Research Guides: HIST 497: Pandemics: Articles:Primary &amp; Secondary sources

Scholarly articles (Secondary sources)

In all of the databases listed, "pandemic' and 'epidemic' can be used as keywords or subject terms and can be narrowed down by adding time periods or locations or both. ex. pandemic AND 19th century , pandemic AND rome AND antiquity. The OneSearch article search will search across multiple databases.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Historical Abstracts indexes journals covering world history from 1450 to the present (for the United States and Canada use America: History & Life). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.
America : History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America (US and Canada) from antiquity to the present. Includes articles, book reviews, links to full text sources.
Medline (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
MEDLINE provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
PubMed (Free Medline) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Index Only
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes peer-reviewed articles, case reports, clinical trials, and much more. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Contemporary Articles (primary sources): popular magazines, newspapers

Historical Magazines & Newspapers : particularly useful for 19th and 20th c. topics or movements in the U.S. or worldwide from an American perspective.

American Periodicals (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1740-1941. Titles include 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800; 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras; general interest magazines, children's publications, and more than 20 journals for women.

Alternative Medicine and Health, 1810-1877
Subset of primary source periodicals from the AAS collection.
American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877
Subset of primary source periodicals from the AAS collection.

Baltimore Afro-American Historical (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Provides historical access (1893-2010) to this Black newspaper with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Content, includes articles, obituaries, photos, editorials, and more.
Baltimore Sun Historical (1837-1989) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Baltimore Sun full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1837-1989. Includes indexing and abstracting of the newspaper with fully searchable text.
New York Times Historical (1851-2010) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Full Text
New York Times full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1851-2001. Includes indexing and abstracting of the newspaper with fully searchable text back to the first issue.
Washington Post Historical (1877-2001) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Washington Post full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1877-2001. Includes indexing and abstracting of the newspaper with fully searchable text back to the first issue.

AOK Library Article OneSearch (general article search mulitple databases)

Use this link to search many databases at once. This is useful for doing very broad searches.

HIST 497: Pandemics

Scholarly articles (Secondary sources)

Contemporary Articles (primary sources): popular magazines, newspapers

AOK Library Article OneSearch (general article search mulitple databases)

Search & Find

Using the Library

Research Help

About AOK

Special Collections & Gallery