Language, Literacy, and Culture

In 1980, SAGE published Geert Hofstede's Culture's Consequences. This new SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence picks up on themes explored in that book. Cultural competence refers to the set of attitudes, practices, and policies that enables a person or agency to work well with people from differing cultural groups.

Competence in communicating across cultures is a prerequisite for success in today's fast-changing global community. In Intercultural Communication, the authors draw on their intercultural experience to show us how to build successful communication bridges across diverse cultures. The book explores various theoretical positions on global communication ethics and norms by providing an overview of the contemporary socio-cultural situation and seeking ways in which common ground may be found between these different positions.

This newly revised edition is both a lively introduction and practical guide to the main concepts and challenges of intercultural communication. Grounded in interactional sociolinguistics and discourse analysis, this work integrates theoretical principles and methodological advice, presenting students, researchers, and practitioners with a comprehensive and unified resource.  Features new original theory, expanded treatment of generations, gender and corporate and professional discourse.

This book provides readers with in-depth information on the various linguistic, cultural, technological, legal, and other factors that affect interactions in online exchanges within the global age.

Communicating Across Cultures at Work, 2nd edition examines intercultural communication in the workplace. Firmly grounded in theory, it offers practical suggestions on how people can develop cultural awareness and communication skills to enable greater understanding and appreciation of those from different backgrounds.

Uses case studies and illustrations to provide tips for working effectively with international clients, customers, and business partners. Readers learn to define their own cultural style in six vital areas: managements, strategy, planning, personal communication, and reasoning. Though not strictly a textbook, it is commonly used as a text in internationally-focused courses and cross-cultural programs.

Intercultural Management MBA Masterclass covers all the need-to-know topics, including: organizational structure; communications; core values; strategy; knowledge management; conflict resolution; expatriate management.Full of questions and discussion topics and the most up-to-date case studies, Intercultural Management MBA Masterclass is a practical and authoritative guide for students and practising managers.

In today's global economy, the ability to interact effectively across cultures is a fundamental job requirement for just about everyone. But it's impossible to learn the customs and traits of every single culture. David Thomas and Kerr Inkson present a universal set of techniques and people skills that will allow you to adapt quickly to, and thrive in, any cultural environment.

This book addresses key issues in intercultural communication including: the positive contribution of people from diverse cultural backgrounds the politics of Self and Other which promote negative stereotyping the basis for a bottom-up approach to globalization in which Periphery cultural realities can gain voice and ownership Written by a key researcher in the field, this book presents cutting edge research and a framework for analysis which will make it essential reading for upper undergraduate and postgraduate students studying intercultural communication and professionals in the field.

Cross-Cultural Research Methods in Psychology provides state-of-the-art knowledge about the methodological problems that need to be addressed if a researcher is to conduct valid and reliable cross-cultural research. It also offers practical advice and examples of solutions to those problems and is a must-read for any student of culture.

This new, thoroughly revised edition of the acclaimed Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language incorporates the major developments in language study which have taken place since the mid 1990s. Two main new areas have been added: the rise of electronic communication in all its current forms from email to texting, and the crisis affecting the world's languages, of which half are thought to be so seriously endangered that they will die out this century.

This work of articles on both high and canonical culture which extend the purview to popular culture to symbolic practice and production that identifies the German-speaking peoples. While the coverage is from 1945 to present, entries include coverage that is prior to the end of World War II in order to make clear contemporary topics and the influence of that time on the now presentation of topics under discussion.

The time frame covered in this work is from 1939 to present. Catalan, Galacian and Basque languages and culture are covered as well as those of Spain. Entries are included for architecture, cinema, the economy, education, fashion food and dirnk, gay culture, intellectual life, language, literature, the media, music, politics, religion, society, sport and youth culture. Cross references and see also references are provided to these signed articles along with a bibliography for further reading.

This work of essay texts, both short and long include art, cinema, economic issues, education, food and wine, intellectual life, linguistic issues, literature, media, music, performing arts, politics and society, transport and technology. This analysis ranges from the end of World War II (some material pre-dates 1945) to present day. Further readings are provided with some annotations of materials to be found elsewhere. Articles are cross-referenced.