Welcome to the Subject Guide for Parapsychology. This guide contains information on resources related to parapsychology and its history held at UMBC, as well as links to online references and collections outside of UMBC. Use the tabs at left to explore these resources.
Parapsychology is the scientific study of paranormal or ostensibly paranormal phenomena (sometimes referred to as psi.)
The main resources at UMBC for research into Parapsychology and related topics can be found in the Eileen J. Garrett Parapsychology Foundation Collection held in Special Collections.
Eileen J. Garrett Parapsychology Foundation Collection
The Eileen J. Garrett Parapsychology Foundation Collection emphasizes the literature of contemporary parapsychology and publications that approach the subject from objective and analytical points of view. Strengths include: the history of psychical research and parapsychology, including early Spiritualism, mysticism and relevant philosophical works, as well as mediumship, apparitions, hauntings, poltergeists, near-death and out-of-body experiences, and experimental research on extrasensory perception (ESP), psychokinesis, and precognition.
The collection includes over 12,000 books, Masters and PhD dissertations, and over 100 serials as well as presented research and papers from the Parapsychological Association, Society for Psychical Research, American Society for Psychical Research, and Parapsychology Foundation international conferences. Journals, audiovisual items, and archival materials are related to the study of dreams, altered states of consciousness, shamanism, religious practices, paranormal experiences and the study and work of psychics and mediums in a historical, psychological, and anthropological approach.
Parapsychology Foundation
This collection was donated to UMBC by the Parapsychology Foundation, Inc. in 2022. The Parapsychology Foundation was founded in 1951 by trance medium, Eileen J. Garrett (1893-1970) and Republican congresswoman from Ohio, Frances P. Bolton (1885-1977) in order to fund the study of paranormal phenomena through academic and scientific research. Until 2022, it maintained one of the world’s largest research libraries and collections dedicated to the study of parapsychology and psychical research. Since 1951, the Parapsychology Foundation has funded hundreds of research projects and academics from across the world. The materials were assembled to support impartial scientific inquiry into psychical aspects of human nature such as telepathy, clairvoyance, precognition, and psychokinesis which were largely ignored by the academic community. After Garrett’s passing in 1970, her daughter, Eileen Coly, and granddaughter, Lisette Coly, also joined the organization in 1969. Since 2012, Lisette Coly serves as the current Foundation President with Garrett’s great-granddaughter, Anastasia Damalas, who serves as the Executive Director.
Ada Emma Deane, Nandor Fodor and wife with apparitions, ca.1930s. Gelatin silver print. Eileen J. Garrett Parapsychology Foundation collection, Collection 331, Special Collections, University of Maryland, Baltimore County (Baltimore, MD).
