Research Guides: Political Science: Find Background

Getting Started with Your Research

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on national and international topics, including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on broad issues such as war, terrorism, human rights, poverty, globalization, world trade, and global warming, as well as specific events and topics related to these broad topics. Includes articles and multimedia.
SAGE Knowledge (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to social science books, videos, handbooks, encyclopedias, and dictionaries.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Covers today’s hottest social issues. Features include: pro/con viewpoint essays; topic overviews; primary source documents; court case overviews; statistical tables, charts and graphs; full-text journal, newspaper and magazine articles.

Sage Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window
Includes article, book, and video resources for quantitative and qualitative analysis, project planning, and the 'Which Stats Test' to choose the most appropriate statistical method for your data.

The SAGE Handbook of Research Methods in Political Science and International Relations by Curini, Luigi
Publication Date: 2020
Provides a comprehensive overview of research processes in the social science - from the ideation and design of research projects, through the construction of theoretical arguments, to conceptualization, measurement, and data collection, and quantitative and qualitative empirical analysis