ART 430: Typography III

A visual history of fonts and graphic styles: volume 2 This book offers a connoisseur's overview of typeface design, exploring the most elegant fonts from the history of publishing. Taken from a distinguished Dutch collection, this exuberant two-volume edition traces the evolution of the printed letter via exquisitely designed catalogs, showing type specimens in roman, italic, bold, semi-bold, narrow, and broad fonts. Borders, ornaments, initial letters and decorations are also included, along with lithographic examples, letters by signwriters, inscription carvers, and calligraphers. Featuring works by type designers including: William Caslon, Fritz Helmuth Ehmcke, Peter Behrens, Rudolf Koch, Eric Gill, Jan van Krimpen, Paul Renner, Jan Tschichold, A. M. Cassandre, Aldo Novarese, and Adrian Frutiger. In order to accommodate a vast amount of material, we have divided this text into two volumes. This, the second volume, covers the period from 1900 to the mid-20th century, and contains a historical outline by Alston W. Purvis. Includes exclusive access with TASCHEN keycard to online image library: over 1400 high-resolution scans of type specimens downloadable for unrestricted use:

This work explores the art of typography from the dawn of printing to the twentieth century. By tracing the development of type design, Updike discusses the importance of each historic period and the lessons it contains. The original two-volume set has been combined into one hardbound book containing the original 367 typographical illustrations selected from rare and beautiful books. In Volume I, Mr. Updike discusses the Latin alphabet, the invention of printing, the cutting and casting of types, fifteenth-century types in Germany, Italy, France, Spain, and England as well as German, Italian, and French types of the sixteenth, seventeenth, and eighteenth centuries. Volume II continues the discussion of types to the beginning of the nineteenth century and then describes American types and nineteenth-century types in general. This work is the third edition, reprinted with new introduction by Martin Hutner. Co-published with The British Library. Over 367 typographical illustrations

If you're searching for a font that goes beyond ho-hum, this book is for you. Today's computers provide a selection of fonts that serve reasonably well for workaday letters and publications, but have become utterly boring from overuse. If you want your project to attract the reader's attention, you need an original font. Indie Fonts provides a showcase collection of over 1600 diverse fonts from today's hottest digital type foundries and features the best work of these designers. Indie Fonts will help readers find some of the highest quality fonts available today. The type styles range from the best of Matthew Carter's classic designs to the latest irreverence of ingoFonts. Designers searching for unique typefaces will find what they are looking for, whether historical revivals or futuristic techno faces.

Typography, Referenced is the single most comprehensive volume covering every aspect of typography that any design student, professional designer, or design aficionado needs to know today. In these pages, you'll find: --Thousands of illustrated examples of contemporary usage in design --Historical developments from Greek lapidary letters to the movie Helvetica --Landmark designs turning single letters into typefaces --Definitions of essential type-specific language, terms, ideas, principles, and processes --Ways technology has influenced and advanced type --The future of type on the web, mobile devices, tablets, and beyond In short, Typography, Referenced is the ultimate source of typographic information and inspiration, documenting and chronicling the full scope of essential typographic knowledge and design from the beginnings of moveable type to the present "golden age" of typography.

This completely revised and updated version of Typography Essentials: 100 Design Principles for Working with Type is a hands-on resource, organizing the many complex choices surrounding the effective use of typography.

Explore the fundamentals of typography with this practical new guide. An instructional reader rather than historical survey, Design Elements: Typography Fundamentals uses well-founded, guiding principles to teach the language of type and how to use it capably. Designers are left with a solid ground on which to design with type. Limitless potential for meaningful and creative communication exists--this is the field guide for the journey!

Beautifully illustrated, this book presents images from leading designers who use fonts, lettering, illustrations and digital media in all fields of the visual arts, including web design, logo design and branding. Geared towards helping you evolve different typographic styles, The Typography Idea Book contains none of the technical jargon or tired old rules found in traditional tutorials but is packed with practical techniques and iconic examples.

Type, Form, and Function is a useful, comprehensive typography resource that both students and professional designers should have in their library. It looks at the influences of modern typography and symbols going back through time and examines certain type treatments and movements in design and logo types. It focuses on how type works and emphasizes typographic fundamentals, while touching on logo/logotype design and page layout (print and interactive).