Citing Primary Sources

Unpublished material should be cited in the following manner:

Author. Title of material. [Description of material]. Date. Name of collection. Name of repository. Location.

Correspondence written by Columbus O'Donnell (1792-1875) to Henry O'Donnell on June 19, 1857 is located in Box 1, Folder 1, of the O’Donnell family collection at UMBC Special Collections.

The citation for MLA would be: 

O’Donnell, Columbus. Letter to Henry O’Donnell. June 19, 1857. O’Donnell family papers. University of Maryland Baltimore County. Baltimore, MD.

Unpublished material should be cited in the following manner:

Name, Title/description, Date, Folder #, Box #, Collection, Repository (Location).

Correspondence written by Columbus O'Donnell (1792-1875) to Henry O'Donnell on June 19, 1857 is located in Box 1, Folder 1, of the O’Donnell family collection at UMBC Special Collections.

The citation for Chicago would be:

O’Donnell, Columbus, letter to Henry O’Donnell, June 19, 1857, folder 1, box 1, O’Donnell family collection, University of Maryland Baltimore County (Baltimore, MD).

Unpublished material should be cited in the following manner:

Author, A.A. (Year, Month, Day). Title of material. [Description of material]. Name of collection (Call number, Box number, File number, etc). Name and location of repository.

Correspondence written by Columbus O'Donnell (1792-1875) to Henry O'Donnell on June 19, 1857 is located in Box 1, Folder 1, of the O’Donnell family collection at UMBC Special Collections.

The citation for APA would be:

O’Donnell, Columbus. (06,19,1857), Letter to Henry O’Donnell (Letter). O’Donnell family papers, Box 1, Folder 1. University of Maryland, Baltimore County Special Collections, Baltimore, MD.