Research Guides: HIST 497: Religious Tourism: Articles:Primary &amp; Secondary sources

Scholarly articles (Secondary sources)

In Historical Abstracts and Business Source "religious tourism" and "Pilgrims and Pilgrimage" can be used as Subject terms as well as keywords .

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Historical Abstracts indexes journals covering world history from 1450 to the present (for the United States and Canada use America: History & Life). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Indexes over 3300 journals and magazines on all aspects of business going back to 1896, providing full text on over 2200, including almost 1100 peer reviewed titles.
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Newsbank is a full-text news resource consisting over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.

Contemporary Articles (primary sources): popular magazines, newspapers

Historical Magazines & Newspapers : particularly useful for 19th and 20th c. topics or movements in the U.S. or worldwide from an American perspective.

American Periodicals (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1740-1941. Titles include 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800; 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras; general interest magazines, children's publications, and more than 20 journals for women.

Baltimore Afro-American Historical (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Provides historical access (1893-2010) to this Black newspaper with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts of the politics, society and events of the time. Content, includes articles, obituaries, photos, editorials, and more.
Baltimore Sun Historical (1837-1989) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Baltimore Sun full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1837-1989. Includes indexing and abstracting of the newspaper with fully searchable text.
New York Times Historical (1851-2010) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Full Text
New York Times full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1851-2001. Includes indexing and abstracting of the newspaper with fully searchable text back to the first issue.
Washington Post Historical (1877-2001) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Washington Post full page and article images (.pdfs) from 1877-2001. Includes indexing and abstracting of the newspaper with fully searchable text back to the first issue.

AOK Library Article OneSearch (general article search mulitple databases)

Use this link to search many databases at once. This is useful for doing very broad searches.

HIST 497: Religious Tourism

Scholarly articles (Secondary sources)

Contemporary Articles (primary sources): popular magazines, newspapers

AOK Library Article OneSearch (general article search mulitple databases)

Search & Find

Using the Library

Research Help

About AOK

Special Collections & Gallery