Research Guides: Government Information: Legislative Branch

Congressional Analysis

House and Senate Roll Call Votes
Coverage: 1989-current
House and Senate bills with roll call votes. Includes links to summaries, full-text and related bills. 101st Congress to current session
OpenSecrets.org from the Center For Responsive Politics
The Center for Responsive Politics is a non-partisan, non-profit research group based in Washington, D.C. that tracks money in politics, and its effect on elections and public policy. Campaign finance issues, PACS information, debate info, more.

Congressional Resources

Congressional Directories - Current and past
Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress. It includes
Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, committee memberships, terms of service, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress. It also lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies.
Congress.gov
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Includes information about House and Senate members, committees, legislation, reports, and nominations.
Federal Goverment: Legislative Branch
Coverage: current
The Legislative Branch includes the Senate and the House of Representatives, supported by 12 agencies. Information on current House and Senate members, current legislation and voting are available here along with supplementary training material.
United States Code
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
Congressional Record (daily)
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. FDsys contains Congressional record volumes from 140 (1994) to the present. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.
Congressional Record (Bound Edition)
The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. At the end of each session of Congress, all of the daily editions are collected, re-paginated, and re-indexed into the Congressional Record (Bound Edition).
United States Senate
Coverage: Full Text
Primary website of the Senate, including current senators, voting satistics, nominations, sessions of Congress, FAQs, more.
United States House of Representatives
Primary webpage of the House of Representatives, including current office holders, legislation, voting histories, directories, educational resources, legislative archive

Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Provides indexing and some full text for Congressional hearings, legislation, public laws, and legal research. Includes congressional publications, legislative histories (1970-present), and bills. Contains the US Code, voting records, congressional documents, the Congressional Record,the Federal Register (1980 - present) and the CFR. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional)

GovTrack
Use GovTrack to track bills in Congress or to research pending legislation.
Congress.org
Coverage: varies
Directory of congressional members (House and Senate) and their committee assignments, biographical information and contact information.
FDsys: America's Authentic Government Information
A comprehensive guide and access to the major areas of legislation: Senate and House calendars, history of bills, congressional reports, committee prints, copies of signed bills, more.
Congressioinal Globe
Precedes the Congressonal Record, contains the debates and proceedings of Congress, 1833-1873.

Government Information

Quick Links

Your Librarian

Congressional Analysis

Congressional Resources

Search & Find

Using the Library

Research Help

About AOK

Special Collections & Gallery