Skip to Main Content

UMBC

Albin O. Kuhn Library & Gallery

Modern Languages & Linguistics

Free Online Resources

Europeana
Multi-lingual online collection of more than 4 million digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections. Funded by the European Commission and the member states.
University of Virginia Electronic Text Center
Facilitates access to web sites available in twelve languages; some of the web sites available only to UV community.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 40,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
The Endangered Languages Project
This website offers information, data, and map visualizations of over 3400 endangered languages in the world.

Primary Source collections

Primary Source Collection guide
Explore this online guide to discover digitized archival and primary source collections, such as historical newspapers, periodicals, and manuscript collections.

Newspaper Collections

National Newspapers (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Full Text
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text for the following: Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present, Christian Science Monitor: 1980 - present, New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1980 - present, NYT in Espanol, 2020-, Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present, Washington Post: 1987 - present
Does not include pictures or graphics
Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Newsbank is a full-text news resource consisting over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.

Special Collections & Gallery