Skip to main content

Researching African-American Photographers

Selected sources of information aiding research on African American photography.

Complete Photographers and Collections Index

Visiting Special Collections

Watch this video to learn about what to expect when visiting Special Collections. Many of our policies are similar to other special collection and archives policies as well.

Photograph Collections at UMBC, Special Collections

Special Collections holds photographs by the following African-American photographers below.

David Bowser

David Bustill Bowser (1820-1900) was an African-American artist who painted portraits and Civil War banners. Special Collections has a selection of card photographs of his work.

Roland Freeman

Roland Freeman (b. 1936)  is an African-American photographer from Baltimore, MD. He photographs Southern and African-American folk culture. The Roland Freeman portfolio located in Special Collections contains over 20 of his photographs.

Brian V. Jones

Brian V. Jones (1952-) has been a documentary photographer of the Washington D.C. metropolitan area and a professor of photography since the 1980s. He is known for his photographs of African-American churches and Connecticut Avenue in D.C., which are housed in Special Collections, as well as the Smithsonian American Art Museum and the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture at the New York Public Library.

Stephen Marc

Stephen Marc combines his photographs of contemporary landscapes and communities with historical images to create digital montages of African-American culture.

Addison Scurlock

Addison Scurlock was a potrait photographer who captured images of the African-American community in Washington D.C. in the early twentieth century.

James VanDerZee

James VanDerZee was an African-American photographer who captured images of New Yorkers during the Harlem Renaissance.

William Earle Williams

William Earle Williams is known for his photographs of Civil War sites. He also documented Philadelphia society at various parties in the 1970s. Special Collections has photographs from his "Party Pictures" series.