Research Guides: Theatre: Find Images and Videos

Find Images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library is an online resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
To use the full functionality of the Artstor Digital Library you must be logged in through the library website and have created a personal account.
-The basic/advanced search on the Artstor homepage searches the Artstor Digital Library and Public Collections [we have no institutional collections]
-You do not need a personal account to search but you do need it to save images.
-Your saved images will appear in Personal Collections, you will have to login to retrieve/view your images.
-Images saved for a class or presentation can be shared in Groups. Anybody with a personal account can create a Group (you will see UMBC examples when you click on Groups)
Additional Help

Streaming Video Resources

Theatre and Drama Premium (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Theatre and Drama Premium provides access to all the subscribed Alexander St. databases in a cross-searchable format. Individual collections may be listed separately for better focus in searching. Collections include Black Drama, Asian American Drama, Drama Texts, and many others. Resources include playscripts, filmed stage performances, images, interviews, training materials.
Routledge Performance Archive This link opens in a new window
Consists of streamed video and audio footage with relevant critical commentary. Includes interviews with key figures in theatre history and practice; masterclasses with specialist actor trainers; unique footage by legendary practitioners; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions; and documentaries. The video material spans more than fifty years.
Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy on Screen (Drama Online) This link opens in a new window
The Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy began in 2012 with an all-female production of Julius Caesar led by Dame Harriet Walter. Two further productions followed: Henry IV in 2014 and The Tempest in 2016, all featuring a diverse company of women. The film versions were shot live in a specially built temporary theatre in King’s Cross in 2016.
BBC Drama Films and Documentaries (Drama Online) This link opens in a new window
This collection features stunning film adaptations of classic and contemporary plays from Sophocles and Shakespeare, to Oscar Wilde, Henrik Ibsen, August Strindberg, Bernard Shaw and contemporary writers, Michael Frayn and Joe Penhall.
Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 1 and 2 (Drama Online) This link opens in a new window
Shakespeare's Globe On Screen provides access to plays which experiment in hugely different ways with the original playing conditions of Shakespeare’s theatre. This link provides access to Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 1 (21 plays, 2008-2015) and Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 2 (9 plays, 2016-2018).

Additional video streaming resources can be found by visiting Resources for Streaming Video

Additional web resources for Theatre

National Theatre YouTube Channel
Videos from the National Theatre in the UK.
HowlRound Theatre Commons
"HowlRound is a free and open platform for theatremakers worldwide that amplifies progressive, disruptive ideas about the art form and facilitates connection between diverse practitioners."
Working in the Theatre
The American Theatre Wing's panel discussion series, Working in the Theatre (formerly The American Theatre Wing Seminars), brings together performers, directors, playwrights, designers, choreographers and behind-the-scenes personnel from the Broadway theatre. Click the "Watch Previous Editions" link to see listings by year.
Women in the Theatre
Women in Theatre is produced by The League of Professional Theatre Women: Ruth Mayleas, Betty Corwin, and Harriet Slaughter. Research: Amy Schwegel. The entire Women in Theatre series will become part of the Theatre on Film and Tape Archive. Click the "Watch Previous Editions" button to see listings by year.
Theatre: All the Moving Parts
Host Patrick Pacheco looks beyond the spotlight at the passionate and unheralded creative talents that are critical to the theatrical experience. From costume designers to dramaturges and everything in between, Patrick looks at all the moving parts of a Broadway production. Click on "Watch Previous Episodes" to see past shows.
Theatre Archive Project (Audio Resource)
The Theatre Archive Project is a collaboration between the British Library and De Montfort University. The project aims to reinvestigate British theatre history 1945-1968, from the perspectives of both the theatregoer and the practitioner.

Media Search Box

Theatre DVDs in the AOK Library Collection

Suggested keywords: experimental theater, drama, theater production, Shakespeare

Acting Techniques of Topeng: The Masked Theatre of Bali
Demonstrates how to adapt Topeng acting styles and techniques to Western productions.
Call Number: UMDVD 6831

Black Theater, 1950-1980: Artist Interviews
Actors, producers, and directors discuss the growth of, and challenges faced by, the black theater movement.
Call Number: UMDVD 6820

Brace Up!
The filmed performance of Chekhov's 'Three Sisters' by the avant-garde Wooster Group in April 2003.
Call Number: UMDVD 5574

Break a Leg: An Introductory Guide to Stage Directing
Offers guidance on stage directing, including what to expect when getting started, building momentum, and more.
Call Number: UMDVD 7886

The Directing Process
Includes segments on the history of directing, play selection, text analysis, the audition process, and more.
Call Number: UMDVD 7888

Performance Selections from the Five Main Schools of Japanese Traditional Noh
Nine performance selections showcase the five main schools of traditional Japanese noh.
Call Number: UMDVD 7368

Playing Shakespeare
Explores how the Royal Shakespeare Company makes classic plays accessible to modern audiences.
Call Number: UMDVD 5060

Shadow Master
A dramatization of Balinese life that reveals the cultural context of theater, music, and dance on the island.
Call Number: UMDVD 5901

Tomorrow We Disappear
Three of Kathputli's most-talented performers wrangle with the reality of their approaching eviction.
Call Number: UMDVD 9480

Theatre

Quick Links

Your Librarian

Find Images

Streaming Video Resources

Additional web resources for Theatre

Media Search Box

Theatre DVDs in the AOK Library Collection

Search & Find

Using the Library

Research Help

About AOK

Special Collections & Gallery