Research Guides: Global Studies: Find Background Info

Quick Links

she/her/hers

Contact:

sullivan@umbc.edu

Subjects: Africana Studies, Aging Studies & Gerontology, Ancient Studies, Asian Studies, Global Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Social Work

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on national and international topics, including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on broad issues such as war, terrorism, human rights, poverty, globalization, world trade, and global warming, as well as specific events and topics related to these broad topics. Includes articles and multimedia.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Covers today’s hottest social issues. Features include: pro/con viewpoint essays; topic overviews; primary source documents; court case overviews; statistical tables, charts and graphs; full-text journal, newspaper and magazine articles.
SAGE Knowledge (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to social science books, videos, handbooks, encyclopedias, and dictionaries.

Political Handbook of the World
Compiling in one place more than 200 entries on countries and territories throughout the world, this volume includes extensive coverage of all major and minor political parties and groups in each political system.
The World Fact Book
Provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Demographic Yearbook of the United Nations
Includes country-level annual statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce. Additional topics include economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing characteristics, ethnicity, language, foreign-born and foreign population.