Skip to main content

Comics in Special Collections

Superhero Comics

Originally popularized during the 1930s and 1940s, superhero comics have become one of the most popular genres of comics. Below is a list of some of the superhero comics that can be found at Special Collections.

Nick Fury, Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D.- issues 1-5 and 7-15 (1968-1969)                               

                This spinoff series for Marvel’s ubiquitous Sgt. Fury features psychedelic art from Jim Steranko, considered groundbreaking at the time.

Highlights: nos. 1-4 feature some of Steranko’s most acclaimed work.

See Also: Sgt. Fury and His Howling Commandoes, Strange Tales, crossovers into nearly every other Marvel comic series

Green Lantern- various issues from 1940s-2009                                                 

                One of DC Comics’ longest lasting characters, the issues in our collection allow the reader to compare and contrast Green Lantern in the 40s, 60s, 70s, 80s and 2000s.

                Highlights: no.28 is the earliest Green Lantern in the collection, from 1948

                See Also: Justice League of America, Master Comics

Iron Man- 1960s-1980s (3 boxes)                                                                             

                Billionaire playboy/industrialist Tony Stark and his Iron Man alter ego were part of the original Avengers team before getting his own book in the late 1960s. This comic was seen as Stan Lee’s exploration of the Cold War-era military-industrial complex.

                Highlights: issues #120-128 are the “Demon in a Bottle” storyline, where Stark deals with his alcoholism

                See Also: Avengers

Superman- 1940s-2000s                                                                                               

Everyone loves the Man of Steel. In addition to decades of the Superman title, we have an extensive collection of the spinoff series:

    Superman’s Girlfriend Lois Lane

    Superman’s Pal Jimmy Olsen

     Superboy

     Supergirl

See also:  Action Comics, World’s Finest Comics(with Batman), Justice League of America

Batman- various issues from 1960s-present                                                       

Special Collections has lots of Batman, in both his own title and Detective Comics, as well as co-starring with Superman in World’s Finest Comics. We also have the graphic novels that re-launched Batman in the late 1980s as well(located in the Rosenfeld collection):

                Batman: The Dark Knight Returns- PN6728.D34 M55 1986b

                                Batman: Year One- PN6728.B359 M55 1988

                See also: Robin

Also in the collection: X-Men (1960s-1980s), Thor, The Incredible Hulk, Captain Marvel/Shazam!, Amazing Spider-Man, Spectacular Spider-Man, Wonder Woman, Silver Surfer, Fantastic Four