Skip to main content

History of UMBC

This guide contains information about the available resources for conducting research on the history of UMBC's origins, people, departments, and traditions.

Overview

A book covering the history of UMBC is currently being researched and will be published prior to the 50th anniversary. There have been shorter length histories written over the past 45+ years, and a few of them are listed below. If you are aware of any others, please send them to Lindsey Loeper (contact information below).

  • UMBC: An Evolution - originally published in The Retreiver in 1981 for UMBC's 15th anniversary, this 15 part essay series takes a look back at the events leading up to the authorization of a new Baltimore County campus, the political selection of the site, and the evolution of the campus. The series was posted on the Special Collections website with permission from The Retriever Weekly in 2011.
  • UMBC Timeline - covering events from 1955-2009
  • UMBC 1992-2002: A Decade of Growth and Achievements - a ten-year timeline from the Alumni Association newsletter (this publication is no longer online but may be viewed in print in Special Collections)
  • The post-land grant university: the University of Maryland report: a long-range planning study. University of Maryland (System), and Malcolm Moos. 1981. - Contains extensive historical details and analysis of the development of the University of Maryland System.
  • Leadership of University Senates
  • Dates of UMBC buildings - listed alphabetically by the name of the building.

UMBC department histories

In the Archives: Essays on the history of civic agency at UMBC

In 2012 and 2013, Archivist Lindsey Loeper worked with the UMBC civic agency initiative, BreakingGround, and wrote several blog posts on the history of civic agency at UMBC. The posts in the series are linked below.

  1. Looking at UMBC's Past to Shape the Future (9/11/2012): "As UMBC leaders look for ways to increase civic agency and deepen community impact, it may at first seem counterproductive to look to the past as we plan activities to shape UMBC’s future." http://umbcbreakingground.wordpress.com/2012/09/11/from-the-archives-looking-at-umbcs-past-to-shape-the-future/
  2. The Bitch-In of 1968 (10/18/2012): "The three-hour Bitch-In was one aspect of UMBC’s participation in Time Out Day (October 29, 1968), a national event organized by the National Student Association (NSA).  Student Annette Stadd, who organized the campus chapter of NSA, intended the day as a time for proactive discussion and productive civic work by students, faculty and staff." http://umbcbreakingground.wordpress.com/2012/10/18/from-the-archives-the-bitch-in-of-1968/
  3. The History of UMBC's Future (11/27/2012): "People working at UMBC think about the future of the school more than you may realize; the University Archives is full of 5 year plans, mission statements, master plans, principal building needs requirements, enrollment targets and more. Some of the planning reads like science fiction, the imagining of a 21st century campus from a distance of 30-40 years." http://umbcbreakingground.wordpress.com/2012/11/27/from-the-archives-the-history-of-umbcs-future/
  4. Pathways and Public Space (1/9/2013): "Just like programs, courses and policies, UMBC’s pathways and public spaces reflect somebody’s effort to change our institution for the better, so studying the spaces is one way of exploring the history of innovation on campus." http://umbcbreakingground.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/from-the-archives-pathways-and-public-space/
  5. The Shriver Center Builds on UMBC's Tradition of Engagement (2/13/2013): "The Shriver Center, established in 1993 and named in honor of Eunice Kennedy Shriver and R. Sargent Shriver, is another embodiment of UMBC tradition. The Shriver Center extends the work of promoting service and civic responsibility first embraced in the 1970s by UMBC’s Office of Cooperative Education – later renamed to the Office of Professional Practice (1987) and the Center for Learning through Work and Service (1991)." http://umbcbreakingground.wordpress.com/2013/02/13/from-the-archives-the-shriver-center-builds-on-umbcs-tradition-of-engagement/
  6. Giving Tradition (4/29/2013): "The first senior project that I can locate in UMBC’s history is from 1970. The class of 1970 is often referred to as the Founding Class, because the graduates were the first group to complete all four years of their degree at UMBC. As in the origin stories of many of our campus traditions, UMBC students decided to forge their own path." http://umbcbreakingground.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/from-the-archives-giving-tradition/
  7. Creating 'Free Hour' (9/3/2013): "...the free hour is, at face value, a gap in the schedule; the real story, it seemed to me, was what took place during free hour: the club meetings, rehearsals, brainstorming and creative work. But as it turns out, free hour has a fascinating story of its own." https://umbcbreakingground.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/in-the-archives-creating-free-hour/

