Research Guides: Music: Find Music Scores

Print Scores in the Library

To locate scores and sheet music, visit the 5th floor of the library and browse the M shelves and the M Folio (oversize) shelves. Music books are in the M-MT sections:

M = Music scores
ML = Music Literature (composer biographies, music history, essays, facsimiles, etc.)
MT = Music Instruction (theory, pedagogy, etc.)

AOK OneSearch

Print Scores Beyond USM

WorldCat Classic (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Index Only
Worldcat holds the records of all materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Search for specific titles or authors or do general searches by subject or keyword. Results display formats, holding institutions, and links to full text if available.

Database Collection

Classical Scores Library (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
IPA [International Phonetic Alphabet] Source was developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature. IPA Source is the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web.

Scores Online

IMSLP: Petrucci Music Library
A library of scores of works no longer protected by copyright: 68,900 scores. More than 500 recordings are also included.
Sibley Music Library: Digital Scores
Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.
Bach Digital
An online collection of Bach for researchers and musicians. Comprises a "detailed and global database with digital reproductions of works/sources by J. S. Bach and the whole Bach family"
Mozart Complete Scores
The scores and the critical commentaries of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe for study and performance.
Chopin: Early Editions
Chopin Early Editions consist of digitized images of all scores in the University of Chicago Library's Chopin collection. Users can search or browse Chopin Early Editions via a variety of data points, including titles, genres, and plate numbers.
Project Gutenberg
- This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg volunteers have been engaging in digitizing public domain sheet music, using a variety of techniques, to enable study and performance. For the most part, the musical pieces created have been chamber music, with composers such as Brahms and Beethoven.
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music contains more than 62,500 pieces of historical sheet music registered for copyright: more than 15,000 registered during the years 1820-1860 and more than 47,000 registered during the years 1870-1885.
Historic American Sheet Music
The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University holds a significant collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet music. The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3042 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.
Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music
Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music consists of over 29,000 pieces of American popular music. The collection spans the years 1780 to 1980, but its strength is its documentation of nineteenth-century America through popular music.

Music

Quick Links

Your Librarian

Print Scores in the Library

AOK OneSearch

Print Scores Beyond USM

Database Collection

Scores Online

Search & Find

Using the Library

Research Help

About AOK

Special Collections & Gallery