Research Guides: Political Science: Find U.S. Government

Federal Government

Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Provides indexing and some full text for Congressional hearings, legislation, public laws, and legal research. Includes congressional publications, legislative histories (1970-present), and bills. Contains the US Code, voting records, congressional documents, the Congressional Record,the Federal Register (1980 - present) and the CFR. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional)

Congress.gov
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Includes information about House and Senate members, committees, legislation, reports, and nominations.

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Weekly This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on issues looming in Congress, along with a complete wrap up of the previous week's news; includes the status of bills in play, behind the scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and roll-call votes.

CFR (Code of Federal Regulations)
Coverage: Full Text
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is a codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
American Presidency Project
Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1913); Public Papers of the Presidents (1929-33; 1945- ); and various additional publications relating to the Presidency, with scattered date coverage.
Executive Orders
Orders signed by Presidents Roosevelt through Obama. (1937- ) Full text of orders from Presidents Clinton-Obama.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online research platform that provides more than 201 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more.

Federal Judicial Center
The education and research agency for the federal courts. Includes research on federal court operations and procedures, and court history.

Maryland State Board of Elections
This site includes Maryland's campaign fund reports and other election-related data, including election results by precinct, county, and state and county legislative districts.
Elections A to Z (Deborah Kalb, CQ Press, 2022)
Entries range from short definitions of terms such as “at-large” and “front-runner” to in-depth essays exploring vital aspects of campaigns and elections, such as the right to vote, turnout trends, and the history, evolution, and current state of House, Senate, presidential, and some state-level elections.
America Votes 34: 2019-2020 Election Returns by State (Rhodes Cook, CQ Press, 2021)
Includes official, state-certified primary and general election returns for the presidential, House, Senate, and gubernatorial elections of 2019 and 2020.

SAGE Knowledge (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to social science books, videos, handbooks, encyclopedias, and dictionaries.

GovInfo
GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

CQ's Politics in America by Congressional Quarterly
Call Number: REF JK1012 .C63
Publication Date: 2014 and earlier editions
Almanac of American Politics by Barone, Michael
Call Number: REF JK271 .B343
Publication Date: 2016 and earlier editions

Data.gov
Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, design data visualizations, and more. Search or browse by topics including health, science and technology, education, finance, climate, energy, and more.
Data.census.gov
Data.census.gov is the platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the people and economy of the United States.

Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Full Text
Provides full text documents and statistical information in tabular formats. Sources include U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. (Formerly LexisNexis Statistical)
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
A data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
PolicyMap is an interactive online mapping tool with which you may create maps, tables and graphs covering Demographics, Incomes & Spending, and more.

Vital Statistics on American Politics: 2017–2020 (Jeffrey Bernstein, CQ Press, 2022)
Provides historical and statistical information on key subject areas such as elections and political parties, public opinion and voting, the media, the three branches of U.S. government, foreign, military, and social and economic policy.