Leadership of University Senates

UMBC Assembly
 
(organized by academic year)
 
1967/68
Chairman: Dr. Richard C. Roberts
Vice Chairman: Dr. Lawrence M. Lasher
 
1968/69
Chairman: Dr. Richard C. Roberts
Vice Chairman: Dr. Lawrence M. Lasher
 
1969/70
Chairman: Dr. John M. Titchener
Vice Chairman: Dr. Joseph F. Mulligan
 
1970/71
Chairman: Dr. John M. Titchener
Vice Chairman: Dr. Joseph F. Mulligan
 
1971/72 
Chairman: Dr. Joseph F. Mulligan
Vice Chairman: Dr. Philip J. Landon
 
1972/73
Chairman: Dr. Joseph F. Mulligan
Vice Chairman: Dr. Philip J. Landon
 
1973/74
Chairman: Dr. Joseph L. Arnold
Vice Chairman: Dr. Alvin Meckler
 
1974/75
Chairman: Dr. Joseph L. Arnold
Vice Chairman: Dr. Alvin Meckler
 
1975-1980??????
 
UMBC Senate
 
(organized by academic year)
 
From 1966-1975 the Chancellor of UMBC also acted as Chairman of the Senate. I could not find conclusive evidence that a Vice Chairman was ever appointed.
 
With the resignation of Chairman: Dr. Calvin B.T. Lee in 1976, part of the 76/77 academic year had an acting Chairman: Dr. Louis L. Kaplan. 
 
In the middle of the academic year of 1977/78 the Senate held it's first election for a Senate President and Vice President. 3rd Chancellor Dr. John W. Dorsey held the position of Chairman for the beginning of that year before the elections. 
 
1966/67 
Chairman: Dr. Albin O. Kuhn
 
1967/68
Chairman: Dr. Albin O. Kuhn
 
1968/69
Chairman: Dr. Albin O. Kuhn
 
1969/1970
Chairman: Dr. Albin O. Kuhn
 
1971/1972
Chairman: Dr. Albin O. Kuhn
 
1972/1973
Chairman: Dr. Calvin B.T. Lee
 
1873/1974
Chairman: Dr. Calvin B.T. Lee
 
1974/1975
Chairman: Dr. Calvin B.T. Lee
 
1975/1976
Chairman: Dr. Calvin B.T. Lee
 
1976/1977
Chairman: Dr. Calvin B.T. Lee / Dr. Louis L. Kaplan
 
1977/1978
Chairman: Dr. John W. Dorsey
 
*elections
 
President: Dr. John T. Starr
Vice President: Dr. Marilyn Wang
 
1978/1979
President: Dr. John T. Starr
Vice President: Dr. Marilyn Wang
 
1979/1980
President: Dr. Alvin Meckler

Vice President: Dr. John M. Titchener

Faculty Senate began on September 1, 1980. 
Fall 1980 -
Pres: Hugh Graham, History, VP. Robert Burchard, Biology
Spring 81 - 
Pres: Robert Burchard, Biology, VP: Michael Broyles, Music
Fall 81 - 
Pres: Mantle Hood, Music, VP: Lucie Colvin, African American Studies
Spring 82 -
Pres: Mantle Hood, Music, VP: Lucie Colvin, African American Studies
82 - 83
Pres: Lucie Colvin, African American Studies, VP: Stanley Feldstein, Psychology
83 - 84
Pres: John Jeffries, History, VP: Marilyn Neeley, Music
84 - 85
Pres: John Jeffries, History, VP: Joseph Mulligan, Physics
85 - 86
Pres: Joseph Mulligan, Physics, VP: Stanley Feldstein, Psychology
86 - 87
Pres: Michael Broyles, Music, VP: Richard Roberts, Mathematics
87 - 88
Pres: Richard Roberts, Mathematics, VP: ? 
88 - 89
Pres: Fred Gornick, Chemistry, VP: Stephen Boyan, Political Science
89 - 90
Pres: Stephen Boyan, Political Science, VP: Carol Hess-Vait, Dance
90- 91
Pres: Stephen Boyan, Political Science, VP: Robert Ochsner, English
91 - 92
Pres: Robert Rosera, Physics, VP: Carol Hess-Vait, Dance
92 - 93
Pres: Carol Hess-Vait, Dance, VP: Marvin Mandell, Public Policy
93 - 94
Pres: Marvin Mandell, Public Policy, VP: Edward Orser, American Studies
94 - 95
Pres: Marvin Mandell, Public Policy, VP: James Grubb, History
1995-96, Jim Grubb
1996-97 Ed Orser
1997-98 Ed Orser
1998-99 Sandy Parker
1999-2000 Linda Baker
2000-01 John Jeffries
2001-02 John Jeffries
2002-03 Cheryl Miller
2003-04 Kriste Lindenmeyer
2004-05 Robert Carpenter
2005-06 Philip Rous
2006-07 Philip Rous
2007-08 Terry Worchesky
2008-09 Terry Worchesky
2009-10 Tim Topoleski
2010-11 Tim Topoleski
2011-12 Tim Nohe
2012-13 Tim Nohe
2013-14 Kathleen Carroll
2014-15 Sarah Shin
2015-16 Sarah Shin

