Research Guides: FYS Notions of Beauty: Special Topics

Special topics

ARTstor
The ARTstor Digital Library is an online resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
To use the full functionality of the Artstor Digital Library you must be logged in through the library website and have created a personal account.
-The basic/advanced search on the Artstor homepage searches the Artstor Digital Library and Public Collections [we have no institutional collections]
-You do not need a personal account to search but you do need it to save images.
-Your saved images will appear in Personal Collections, you will have to login to retrieve/view your images.
-Images saved for a class or presentation can be shared in Groups. Anybody with a personal account can create a Group (you will see UMBC examples when you click on Groups)
Additional Help
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online offers users access to: Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as additional articles and bibliographies. Account allows for a maximum of three concurrent users.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts is a periodical database that places articles in the hands of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. databases such as the Wilson Art Index and the Rpertoire International de Littrature Musicale (RILM) index are available in full text. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Art Magazine Collection Archives
Includes the periodicals Magazine Antiques (1922-2016), ARTnews (1902-2006) and Art in America (1913-2015). This archive provides a history of collecting over the course of the 20th century, as well as a comprehensive record of fine arts, art history, interior design, decorative arts, and architecture in the 20th and early 21st century.
Art & Architecture Archive‎ 1895-2015 (Proquest)
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.

Fashion History Timeline
A repository of images cultivated by the Fashion Institute of Technology at SUNY. "The Fashion History Timeline is an open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe."
V&A Fashion
Spanning four centuries, the V&A’s Fashion collection is the largest and most comprehensive collection of dress in the world. Key items in the collection include rare 17th-century gowns, 18th-century ‘mantua’ dresses, 1930s eveningwear, 1960s daywear and post-war couture. Plus a growing number of pieces from 21st-century designers.

Women's Wear Daily Archive‎, 1910-recent (Proquest)
From the first issue in 1910 to the present year, Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the industry's most influential reads, tracing day-to-day news, opinion, and socio-economic trends, from runway reports to beauty product reviews.

Naxos Music Library
Coverage: current
Naxos Music Library [NML] offers streaming access to more than 41,340 CDs with more than 592,600 tracks. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels. Resources offered by NML include synopses of over 700 operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names and a glossary of musical terms. A comprehensive online encyclopedia of classical music is in development.
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music references including the second edition of The Grove Dictionary of American Music and the second edition of The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments.
Music Periodicals Database 1874-current (ProQuest)
This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 1.3 million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication.

FYS Notions of Beauty

Special topics

Search & Find

Using the Library

Research Help

About AOK

Special Collections & Gallery