Research Guides: Political Science: Find International Government

International Resources

The World Factbook
Provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Updated continuously.

Statistical Yearbook. Annuaire Statistique. by United Nations
Publication Date: 2022 and earlier editions
An annual compilation of a wide range of international economic, social and environmental statistics on over 200 countries and areas.
Demographic Yearbook. Annuaire Démographique. by United Nations
Call Number: online and Stacks HA17 .D45
Publication Date: 2022 and earlier editions
A comprehensive collection of international demographic statistics. Includes trends in population, natality, mortality, nuptiality and divorce.
World Development Indicators by The World Bank
Publication Date: 2024 and earlier editions
Presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
Open source books, journals, working & technical papers on development in countries around the globe. Statistics and data sets available on the linked Open Data site.
UNESCO Data Centre
Provides internationally comparable statistics on education, science, culture and communication. It contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication from over 200 countries.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
A data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.