 

 

 

Dates of UMBC Campus Buildings

Academic Building IV

  • Sherman Hall
  • Constructed in 1980

Academic Services Building

  • Building Constructed in 1982 first housing the University Center/ Bookstore

Administration Building

  • Constructed in 1972

Albin O. Kuhn Library and Gallery

  • Phase 1 of Construction Completed in 1968
  • Phase 2 of Construction Completed in March of 1975
  • Named Albin O. Kuhn Library in Dedication to UMBC’s First Chancellor in 1982
  • Phase 3 of Construction Completed in 1995

Alumni House    

  • Constructed in 1955
  • Acquired by UMBC in 1970

Biological Sciences

  • Originally named Academic I
  • Constructed in 1966
  • Martin Schwartz Hall dedicated October 12, 1990

Central Plant

  • Constructed in 1970

Chemistry- Physics Building

  • Currently known as Meyerhoff Building
  • Constructed in 1970

Chesapeake Hall

  • Constructed in 1971

Commons

  • Constructed in 2002 (on the site of Gym I)

Dining Hall

  • Currently known as True Grit’s
  • Constructed in January of 1970

Education-Mathematics Building

  • Currently known as Math and Psychology Building
  • Constructed in 1968

Engineering Building

  • Constructed in 1993

Erickson Hall

  • Constructed in 2000

Facilities Management Building

  • Constructed in 1997

Fieldhouse

  • Currently known as Retriever Activities Center (RAC)
  • Constructed in 1973

Fine Arts Building

  • Constructed in 1972

Greenhouse

  • Constructed in 1970

Gym I

  • Constructed in 1966
  • First known as a multipurpose facility
  • Torn down for construction of the Commons

Harbor Hall

  • Constructed in 2001

Health Services

  • Constructed in 1979
  • Converted to Student Development and Success Center in 1984

Hillcrest Building

  • Constructed in 1921 (Owned by Spring Grove State Hospital)
  • Acquired by UMBC in 1965 to be used as Administration Building
  • Demolished in 2007 due to toxicity concerns

Hillside Apartments

  • Constructed in 1987

Information Technology/ Engineering Building

  • Constructed in 2003

Lecture Hall One

  • Constructed in 1966

Natatorium

  • Constructed in 1977

Patapsco Hall

  • Constructed in 1972

Performing Arts and Humanities Building

  • Phase 1 of Construction Completed in 2012
  • Phase 2 of Construction Completed in 2014

Physics Building

  • Constructed in 1999

Potomac Hall

  • Constructed in 1992

Public Policy Building

  • Constructed in 2003

Satellite Plant

  • Constructed in 2001

Social Sciences Building

  • Currently known as Sondheim Hall
  • Constructed in 1973

Stadium

  • Constructed in 1976

Student Development and Success Center

  • Converted from Health Services in 1984

Susquehanna Hall

  • Constructed in 1970

Technology Research Center

  • Constructed in 1957
  • Acquired by UMBC on December 1, 1989

Terrace Apartments

  • Constructed in 1981

University Center

  • Constructed in 1982

Walker Avenue Apartments

  • Walker Avenue Apartments I Constructed in 2004
  • Walker Avenue Apartments II Constructed in 2005

Warehouse

  • Constructed in 1973

West Hill Apartments

  • Constructed in 1980