Ulrichsweb Serial Directory. A source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.
Pubmed Central. A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
arXiv. An open-access pre-print repository of articles in the sciences.
bioRxiv. An open-access pre-print repository of biology articles.
medRxiv. An open-access pre-print repository of health sciences articles.
ROAD synthesizes information about open access journals from a number of sources. Its base is a subset of the ISSN registry. Users may browse to find open access journals by country or by subject. Users may also search for an open access title by name, ISSN number, subject, or other concept.
The Directory of Open Access Journals provides browseable lists of journals in many subjects.
Directory of Open Access Books
17253 Academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 319 publishers
Open Content Alliance (OCA) is a collaborative global effort to build a permanent archive of multilingual digitized text and multimedia material. OCA content is hosted by the Internet Archive.
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The Hathitrust collection includes nearly 16,000,000 digitized items, and almost 6,000,000 are in the public domain, available to anyone with an internet connection.
The DPLA (Digital Public Library of America) is a large-scale digital public library in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage.
Public domain works are not protected by copyright either because their copyright term has expired or they fall within a category of works that are not subject to copyright law. The public owns these works, not an individual author or artist. Anyone can use a public domain work without obtaining permission. More information on the public domain is available here.
Works that are in the public domain can be found almost anywhere so this is far from an exhaustive list. The following is merely a selection of sites that have large collections of content in the public domain.
The following sites may contain content licensed under Creative Commons. Note that not all content on the site is necessarily licensed under Creative Commons. If you are in doubt about the license on a work contact the copyright holder.