Research Guides: History of Science &amp; Technology: Find Books : Secondary Sources

Books: Secondary sources

Book Searches
Dissertations and Theses

The Books, Music, Video tab searches for both print and ebooks. Print books must say "On Shelf" in order to be requested. General search terms will give you a sense of what's available.

The University System of Maryland does not allow sharing of ebooks across campuses and there is no access to the print collections from other USM libraries at this time. Borrowing of print titles from the Kuhn Library has started on a limited basis (see the Covid update) but searching for ebooks is encouraged.

OR, Search just our ebook collections

Cambridge Histories: Ancient History
Contains the full text of all 19 volumes of the print Ancient History series published by Cambridge.
Cambridge History of Science (8 vols)
Cambridge History of Science is published in eight substantial volumes, beginning with Ancient Mesopotamia and classical Greece and Rome, through the Medieval period, early modern Europe, and on through modern science. The history begins chronologically and that approach continues on up to Vol. 4, after which the volumes split off into modern histories of different branches of science. (vol. 8 is not yet available.)

Dissertations and theses are useful resources for their extensive bibliographies, lit reviews, and original research. Proquest's Dissertations & Theses provides access to North American titles, the NDLDT and DART to titles worldwide.

Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Indexes and abstracts dissertations and theses primarily from the U.S and Canada, some international; dissertations abstracted since 1980, theses abstracted since 1988. Full text available for dissertations published since 1997 (1991 from UMBC) are available as PDFs. (Online version of Dissertation Abstracts from UMI)
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) This link opens in a new window
The NDLTD Union Catalog contains more than one million records of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Also includes links to other useful ETD search tools.

History of Science & Technology

Quick Links

Your Librarian

Books: Secondary sources

Search & Find

Using the Library

Research Help

About AOK

Special Collections & Gallery