History of Photography

We're all about historical photographic methods in use today - the art, processes and techniques of alternative photography

The Atlas of Analytical Signatures of Photographic Processes is intended for practicing photograph conservators, curators, art historians, archivists, library professionals, and anyone responsible for the care of photograph collections. Its purpose is to aid in the formulation of analytical questions related to a particular photograph and to assist scientists unfamiliar with analysis of photographs when interpreting analytical data.

Daguerreobase is an online application designed to contain detailed information about daguerreotypes. Members can view, edit and store records of individual daguerreotypes and establish relations to other records based on a wide range of characteristics. This includes collections, owners, creators, hallmarks, housing models, sizes, materials and descriptions.

Graphics Atlas is a sophisticated resource that presents a unique, object-based approach for the identification and characterization of prints and photographs.

Online contemporary photography magazine.

Luminous-Lint uses 103,561 photographs from 3,642 different collections around the world to create detailed and well structured histories of photography.

This website showcases one of the most important acquisitions in the history of The Museum of Modern Art, a collection of rare photographs made between the two world wars.

On This Date In Photography is a blog which does just that…provides a leaf from each day of the calendar of historical and contemporary photographic events, people, images, places and technology.

An experimental interface to a collection of biographical data describing photographers, studios, manufacturers, and others involved in the production of photographic images. Consisting of names, nationalities, dates, locations and more, PIC is a vast and growing resource for the historian, student, genealogist, or any lover of photography's history. The information has been culled from trusted biographical dictionaries, catalogs and databases, and from extensive original research by NYPL Photography Collection staff.

This is a research database containing individual records for over 20 000 photographic exhibits drawn from forty exhibition catalogues published between 1839 - 1865.

Still Searching... is a continually growing online discourse on the media of photography featuring multiple participants. It adopts many of the features of an ordinary blog, but turns them against the spectacle, offering an intellectually challenging and interactive discussion on all aspects of the photographic. It is conceived in the widest terms, debating (amongst other themes) photographic production, techniques, aesthetics, distribution and reception.