Skip to main content

History of UMBC

This guide contains information about the available resources for conducting research on the history of UMBC's origins, people, departments, and traditions.

Overview

Our collection of photographs document the growth of our physical campus, the active student body and campus life, and the many faculty and staff that have contributed to UMBC since the groundbreaking in 1965. Photographs have been donated to the University Archives by the student newspaper, Institutional Advancement, and staff, students, and alumni. Currently, the photographs are unprocessed and in their original order. Box level records are available through the Special Collections Search, as well as item-level records for any digitized photos.

Search tip: enter University Photographs as the "Collection title" to limit your search to the University Photographs. If you would only like to browse our digitized photographs, please use the Digital Collections search. Photographs can be viewed in the Special Collections reading room or scanned on request per our Rights & Reproductions policy.

UMBC, 1966

UMBC Photographs Resources

University Archives on Flickr

Can I donate materials to the University Archives?

Donations to the University Archives are encouraged from UMBC departments, staff, student groups, and alumni. All donations must be approved in advance by the Archivist and should meet the requirements outlined in the University Archives collection guideline. Please contact Lindsey Loeper for additional information.