Skip to Main Content

UMBC

Albin O. Kuhn Library & Gallery

Africana Studies

Quick Links

Your Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

sullivan@umbc.edu

Subjects: Africana Studies, Aging Studies & Gerontology, Ancient Studies, Asian Studies, Global Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Social Work

Background Reading and Topic Development

Take a look at the Library's guides on choosing a topic and the research process to help you get started. Explore a topic in the resources below.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on national and international topics, including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on broad issues such as war, terrorism, human rights, poverty, globalization, world trade, and global warming, as well as specific events and topics related to these broad topics. Includes articles and multimedia.

More Resources to Help You Get Started

Best Bets for Africana Studies Research
Explore Other Research Guides

Black Studies Center (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
The Black Studies Center (1893-) consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and the full-text of The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Full Text
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to Arts & Science I - XV; Health & General Science; Ecology & Botany; and Life Sciences.

Because of the interdisciplinary nature of Africana Studies, you may want to review additional research guides:

Last Updated: Feb 28, 2023 9:48 AM
URL: https://lib.guides.umbc.edu/afst
Print Page

Subjects: Africana Studies

Tags: Africana Studies

Special Collections & Gallery