Research Guides: Physics: Find Other Resources

Recommended Government Departments & Agencies

Department of Energy
DOE provides technical information and the foundation for the technology, policy, and institutional leadership for efficient energy use.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
NASA's mission is to pioneer the future in space exploration, scientific discovery and aeronautics research. NASA conducts its work in four principal organizations: Aeronautics, Exploration Systems, Science, and Space Operations
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Part of the Department of Commerce, NOAA's mission includes environmental assessment, prediction, and stewardship. Sub-agencies include the National Weather Service, National Environmental Satellite Data, and Information Service, and the Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research.

National Technical Reports Library
Search the largest, central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. Note: Open access full text reports are available online with free account creation.
DOE Collections (OSTI)
OSTI fulfills DOE responsibilities related to the collection, preservation, and appropriate dissemination of scientific and technical information. Search Collections for historical and current research results. Includes articles, patents, data sets, software, more.

arXiv e-Print Archive
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,314,978 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

CHEMnetBase: CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 103rd ed.
Optics InfoBase This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Search and access the full text of JOSA A, JOSA B, Optics Letters, Optics Express, JOSA (1917-1984), Applied Optics, J. Lightwave Technology, J. Optical Technology, J. Optical Networking and Optics and Photonics News.
Maryland Open Source Textbook (M.O.S.T.) Commons This link opens in a new window
The Maryland Open Source Textbook (M.O.S.T.) Commons is a collaborative, online space designed to support the sharing and creation of Open Educational Resources (OER). Through M.O.S.T. Commons, you will have the opportunity to access openly licensed content and collaborate with faculty within your institution and across Maryland. The site also provides faculty with authoring tools to create their own OER.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Topics covered in the Science Reference Center include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.