History

Provides biographical information on 600,000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. Also provides selected primary sources, academic articles, and related news.

Coverage: c.975-
American National Biography [ANB] offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. The online edition of the ANB is updated quarterly with additions and revisions.

Coverage: earliest - 2002
The Oxford DNB includeds the complete text of 55,000 biogrphies with 10,000 portrait illustrations of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2002

Coverage: 1770-
This thoroughly revised five-volume reference work, available both in print and electronic editions, reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition (a single one-time purchase!) will permit users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.

IHS is a collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes 260 years of rich data, collected between 1750-2010 on the Americas and Europe, Africa, Asia and Oceania. It is a valuable resource to those researching and studying Business, Economics, Environmental Studies, Geography, History, Politics, Sociology and Statistical Studies. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.