Research Guides: HIST 497: Pandemics: Background info: Reference resources

Topic overviews, biography, definitions, more

A selective list of reference resources to explore events, individuals, and conditions. Entries have references and/or additional suggested readings.

Encyclopedia of Plague and Pestilence: From Ancient Times to the Present (Facts on File, 2008)
Encyclopedia of Pestilence, Pandemics, and Plagues (Greenwood, 2008)
Infectious Diseases (2nd. ed. Gale, 2018)
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology (Sage, 2008)
Encyclopedia of AIDS : A Social, Political, Cultural, and Scientific Record of the HIV Epidemic (Fitzroy, 1998)
Handbook of Disease Outbreaks : Prevention, Detection and Control (Nova Sci, 2010)
Gale encyclopedia of public health (Gale, 2013)

Reference/Research Databases [multiple titles: background information, biography, geography, additional references]

Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on broad issues such as war, terrorism, human rights, poverty, globalization, world trade, and global warming, as well as specific events and topics related to these broad topics. Includes articles and multimedia.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Topics covered in the Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Access to over 300 reference works - in a single cross-searchable resource. Includes language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, and business. Select 'unlocked' and 'free' resources in availability for full access to content.
SAGE Knowledge (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to social science books, videos, handbooks, encyclopedias, and dictionaries.

HIST 497: Pandemics

Your Librarian

Topic overviews, biography, definitions, more

Search & Find

Using the Library

Research Help

About AOK

Special Collections & Gallery