Research Guides: Radical Literature: Databases and Search Tools

Databases and Search Tools

Search Tips
Databases

Search Tips

Here are two places to search through UMBC's Albin O. Kuhn Library and Gallery:

Special Collections Search
- By clicking on the tabs in this link, it can help limit what is being searched for within the Special Collections Department.
- One can find photography collections, finding aids, fanzines, radical literature, Maryland and regional maps, artwork and posters, university publications, books within UMBC Special Collections, and UMBC's digital collections.
UMBC Library Home Search
- By clicking on the tabs, it will limit the scope of the topic being searched.

Here are some tips when searching through our library pages:

Finding articles
Advanced Search:
- This search tool can be extremely helpful if one knows what exactly they are looking for or more specifics than just a topic.
Tips on making the search specific:
- Use quotes for phrases, e.g. "Spring Grove"
- Or, use AND for phrases, e.g. Spring AND Grove
- For name searches, use last name, first name in quotes, e.g. "Adams, Ansel

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
Alternative Press Index [API] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
API is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991.
UMBC holds the Alternative Press backfile, with the print index for 1971-1990, in Special Collections. .
America : History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America (US and Canada) from antiquity to the present. Includes articles, book reviews, links to full text sources.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Proquest's new Black Freedom Struggle website, features selected open access primary source documents including historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom.
Chinese Pamphlets: Political Communication & Mass Education 1947-1954 (CRL) This link opens in a new window
The Hunter Collection consists of mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These include approximately 200 cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards, and magazines, heavily pictorial in content, on such topics as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform. T
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Historical Abstracts indexes journals covering world history from 1450 to the present (for the United States and Canada use America: History & Life). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Full Text
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to the following collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV; Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Sustainability, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Index Online is a database of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. Journals indexed span 37 key subject areas and multiple languages. Not full text
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of select journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. UMBC subscribes to its Basic Undergraduate Collection.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820 (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
This collection explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1600-2000
Database of books, documents, images, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies of all aspects of American Women's public lives and political activities.

Radical Literature

Databases and Search Tools

Search Tips

Search & Find

Using the Library

Research Help

About AOK

Special Collections & Gallery