All Guides: FYS Protest Songs: Find primary sources

Primary Source Collections

Primary Source Collection guide
Explore this online guide to discover digitized archival and primary source collections, such as historical newspapers, periodicals, and manuscript collections.

National Newspapers (Proquest)
Coverage: Full Text
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text for the following: Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present, Christian Science Monitor: 1980 - present, New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1980 - present, NYT in Espanol, 2020-, Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present, Washington Post: 1987 - present
Does not include pictures or graphics
Newsbank
Newsbank is a full-text news resource consisting over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.

Historical newspapers
A listing of historical newspaper databases that are available at UMBC

Global Issues in Context (Gale)
Focuses on broad issues such as war, terrorism, human rights, poverty, globalization, world trade, and global warming, as well as specific events and topics related to these broad topics. Includes articles and multimedia.
Human Rights Studies Online (Proquest)
Human Rights Studies Online provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
The Sixties: Primary Sources and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 (Proquest)
The Sixties brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
Adam Matthew Explorer
A comprehensive resource for primary sources in history, global studies, American studies, Asian studies, gender studies, theatre, music, and much more. See also its overview guide for information and tips on how to navigate the resource: https://amdigital.libguides.com/amexplorerartsandhumanities