Historical Newspapers & Magazines

UMBC subscribes to two online historical newspapers and one popular historical magazine collection. Additional historical newspapers (to 1922) are available online from the Library of Congress and on microfilm (see Primary Source Collections - Microfilm).

Contemporary scholarly articles ( not from popular magazines) can be found in the database JSTOR.

New York Times Historical (1851-2010) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Full Text
New York Times full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1851-2001. Includes indexing and abstracting of the newspaper with fully searchable text back to the first issue.
Baltimore Sun Historical (1837-1989) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Baltimore Sun full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1837-1989. Includes indexing and abstracting of the newspaper with fully searchable text.
American Periodicals (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1740-1941. Titles include 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800; 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras; general interest magazines, children's publications, and more than 20 journals for women.
AAS Historical Periodicals Thematic Subset Collection (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
The AAS Historical Publications Thematic subset includes 50 series of primary source titles across nine major areas from Agriculture to Women's Studies. Basic searching is across all titles in the collection and Individual collection links are available.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (1770-1963)
Coverage: 1770-1963
Chronicling America allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1770-1963 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Baltimore Afro-American Historical (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Provides historical access (1893-2010) to this Black newspaper with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Content, includes articles, obituaries, photos, editorials, and more.
Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-2000) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1899-2000. Includes indexing and abstracting of the newspaper with fully searchable text back to the first issue.
Washington Post Historical (1877-2001) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Washington Post full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1877-2001. Includes indexing and abstracting of the newspaper with fully searchable text back to the first issue.

Primary Sources

Quick Links

Historical Newspapers & Magazines

Search & Find

Using the Library

Research Help

About AOK

Special Collections & Gallery