Research Guides: Researching African American Photographers: Databases and Search Tools

Databases and Search Tools

Search Tips
Databases

Search Tips

Here are two places to search through UMBC's Albin O. Kuhn Library and Gallery:

Special Collections Search
- By clicking on the tabs in this link, it can help limit what is being searched for within the Special Collections Department.
- One can find photography collections, finding aids, fanzines, radical literature, Maryland and regional maps, artwork and posters, university publications, books within UMBC Special Collections, and UMBC's digital collections.
UMBC Library Home Search
- By clicking on the tabs, it will limit the scope of the topic being searched.

Here are some tips when searching through our library pages:

Finding articles
Advanced Search:
- This search tool can be extremely helpful if one knows what exactly they are looking for or more specifics than just a topic.
Tips on making the search specific:
- Use quotes for phrases, e.g. "Spring Grove"
- Or, use AND for phrases, e.g. Spring AND Grove
- For name searches, use last name, first name in quotes, e.g. "Adams, Ansel

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Multidisciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed and general interest journals and magazines; book and film reviews; newspapers; and much more.
America : History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
America: History and Life (AHL) indexes the historical literature on North America (US and Canada) from antiquity to the present. Includes articles, book reviews, links to full text sources.
American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Coverage: c.975-
American National Biography [ANB] offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives have shaped the nation. The online edition of the ANB is updated quarterly with additions and revisions.
Art Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Art Abstracts provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Indexing spans from 1984 to the present.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library is an online resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
To use the full functionality of the Artstor Digital Library you must be logged in through the library website and have created a personal account.
-The basic/advanced search on the Artstor homepage searches the Artstor Digital Library and Public Collections [we have no institutional collections]
-You do not need a personal account to search but you do need it to save images.
-Your saved images will appear in Personal Collections, you will have to login to retrieve/view your images.
-Images saved for a class or presentation can be shared in Groups. Anybody with a personal account can create a Group (you will see UMBC examples when you click on Groups)
Additional Help
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Full Text
Electronic archive of selected core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of all titles indexed from Volume 1 to most current available (embargo periods apply). UMBC subscribes to the following collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV; Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Sustainability, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online offers users access to: Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as additional articles and bibliographies. Account allows for a maximum of three concurrent users.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography [DNB] This link opens in a new window
Coverage: earliest - 2002
The Oxford DNB includeds the complete text of 55,000 biogrphies with 10,000 portrait illustrations of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2002

Researching African American Photographers

Databases and Search Tools

Search Tips

Search & Find

Using the Library

Research Help

About AOK

Special Collections & Gallery