Resources relating to regional Maryland history with an emphasis on Baltimore. Includes contact and collection information for libraries, museums, and archives and highlights select resources based on format.
"The Oral History Collection at the JMM is an active and growing collection. Currently consisting of over 700 interviews, these oral histories contain family reminisces, memories of life in Baltimore, and recollections of people, places and events from throughout the state."
Martha Ross Center for Oral History at UMBC
"The Martha Ross Center for Oral History is dedicated to implementing and improving oral history as a research methodology, educating students in the practices of oral history, and collecting, cataloguing and preserving oral history interviews throughout the State of Maryland."
"Approximately 650 oral histories are processed and available for public use. The oral history collection contains interviews, recorded events such as speeches, research papers, and other items. Many of the oral histories also contain supplemental materials including tape indexes, interview summaries, newspaper and periodical clippings, ephemera, and photographs."
Collections at UB include: Baltimore Neighborhood Heritage Project; Baltimore '68; Baltimore Voices Company; East Baltimore Oral History; Jo An Robinson/Gertrude Williams collection; Negro League Oral History; People's Community Health Center Oral History; Penn-North Oral History; Reservoir Hill Oral History; Stone Hill in Hampden.