the people connected to the Linotype and how it impacted the world.
Helvetica by Gary Hustwit
Call Number: UMDVD 3644
Publication Date: 2007
A documentary about typography, graphic design and global visual culture, which looks at the proliferation of one typeface as part of a larger conversation about the way type affects our lives.
Why Man Creates by Saul Bass
Call Number: UMDVD 3713
Publication Date: 2003
A series of explorations, episodes and comments on creativity by Saul Bass, a master of conceptual design, this film is one of the most highly regarded short films ever produced.
Bauhaus: The Face of the 20th Century by Frank Whitford and Julia Cave
Call Number: UMDVD 3944
Publication Date: 2004
Looks at the development of the Bauhaus and at the key figures involved in it, including the founder Walter Gropius, his successor Mies van der Rohe, Lásló Moholy-Nagy and Josef Albers. The program also sets the history of the Bauhaus in the context of the political unrest and economic chaos of the Weimar Republic in Germany.
Beautiful Losers by Aaron Rose
Call Number: UMDVD 5542
Publication Date: 2009
A heartening documentary about a loose-knit group of like-minded outsiders--young artists rooted in urban street cultures and underground scenes like skateboarding, graffiti, hip-hop and punk rock--who came together at a little storefront gallery in New York in the 1990s to make work that spoke to themselves and their friends, with little thought of the market. Companion to the now-classic book and show of the same name, Beautiful Losers features Shepard Fairey, Mark Gonzales, Spike Jonze, Margaret Kilgallen, Mike Mills, Barry McGee, Phil Frost, Chris Johanson, Harmony Korine and Ed Templeton.

ART 430: Typography III

Images and Videos

Search & Find

Using the Library

Research Help

About AOK

Special Collections & Gallery