HIST 496: Protest, Unrest, and Change in American History

Additional resources: Digital Collections related to specific events/incidents in the history of Protest, Unrest, and Change in American History / Online / At UMBC and elsewhere (this is a sample selection.)
​​​​​​

• Anna E. Dickinson Papers; 1859-1951 : Library of Congress

• Blackwell Family Papers; Suffrage, 1759-1960 : Library of Congress

• Black Women's Suffrage : Digital Public Library of America

• Carrie Chapman Catt Papers, Suffrage; 1848-1950 :  Library of Congress

• Clara Barton Papers; 1861-1912 : Library of Congress

• Densho Archives : [Japanese immigration and detention] - Japanese American Detention Project

• Documenting the American South : UNC Chapel Hill

• Elizabeth Cady Stanton Papers; Suffrage, 1814-1946 : Library of Congress 

• Environmental Preservation in the Progressive Era; environmentalism, reform : Digital Public Library of America 

• Frederick Douglass Papers; reform, African American activism, 1841-1964 : Library of Congress

• Frederick Law Olmstead Papers; environmentalism, conservation, reform, 1777-1952 : Library of Congress

• Histories of Violence Collective : [the Collective]

• Immigration and Americanization, 1880-1930 :  Digital Public Library of America

• Indigenous Digital Archive : Museum of Indian Arts & Culture, NM

• John Carvel Arnold Papers; Civil War, unrest, change, 1856-1937 : Library of Congress

• Mary Church Terrell Papers; Suffrage, 1851-1962 : Library of Congress

• NAACP photographs of anti-lynching campaign activities and victims of beatings and lynchings : Library of Congress

• National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection; Suffrage, 1890-1938 : Library of Congress

• National American Woman Suffrage Association Records; Suffrage, 1839-1961 : Library of Congress

• National Child Labor Committee Collection, Child Labor Reform; 1908-1924 : Library of Congress

• National Woman’s Party : Library of Congress

• Peace Movement : Swarthmore College

• Reservations, Resistance, and the Indian Reorganization Act, 1900-1940; reform : Digital Public Library of America

• Susan B. Anthony Papers; Suffrage, 1846-1934 : Library of Congress 

• The 1919 Race Riots: Digital Collections for the Classroom : [Newberry Library]

• The 1940s: Sleepy Lagoon & Zoot Suit Riots  : Christopher Newport University

• The Gilded Age and the Progressive Era: A Digital Primary Source Guide : U.S. History Scene

• Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire : Cornell University Library

• Tulsa Race Massacre of 1921 : Digital Collections - Oklahoma State University

• Tulsa Race Riot : Oklahoma Digital Prairie

• Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party; Suffrage, 1875-1938 : Library of Congress

• Women’s Suffrage Digital Collections : [multiple files] Iowa State University

• Women’s Suffrage in Sheet Music; Suffrage, 1838-1923 : Library of Congress

• Baltimore ‘68 : University of Baltimore

•  Bracero History Archive : George Mason / Smithsonian / Brown University

• Civil Rights History Project : Library of Congress

• Protest against the Vietnam War : McMaster University 

• Protest against the Vietnam War at UMD, College Park : University of MD, College Park

• Protest at UMBC : UMBC Library