Biosketches and CPOS in SciENcv

If you already have your eRA Commons or Research.gov login, you can add that here to pull in your name information. If you already logged in with that information, your name may come over automatically. 

You only need to enter your name and education and training once, then you can reuse this Biosketch in the future.

After you have created your SciENcv account and chosen your Biosketch type, look for the Education/Training section. There will be a link under it that says: You have not listed any degree or training. Please add one. 

If some education is already entered, it will instead say +Add Another Degree/Training. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In either case, click the link and the education menu will pop up. Manually enter the school, degree type, and dates of the degree. Other information like location and discipline is optional. If this is your first time, you will probably use the Save and Add Another Entry button in order to add all degrees. Keep in mind that this will need to be certified at the end as a complete and accurate record of where you (or your PI if you are a delegate) went to school.

 

 

In the Biosketch, you will be asked to attach citations of your (or a delegate's PI's) past scholarly works. These scholarly works are organized and saved in a related tool called My Bibliography. Citations are stored in My Bibliography, whether they are entered manually or imported from another source like PubMed, ORCID, or a file from Zotero.

To start entering a past scholarly output, click the Select Citations link. If this is a new Biosketch that did not use an existing Biosketch as a template, it will say that you have not listed any citations. 

Clicking the Select Citations link will open a My Bibliography panel. Whether this has content in it or not will depend on whether this account has ever added articles or other content to My Bibliography. This may have been done for PMC links to eRA commons for public access article compliance, or for saving articles from PubMed searches. Alternatively, if you have never used any of these functions it may say that there are no citations in your My Bibliography to choose from.

In order to enter articles or other products in your SciENcv, you must choose them from My Bibliography. If the My Bibliography section is empty, you will need to add articles. There are three ways to do this:

1. Add from PubMed. To choose your citations from PubMed, click the Add Citations link
2. Import from an ORCID account. To import from ORCID, click the Connect to your ORCID tab
3. Add scholarly products manually or by importing them from a Zotero/Endnote file. For these and other manual and editing options, click the Go to My Bibliography link

If you have a list of citations separately (such as a Word document CV), or need to add a scholarly product that cannot be imported from another source, you can add those citations manually. To add a citation manually, go to the My Bibliography link.

 

 

 

 

 

This will take you to the landing page for My Bibliography. This section called My Bibliography is the list of citations of scholarly products that can be checkmarked to add them to a Biosketch. Anything you enter here will also appear in the SciENcv section about citations when you click the Select Citations link in SciENcv.

Even if you have never used SciENcv, if you have completed other NIH grants and filed public access articles, you may see those public access filings listed in your My Bibliography tab.

To add to the My Bibliography list by typing or copy/paste, click the Add Citations tab.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you choose Manually from the Add Citations menu, then it will bring up a menu for typing (or pasting) in the elements of a journal article.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If the scholarly output is not a journal article, click the button at the top that reads Journal article that does not appear in PubMed to change to another type of citation such as conference presentation, books, or even "other" for citations that do not fall into the listed formats.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After entering one or more citations through this My Bibliography section, they will become available in the SciEVcv section for creating a Biosketch. If you return to SciENcv and choose the Biosketch you were working on, the Select Citations link will now display the articles you typed in.