Local History Resources

At the Enoch Pratt Free Library.

"This database contains issues of the Baltimore Sun from May 1837 up to February 1901.The database is easy to search and contains images of the actual Sun Paper as it appeared on the date of publication." Requires EPFL account. Also available through the Baltimore County Public Library.

"Since 1979, the Maryland State Archives has cooperated with concerned individuals, historical agencies, libraries, and newspaper publishers in a project that has microfilmed and scanned nearly 300 Maryland newspapers representing over two million pages." From the Maryland State Archives.

From the Enoch Pratt Free Library (may require EPFL account for access)

At the Jewish Museum of Maryland.

A newspaper clippings service initiated by the Maryland Legislative Library in the 1980's for legislators and staff. The publication schedule for the Clipper is daily during the session and weekly during the interim. Currently, staff reviews the major daily newspapers in Maryland, selected Maryland regional weeklies, as well as the Washington Post, Washington Times, Daily Record, Baltimore Business Journal, Washington Business Journal, and Wall Street Journal. Individual issues collated and arranged by topic.
Holdings: 1988- current UMBC Maryland Documents Collection: Serials
AOK Library Lower Level Range 13.

Not including Baltimore City. From the Enoch Pratt Free Library.

"The Original Newspaper Collection has a growing collection of newspaper titles. The majority of the newspapers date from the 19th and 20th centuries; however, a select few date back to the 18th century. Many of the newspapers were published in Baltimore, but other regional papers do appear in this collection." From the University of Maryland, College Park