Research Guides: English: Find Books/Ebooks

Find Books, Ebooks, and More

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Full Text
The EBSCOhost eBook collection includes all e-books available through EBSCO. The database format offers an alternative to the library catalog for searching this specific collection.
WorldCat UMBC This link opens in a new window
Search for books, CDs, DVDs, and journal articles all at the same time (items available at UMBC will appear at the top of the list). WorldCat UMBC searches for books, CDs and DVDs in library catalogs worldwide while also searching for journal articles in several article databases, including ArticleFirst, ERIC, MEDLINE, and more. Some features are restricted to current UMBC students, faculty and staff only.
Early Modern Books (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Early Modern Books covers material from the British Isles and Europe for the period 1450-1700. An integrated search across both Early English Books Online and Early European Books allows scholars to view materials from over 225 source libraries worldwide.
Early English Books Online (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library offers online access to reference sources including encyclopedias, almanacs, series and more. UMBC titles cover biography, business, law, public health, economic history, and multicultural studies.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Access to over 300 reference works - in a single cross-searchable resource. Includes language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, and business. Select 'unlocked' and 'free' resources in availability for full access to content.

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Indexes and abstracts dissertations and theses primarily from the U.S and Canada, some international; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full text available for dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available as PDFs. (Online version of Dissertation Abstracts from UMI)
Dissertations & Theses @ UMBC (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Provides access to the citations and abstracts and some full text of dissertations and theses from UMBC graduate students. In addition to citations and abstracts, the service provides access to 24 page previews and the full text for dissertations produced 1991-.

International Dissertations & Theses

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) This link opens in a new window
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Also includes links to other useful ETD search tools.