Government Information

Coverage: 1878-2012
Basic summary statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S., various regions, the states, MSAs, and cities of 100,000 or more residents. Also includes historical statistics under \Earlier Editions.\""

The American Community Survey helps local officials, community leaders and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed information about the American people and workforce.

The data books consist of several datasets that include economic, demographic, governmental, and electoral data for diverse areas such as regions, counties, individual states, census divisions, cities, Standard Metropolitan Statistical Areas (SMSAs), Standard Federal Administrative Regions, and incorporated and non-incorporated places with over 25,000 inhabitants, in the entire United States.

Coverage: current
Search for online statistical publications from more than 100 agencies in the US Federal Government.

The portal page for all of the CDC's data collection and statistics projects.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

Coverage: current
Select FASTATS, Data Warehouse, or Frequently Asked Questions for quick access to the most-requested data. Source citations are included.

Online version of annual publication. Also known as Crime in the United States. Special sections on hate crime and terrorism in the US. include statistics on arrests for various criminal offenses at the national, regional and state level. Statistics for years before 1995 are available through the ICPSR Archive. Print version in Lower Level GovDocs, call# J1.14/7:

Annual reports (1890-2003) that present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce. These reports are available for download. Also includes more recent statistics under 'e-stats'.

Coverage: 1994-
STATS monitors the media to expose the abuse of science and statistics before people are misled and public policy is distorted. Present focus is on the following policy areas: education, children, drug use, public health, polls & surveys, gender, crime.