Research Guides: HIST/RLST 255: Find Reference Sources

Find Encyclopedias and Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Classics This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Index Only
Provides overviews, definitions, and citations to works on classical topics.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Medieval Studies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies offer item level overviews and references to important works. OBO Medieval studies explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries through topics including history, literature, art, archaeology, religion, and gender studies among others.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Histories Online offers online accessibility to full text titles for any type of historical research or study of a subject that has an historical element. Includes all the latest editions of the print series with automatic updates.
New Pauly Online This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Full Text
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World Online features the complete sets of Brill's New Pauly (in English) and Metzler's Der Neue Pauly (in German). The online version includes both sets of the print edition: Antiquity (factual articles on topics of ancient Greece, Rome and the greater Mediterranean world) and Classical Tradition (historical and contemporary scholarship on the influence of the Classical world).

Database of Religious History
Encyclopedia of religious and cultural history, a flagship initiative based at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver and involving experts from around the world. "The DRH is designed to serve as a centralized clearinghouse for scholarly knowledge of the historical record, bringing together a core of quantified, standardized data with qualitative comments, references to crucial resources, and links to on-line text and image databases."