Research Guides: MLL 605 Research Guide: United States

Federal Government

FDsys: GPO's Federal Digital System
(FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes. Collections currently available on FDsys are: Compilation of Presidential Documents (1993-),Congressional Bills (103rd Cong-) Congressional Documents (104th Cong-),Congressional Hearings (105th Cong-), Congressional Record (1994-), Congressional Reports (104th Cong-), Federal Register (1994-), Public and Private Laws (104th Cong-)

CQ's Politics in America by Congressional Quarterly
Call Number: REF JK1012 .C63
Publication Date: 2014 and earlier editions
Almanac of American Politics by Barone, Michael
Call Number: REF JK271 .B343
Publication Date: 2016 and earlier editions

Congress.gov
The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Includes information about House and Senate members, committees, legislation, reports, and nominations.

Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Some Full Text
Provides indexing and some full text for Congressional hearings, legislation, public laws, and legal research. Includes congressional publications, legislative histories (1970-present), and bills. Contains the US Code, voting records, congressional documents, the Congressional Record,the Federal Register (1980 - present) and the CFR. (Formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Weekly This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on issues looming in Congress, along with a complete wrap up of the previous week's news; includes the status of bills in play, behind the scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and roll-call votes.

CFR (Code of Federal Regulations)
Coverage: Full Text
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is a codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
American Presidency Project
Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1913); Public Papers of the Presidents (1929-33; 1945- ); and various additional publications relating to the Presidency, with scattered date coverage.
Executive Orders
Orders signed by Presidents Roosevelt through Obama. (1937- ) Full text of orders from Presidents Clinton-Obama.

Federal Judicial Center
The education and research agency for the federal courts. Includes research on federal court operations and procedures, and court history.

Maryland State Board of Elections
This site includes Maryland's campaign fund reports and other election-related data, including election results by precinct, county, and state and county legislative districts.

Voting in America by Morgan E. Felchner
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2008
Handbook of Party Politics by Katz, Richard
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2006

Data.gov
Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, design data visualizations, and more. Search or browse by topics including health, science and technology, education, finance, climate, energy, and more.

Data.census.gov [formerly American Factfinder] This link opens in a new window
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Full Text
Provides full text documents and statistical information in tabular formats. Sources include U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. (Formerly LexisNexis Statistical)

ICPSR Archive
Coverage: varies
Search and request data sets relevant to political science, sociology, women's studies, etc. from the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research.